Nation Newspaper Paper Turning New Chapter

Editor-in-Chief of the Nation newspaper

Last month the Nation newspaper very quietly announced the appointment of Kaymar Jordan to the post of Editor in Chief from September 1, 2010.  Jordan leaves the job as Director of News and Current Affairs at the Caribbean Media Corporation (CMC).

Following the announcement the obvious question which observers would have asked – what is the implication for Roxanne Gibbs the current Executive Editor? It is an open secret BU believe  her performance as the head of the Nation’s editorial staff to be woefully short of what is required from the leading daily newspaper in Barbados. How can we forget her handling of the Guyana immigration issue which revealed a clear biase? There is also the decision to report the Hartley Henry and Carol Martindale spat to an international body which has had the effect of embarrassing the Barbados government over a non issue. To date the matter remains an embarrassing loose end which obviously was politically motivated. Several other instances can be used to cite her incompetence in recent years.

It comes as no surprise if we are to accept our usual unimpeachable sources that Roxanne has been let go from the Nation newspaper on Tuesday of this week. Some will say she resigned but the end result is the same, she has to go. We wish her all the best but there is little doubt she has been drowning in her own incompetence and has finally been put out of her misery.

The Nation newspaper is a part* of the local Fourth Estate but very influential. Jordan will assume a position once held by Harold Hoyte. BU have not found a good reason yet to forgive Hoyte for selling out a highly successful local newspaper to a Trinidadian concern.  She will be expected to bring leadership to a newspaper which has lost its way. Some may say it is that lack of leadership of the Nation newspaper in the last five to ten years which has seen the emergence of citizen journalists and others.   Before Jordan can make her mark she will have to recruit/build a competent team of professionals* to support her quest for excellence in local journalism. There are some journalists currently on the Nation payroll whose exploits* over the years can be deemed to have been highly unprofessional. We may have more to say about that at a later date. BU have to congratulate the powers at be at the Nation newspaper for demonstrating the courage to recruit out of the box with the Jordan appointment.

The BU household has followed Kaymar Jordan’s career with interest. Her appointment is welcomed and we suspect she will bring a breath of fresh air i- f allowed – to the job. She assumes the job at a time when the Bajan blogosphere, Facebook  and Twitter are growing every day and her decisions will be under fierce scrutiny by a demanding public. This is the nature of the beast in the world we currently live in, the smart person we suspect she is should recognize that we all have our roles to play.

It is only fair we give her a chance to settle in her new role before we place her performance under the microscope.

93 responses to “Nation Newspaper Paper Turning New Chapter

1. Georgie Porgie

You know Carlos.
    I love it when you spew your hate at me. Mainly because Eustine does not share your view. One day we will meet in Spooner’s Hill and I will tell you more. OK?

2. Nothing will help this ONE TERM BLIGHTED DLP GOVERNMENT
    IT IS
    DOOMED !!!

3. Anonymous @ 8:57 could only be Atman!

4. Wow, a lot has been said. This is the last I will say on this. I am not an economist so you will never hear me say that Avinash Persaud doesn’t know anything about economics.

I know very little about Medicine so I won’t say that Gerry Thorne is an incompetent surgeon.

Yes, I agree that one doesn’t have to be in a particular profession to criticise someone who is a member of it. However, if I am going to say that someone who has risen to the top of his or her profession is not good at it or is incompetent, I think that I would be better placed to make that assertion if I knew what actually went into doing the job.

David is well within his right to criticise anyone from any profession. In this particular instance I believe that many of the criticisms that he has made throughout the years are misconceived. I just thought I would take the opportunity to say so on this occasion (as I have a few times in the past).

5. David, I did not decline to do the search.

I said that already I know the bases of your criticisms. I have been reading the blog for a while and I have commented on some of those criticisms.

For example, I commented on your criticism of the media being passive. I said that a media house’s liability insurance premium increases when it is sued for defamation. It doesn’t matter if the company wins or loses the claim. I thought it was a criticism that was misconceived and I said so.

6. @Anonlegal

If you know the players in the media then you need to ask the following question:

How much has the Nation paid out as a result of defamation claims and has it been significant?

Who are the lawyer at the Nation making these decisions and what is the known political affiliation?

Can you opine that that many of the cases are treated casually i.e. don’t lets bother to go to court with this, let us pay because the cost benefit supports it.

We will rest for now.

7. @GP

I don’t know who you’re trying to convince but it certainly can’t be me. From my point of view Atman really didn’t need anyone’s assistance or approval on the SJW debate with you. He simply demonstrated the fact that it is a good idea for persons to research and verify information for themselves regardless of what the “experts” tell them. You made a claim about SJW, and he found evidence to refute your outdated claim. It’s as simple as that, so grow up Georgie. Nobody’s saying that you aren’t good at what you do, but you were wrong on that specific issue.

Just for the record, I really don’t care much for David’s (BU) opinions either because he appears to be more bias than objective. Therefore I have to agree with Anonlegal in that regard.

8. @ David

You asked: “How much has the Nation paid out as a result of defamation claims and has it been significant?”

I wouldn’t divulge that information even if I had such figures. I will say this. When an insurance company is renewing a contract with a media house (and I am not speaking specifically about the Nation) it will ask a number of questions in order to determine what premium is appropriate.

The following are questions that are often asked:

1. After inquiry do any employees of the company to be covered under this insurance have knowledge of any act, omission or circumstance which may give rise to a claim against the proposed insured?

2. Have any claims been made during the past 5 years against the applicant or any of its employees?

The answers to these questions will determine the risk that the insurer is taking. The risk determines the premium.

The Media house will be required to disclose every single pre-action letter received by an attorney who claims that a story was defamatory of his client. It doesn’t even matter if the case goes to trial. These insurance contracts are renewed every year. The more accusations of defamation that are made, the higher the premiums are. If you decide to proceed with the claim without a viable defence the premiums increase even more (not to mention high legal fees and aggravated damages if you plead justification and lose).

Re your second question, lawyers do not make decisions for the newspaper. They merely advise.
    I get from your question (and I could be wrong) that you believe that a particular attorney who is politically aligned is the attorney for the nation. He isn’t. The group retains a firm of attorneys.

Maybe if it were your choice to make you would throw caution to the wind and have your day in court. But such decisions have been known to put media houses on the brink of collapse, as damages in defamation suits can be astronomical especially when tried by jury.

9. @anonlegal

That’s for your response.

10. On August 28 @10:55 pm, I informed the blog that PM Thompson was not only coming back but taking back up the PM duties. Someone wrote that I was being “cruel”. Well the news today confirms what I wrote. Now stay tuned for some reshuffling of the deck!

11. The state of freedom and democracy is immature and editors and journalists have no moral restrains – publishers bedded several woman on staff; journalist accused of rape and publishers paying out victims. An editor, Roxanne Gibbs, born in Guyana, and the sister-in-law of her husband’s brother mother-in-law, the wife of a permanent secretary involved with the disappearance in 1973, of a friend of the sister-in-law; when one columnist reviewed our book “Boys in the Band” that dealt with the matter told the writer that if she had realised that the journalist had written about the book she would have pulled the column even though she acknowledge that the column was not libellous. Amazingly the journalist did nothing. Gibbs started life as a secretary and moved ahead with speed and alacrity. Her writing demonstrates what is obvious.

12. Bad man saying nuttin

@Anonlegal

Does one need to play test cricket to know that someone can’t bat? You only need to compare any professional’s output to other examples available to conclude that it is lacking in quality.
    Here is what I remember about the Nation: Countless articles repeating what some big name big position person said without any analysis of whether it is logical or advisable. Printing statements from politicians and businessmen without having the work ethic to do the research and see that the underlying assumptions are flawed; that the figures quoted are inaccurate and not realizing that the readership deserves better.

A Senior or managing editor must bear some of the responsibility for setting the tone for a publication. If the standards of that publication pale in comparison to excellent publications elsewhere what conclusion should you draw?
    As to the assertion that because she was promoted she had to be doing a good job, you can’t be that naive.
    Asses and incompetents are promoted all the time.

Is Dottin a good Police Commissioner? You don’t have to be a policeman to have an accurate opinion on that.

People go to doctors and dentists all the time. You don’t think they are capable of evaluating who is good and who isn’t based on their experiences.

You might not be a baker but I am sure you can tell from the end product who is competent and who is not. Why should a lawyer or doctor or journalist or any profession be any different?

This was said about Paul Bremer the U.S. Administrator to Iraq charged with overseeing that country’s reconstruction after the 2003 invasion in his role as head of the Coalition Provisional Authority. He was selected it was claimed because his view of reconstructing Iraq fit with the prevailing US Government philosphy.

Bremer is a “voracious opportunist with voracious ambitions. What he knows about Iraq could not quite fill a thimble. What he knows about any part of the world would not fill a thimble. But what he knows about Washington infighting could fill three or four bushel baskets.” This man was selected to manage a multi-billion dollar effort.

13. Barbadian wrote “An editor, Roxanne Gibbs, born in Guyana, and the sister-in-law of her husband’s brother mother-in-law, the wife of a permanent secretary involved with the disappearance in 1973, of a friend of the sister-in-law”

Now you are really making yourself look foolish. In 1973 Roxanne was a minor. Surely she cannot be held responsible for the alledged wrongdoings of her “sister-in-law of her husband’s brother mother-in-law, the wife of ”

If you held me accountable for what my “sister-in-law of my husband’s brother mother-in-law, the wife of ” did when I was a minor you would probably have to put me in jail although I have no idea who my “sister-in-law of my husband’s brother mother-in-law, the wife of” is.

Dear Barbadian, read what I just wrote and tell me if you don’t feel like a complete idiot.

So what if Roxanne started life as a secretary? Albert Einstein was a duncy illiterate 5 year old, and that Bill Gates never graduated from university and Alfred Nobel never won a Nobel prize. So what?

14. J

Even though I agree with you that it does not matter, she didn’t start as a secretary.

http://www.nationpublishing.com/general/rgibbs.html

15. Mr Saying nuttin

Without googling it would you know the difference between clopromazine and clopropamide
    Would you know the difference if a nurse in hospital gave you one for the other?
    Just asking you stupid jackass.

16. Man i am so glad the PM is back. It couldn;t be sooner. Just in the two months he was away the QEH almost closed. I wonder what would have happened if he stayed much longer it seemed like no one wanted to be responsible for the everyday affairs of the country. The DLP need to shape up or ship out. I like them but have been disappointed in the way they handled the country when the PM was away giving more amunition to the Bees as they fired away at their incompetence. Very little has been said or done by the DLP for me to give them a vote of confidence.

17. Nursie wrote ” know the difference between clopromazine and clopropamide”

Dear Nursie: if we don’t know the difference between these 2 drugs all it means is that we are not doctors, nurses or pharmacists.

But we may well be rocket scientists.

What do you say to that?

18. Bad man saying nuttin

Nursie you ass;

If i Google it so what? I read it on the internet from a reputable site, you read it in a reputable text book. What makes your ability to understand and comprehend better that mine? You aint born knowing the difference you had to learn it somewhere.

That is the problem with some people that get a little training or knowledge. They immediately believe that what they know is above the understanding of the common man or anybody outside of their profession.

I deal with complex problems on a daily basis. problems that if you had to manage them would turn your hair gray. Problems that one minute error could cost more than you work for in 10 years and you think that because I don’t know the difference between two drugs that that makes me unqualified to judge the work of a doctor or nurse? A pharmacist would know the difference does that qualify him to make a judgment? A pharmaceutical sales rep would know the difference how about him? the Accountants in the distributors and the manufacturers would know the difference. Could they offer an opinion?

Doctors and Lawyers and it appears Nursies are just simple people doing a job. We have a right to expect that they do it competently and to be able to critique their performance like we would with any other profession or job.

Do I need to be a doctor to be able to state that the two doctors involved in the death of Althea Burgess did not perform competently. A judge came to that conclusion and she has no medical qualifications.

The ability to think critically is not limited to one profession. it is not even limited to professionals. Any person who possesses the ability to think critically can, upon arming themselves with relevant facts and opinions, make a reasonable judgment on anyone’s performance.

Thanks to the internet it is possible for anyone who can read to pull up an respected opinion on what is best practice and determine whether it has been followed by any professional. Information empowers all men, get used to it IDIOT.

19. Georgie Porgie

What a rant!
    I have been in Medicine since 1974. I will confess, however, that I dont understand lots of Medical articles on the internet that I see. But I am sure that medical illiterates can understand it all.

20. Let us welcome Kaymar to the job!

Noticed here name was added to the list of key personnel, Roxanne Gibbs has been dropped today.

21. Carson C. Cadogan

Alittle Internet information for Georgie Porgie

“1850’s
    Ignaz Semmelweis, an Austrian-Hungarian obstetrician working in a clinic that delivers babies, is labeled “insane” by his fellow doctors for having the audacity to suggest that doctors should wash their hands between delivering babies. He’s fired from his job, ostracized by the medical community and later dies in an insane asylum and is only vindicated long after his death when it is realized that, indeed, infections are spread from one patient to another by physicians who are too lazy, stubborn or egoistic to simply wash their hands.”

Georgie, should I take this as meaning that doctors do not take criticism from within or without the profession?

22. Georgie Porgie

Carson
    I suggest you ask Eustine for the answer.
    I find her to be much sharper than you are.

23. Bad man saying nuttin

Georgie is a perfect example of the superiority complex in doctors and lawyers. Can he design a 10 story building? Could he audit a bank or a multinational? Can he survey a plot of land?

I have watched him be critical of lots of things not in the medical field yet that should be denied to others when it comes to doctors. They are above criticism. Steupse

24. Hear you spit in the air and have it fall in your face. You are not very logical. Cant GP not google up how to design a building or audit a bank or survey a plot of land, like you would do for a medical opinion?

Didnt you say that “Information empowers all men.” Is not GP a man too?

How do you know that GP has not designed buildings?

25. GP usually comments on BU on matters of Bible or Medicine, subjects in which he is both well qualified.

I would think as a professional also that he is probably hob nobbing with other professionals that might be able to advise him on matters out side of Medicine.

If all fails, I am sure that he can Google like how you say you can google to find the difference between the drugs which Nursie spoke about.

It seems that only you can google?

Your lack of logic makes me wonder what sort of complex problems you solve on a daily basis. Do you think that diagnosing the cause of a chest pain or a headache is a complex problem, or that one can just google up the answer?

26. Listen to blabber mouth who says nuttin

I deal with complex problems on a daily basis. problems that if you had to manage them would turn your hair gray. Problems that one minute error could cost more than you work for in 10 years

My understanding from googling it, is that doctors deal with complex matters on a daily basis in which one minute error could cost a person’s life. Did I get it right? Or did I google incorrectly?

27. Georgie Porgie

@ Annonymous
    Why you dont leave the man alone?

The man says that I does criticize things outside of Medicine. I know that many folk think that doctors can only doctor. It seems that they can google too. LOL Ah lie?

Or maybe it is that some are well read in other matters…..or involved therein.

Waiiiiiiiiiiiiiiit! Only wunnuh can google? I cahn google too?

JC that last line was for you LOl but not to kill you.

28. Bad man saying nuttin

The lack of comprehension on your part is staggering anonymous. I am arguing that since GP comments about matters outside his profession – Medicine that by that token outsiders can comment on medical practitioners. Of course GP can Google and get instructions on surveying or engineering or accounting and offer an opinion just like others should be able to do the same on doctors lawyers and the original topic journalists without the sanctimonious “you are not in our profession so you shouldn’t comment attitude.”

Don’t other professionals hobnob with doctors and lawyers? Don’t other people hobnob with doctors and lawyers? So why can’t they comment on the medical and legal professions? You don’t think that when GP hobnobbing with his professional friends and learning a thing or two about their profession that they ain’t learning a thing or two about his too?

Who send and call you? Are you one of those people who couldn’t pass comprehension at school? Read and understand before you rush in with your pie hole flapping.

My reply on the solving of complex problems was to nursie. For Nursie to attempt to impugn someone’s ability to comment on a doctor because they don’t know the difference between 2 medicines is asinine. Some doctors when you go to them and ask them about certain medication aren’t familiar with them either.

Nurses are not usually required to solve complex medical problems Even some doctors go weeks without solving complex medical problems. Your village GP could go a whole week without solving a complex medical problem. Many times when he does encounter one he refers it to a specialist or the QEH.

Because it is life threatening does not mean that it is complex. e.g a middle age guy with very high blood pressure comes to you and confesses that he wen on a drinking binge this weekend. You immediately send him to the QEH or administer drugs to attempt to attempt to stabilize his pressure on the spot. The situation may be life threatening but the solution is not complex and the information on how to proceed is written somewhere. There are protocols on how to examine , what diseases carry certain symptoms, what certain readings or symptoms may indicate a particular problem just like with any profession.

There are also lots of medical situations which really don’t even require a doctor except for the requirement of a prescription or sick leave. Sprained ankles, gastro, flu,

Stop elevating doctors to a godlike status they are only men; educated men yes , gifted talented men yes but only men like the rest of us and as such they are fallible and can be criticized by others not in the medical profession. I don’t see what so difficult to understand or accept about that.

29. Bad man saying nuttin

Some people take the time to read outside of their profession or area, Sometimes voraciously. Sometimes they ask questions of Senior engineers and doctors and lawyers and judges like a first year graduate eager to learn. Sometimes they amass a wealth of knowledge in an area that they are not “qualified” in. To assert that such a person cannot comment on a doctor or lawyer or journalist because they have not worked in those fields is arrogant and condescending.

In the new era of accessible technology and information some of the better critiques have come from citizen bloggers who have no formal training in the fields on which they comment.

30. Georgie Porgie

David
    I keep telling you that I come on BU for entertainment.
    Permit me to speak as a mere man like the rest of men and as a fallible man who can be criticized by medical illiterates who THINK they can google and criticize doctors.

Now read this bovine excrement from a rant from some brilliant poster , and I quote “e.g a middle age guy with very high blood pressure comes to you and confesses that he went on a drinking binge this weekend. You immediately send him to the QEH or administer drugs to attempt to attempt to stabilize his pressure on the spot. The situation may be life threatening but the solution is not complex and the information on how to proceed is written somewhere.”

If the stabilization of common maladies like hypertension and diabetes was as simple as stated we would not have the large numbers of unstabilized hypertensives and diabetics around the world . Would we? Ah lie?

Among the factors affecting the blood pressure are heart rate (and the several factors that influence heart rate) peripheral resistance, stroke volume, cardiac out put, fluid volume, mineralcorticoid hormones, catecholamines, thyroid and kidney function just to name a few. Could this wizard that wrote the junk that I quoted please tell me where to google to get a simple solution to the management of unstable hypertension?. Could he tell the forum where the information on how to proceed is somewhere written? Could he tell the forum why is it that hypertensives are difficult to control?

I am speaking here as a non condescending and humble man like the rest of men and as a fallible man who can be criticized by medical illiterates

While he is at it, can he (in the new era of accessible technology and information ) enlighten the profession on the source of simple solutions for management of diabetes mellitus and Disseminated intravascular coagulation- to name a few problems “with simple solutions”?

This should be very hilarious

31. Mr bad man saying nuttin

You gone on a journey? Or are you sleeping? Have you lost your internet access or are you having trouble with your PC?
    You are not so quick to respond this time. What’s wrong?

Do you have an answer for Dr GP? Have you been able to google anything in this age of information to silence the arrogant – even if usually correct Dr GP?

Do any of you who agree with Mr Bad man saying nuttin, have any information to deal with this nuisance Dr GP? Can any of you google up any quick solutions to the very easy though life threatening problems that Dr GP cites?

32. The Gate Keeper

Anonymous | September 2, 2010 at 10:07 AM | GP usually comments on BU on matters of Bible or Medicine, subjects in which he is both well qualified.
    ——————————————-
    How is it that you can determine what a commenter is “well qualified” in? Have you seen his credentials?

33. Mr bad man saying nuttin
    A whole week gone by man. Wuh happen? You gone on a journey? Or are you sleeping? Have you lost your internet access or are you having trouble with your PC?
    You are not so quick to respond this time. What’s wrong?

Do you have an answer for Dr GP? Have you been able to google anything in this age of information to silence the arrogant – even if usually correct Dr GP?

Do any of you who agree with Mr Bad man saying nuttin, have any information to deal with this nuisance Dr GP? Can any of you google up any quick solutions to the very easy though life threatening problems that Dr GP cites?

Can anyone help Bad man saying nuttin. He like he run out of steam.