Storm Warning Announced For Barbados,Tropical Storm TOMAS Threatens The Windward Islands

Click image to National Hurricane Centre Website

117 responses to “Storm Warning Announced For Barbados,Tropical Storm TOMAS Threatens The Windward Islands

1. Heavy Rains and flooding in South – cloud cover is heavy and has it fairly dark down here.

2. @Chris

Please expand for the layman. It is generally known that all Internet traffic slides via the Florida hub to support this part of the world. Your point about local redundancy is taken but what about the big picture. Give us a general view.

3. @ David, it is nice to know we in the Diaspora can get update in real time on your blog. Man you are doing us a great service. you and your family be safe and all the people of BIM.

4. @David: “Your point about local redundancy is taken but what about the big picture. Give us a general view.

My above *was* the general (non-technical) view. But to try to expand…

The Internet works by way of IP numbers. Domain names are mostly for humans who work with words better than numbers.

When a human asks to view “www.blpc.com.bb”, for example, the computer will ask one or more of its configured DNS servers for what the IP number is so it can talk to the actual machine at (for example) “205.214.221.81”.

There are two DNS servers which are “authoritive” (also known as “Start Of Authority”) for the Barbados (BB) Top Level Domain. Both of them are here in Bim, but at different geographic locations and using different service providers.

And, both of them are currently unresponsive to DNS requests.

What this means is that any and *all* domains which end in “.BB” are not currently resolving. Therefore, every web-site and e-mail address (and all other services) which use BB TLDs as their domain names have effectively “fallen off the Internet”. This can be confirmed using http://downforeveryoneorjustme.com/www.blpc.com.bb for example.

(There is a very important caveat to this… Because the Internet’s DNS system is distributed, and DNS servers cache information about domains they’ve previously been asked to resolve for a period of time (known as the Time To Live (TTL) setting), some BB domains will continue to resolve for some people depending on which DNS servers they use for a period of time (usually a day).)

To speak to your statement above David about all traffic flowing through Florida (the NAP), yes. But that’s not the issue here. Both TeleBarbados and LIME have actually done an excellent job through this — neither have had a issue in their “core” facilities nor international links.

Again, to try to be explicit here, the issue in this particular case is that because the two servers authoritative for BB did not survive this storm means that many services which were still operating (at the IP layer level) are not available to many people.

All it would take is for one or more additional (authoritive) servers to be located off-island for this kind of situation to be survivable. A requesting user would only notice a slightly longer-than-usual DNS resolution time.

(It’s important to note that just because a domain name ends in BB does *not* mean the machine assigned the IP to which said domain name resolves is here in Bim.)

I hope that makes sense. DNS is a rather complicated domain (no joke intended) — the above is still highly simplified.

5. Thanks Chris, that was simple. Understand that the Miami NAP is another issue but wanted to get your view on it.

@zion1972

Thanks for your kind words.

6. Fumble Stuart Prime Minister for less than week and already small country hit with first hurricane in fifty year…. no?

7. @BAFBFP… LOL…

But, an important axiom of the Scientific Method is that correlation does not always mean causality. Particularity with only one sample in the sample set.

Also, to be pedantic, Tomas was not a hurricane when its eye passed 20 km south of Barbados; only a tropical storm.

(This is meant to be funny, and serious, at the same time….)

8. No no no … Not funny at all … We in East see many many thing in weather … not funny at all…! Me very frighten right now… and not from weather…!

9. would like to thank bl&p for some quick restoration in some areas. lots of place have tree downs. like i was saying earlier what ever happened to our doppler radar.

10. @anthony: “like i was saying earlier what ever happened to our doppler radar.

That’s a very interesting question which should be spoken to.

anthony, perhaps I’m wrong here, but my understanding is that this doppler radar “kit” was paid for by some “away” and donated to us, and yet it still isn’t operational here in Bim.

So, during this storm, rather than collecting data locally (the closest landmass to this quickly developing storm) we here in Bim had to rely on data collected from US of A satellites and aircraft to tell us what was about to happen to us.

Hmmmm….

11. Lord, thank you for sparing us from the more devastating ravages of Tomas. I hope that homes/families affected will be restored to normalcy as soon as possible and all will be well. It could’ve been worse so in all things, give thanks.
    God may not be bajan but we’re His chosen flock. LOLLLL
    Shalom.

12. Yes was paid for by the EU. the site been up for couple year now. Guyana not only change their initial site because of poor choice but their has been up and running awhile now. so what really the hold up . currently best choice for any data is

http://www.meteo.fr/temps/domtom/antilles/pack-public/animation/animMOSAIC2.html

13. @All… For the record…

In fairness, I must report that one of the two authoritative DNS servers for the BB TLD is back on-line and answering authoritatively as of 2010.10.30.2300 Barbados time.

But, only one of the two…

[chalsall@burrow ssh]$ dig @A.ROOT-SERVERS.NET -t soa bb

; <> DiG 9.6.2-P2-RedHat-9.6.2-5.P2.fc12 <> @A.ROOT-SERVERS.NET -t soa bb
    ; (2 servers found)
    ;; global options: +cmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 23354
    ;; flags: qr rd; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 2

;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;bb. IN SOA

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
    bb. 172800 IN NS ns1.barbadosdomains.net.
    bb. 172800 IN NS ns2.barbadosdomain.net.

;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
    ns1.barbadosdomains.net. 172800 IN A 200.50.92.195
    ns2.barbadosdomain.net. 172800 IN A 204.212.242.113

[chalsall@burrow ssh]$ dig @200.50.92.195 www.blpc.com.bb

; <> DiG 9.6.2-P2-RedHat-9.6.2-5.P2.fc12 <> @200.50.92.195 www.blpc.com.bb
    ; (1 server found)
    ;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached

[chalsall@burrow ssh]$ dig @204.212.242.113 www.blpc.com.bb

; <> DiG 9.6.2-P2-RedHat-9.6.2-5.P2.fc12 <> @204.212.242.113 www.blpc.com.bb
    ; (1 server found)
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 54601
    ;; flags: qr rd; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;www.blpc.com.bb. IN A

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
    blpc.com.bb. 300 IN NS col2.caribsurf.com.
    blpc.com.bb. 300 IN NS col1.caribsurf.com.

;; SERVER: 204.212.242.113#53(204.212.242.113)
    ;; WHEN: Sat Oct 30 23:06:07 2010

14. @All… For the record…

In fairness, I must report that one of the two authoritative DNS servers for the BB TLD is back on-line and answering authoritatively as of 2010.10.30.2300 Barbados time.

But, only one of the two…

[chalsall@burrow ssh]$ dig @A.ROOT-SERVERS.NET -t soa bb

; <> DiG 9.6.2-P2-RedHat-9.6.2-5.P2.fc12 <> @A.ROOT-SERVERS.NET -t soa bb
    ; (2 servers found)
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 23354
    ;; flags: qr rd; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 2

;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;bb.				IN	SOA

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
    bb.			172800	IN	NS	ns1.barbadosdomains.net.
    bb.			172800	IN	NS	ns2.barbadosdomain.net.

;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
    ns1.barbadosdomains.net. 172800	IN	A	200.50.92.195
    ns2.barbadosdomain.net.	172800	IN	A	204.212.242.113

[chalsall@burrow ssh]$ dig @200.50.92.195 www.blpc.com.bb 

; <> DiG 9.6.2-P2-RedHat-9.6.2-5.P2.fc12 <> @200.50.92.195 www.blpc.com.bb
    ; (1 server found)
    ;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached

[chalsall@burrow ssh]$ dig @204.212.242.113 www.blpc.com.bb 

; <> DiG 9.6.2-P2-RedHat-9.6.2-5.P2.fc12 <> @204.212.242.113 www.blpc.com.bb
    ; (1 server found)
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 54601
    ;; flags: qr rd; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;www.blpc.com.bb.		IN	A

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
    blpc.com.bb.		300	IN	NS	col2.caribsurf.com.
    blpc.com.bb.		300	IN	NS	col1.caribsurf.com.

;; SERVER: 204.212.242.113#53(204.212.242.113)
    ;; WHEN: Sat Oct 30 23:06:07 2010

15. BU.David… (This comment may appear publicly also…)

I have submitted two comments documenting empirical evidence which find themselves in moderation.

The latter (using PRE tags) rather than the former (using CODE tags) is preferable in my mind (although it slightly breaks the template currently in use here at BU).

Interesting times….

16. Velly intesting stuff Comrade Chris… velly velly intesting … … hic …!

17. There is a serious problem with the functioning of the DEM, I cannot believe in this age that communications between the DEM and various DEO’s could be so poor. T&T was mobilised about this hurricane from around 12 noon on Friday, businesses were closing and preparing for it’s arrival, B’dos was unaware or complacent. Even when it became serious, shelter wardens did not know what to do, shelters were only told to open around 11.00P.M and without adequate staffing. This is not good enough, yet I heard earlier in the season that the DEM is ready for a hurricane. This was only a preface and they were running around like chickens without heads.

18. @The Scout ,
    We must learn from our mistakes.
    “We have been warned.”
    There is a reasonable expectation that we could be hit by storms of hurricanes more frequently than in the past.

Next time we should be better prepared.
    During the week,the National hurricane centre website was showing the system as
    having a 10% to 20% chance of becoming a hurricane.
    The spaghetti models showed it could affect barbados.

Perhaps CERO should take these models more seriously.
    Hope all is well with you Scout.

19. Looks like the only utility to take a major hit was electricity and it is understandable. Much of its distribution system is above ground.

It has been off for over a day.

Telephone worked where I was non stop as did water.

Batteries in the laptop and UPS for the modem keep me in touch with the Internet.

LIME does the rest.

Cellular service was up as well.

We curse BWA and LIME during the best of times but they delivered in the worst of times.

It should make you think.

20. The sun is up and forcing is way through the gloom.

A beautiful day.

Now to work clearing up the pruning of superfluous branches and trees the wind did with the trees around the place.

It’s good to know exactly what your priorities are and have the ability and will to respond.

Praise the Lord we are alive.

Hope the Scotland District and low lying areas on the west coast didn’t have the problems with landslides and flooding I feared last night would beset them.

21. Comrade John

we in my family pay first class bill for telphone and lectricity all year roun’, so we in my family expect first class service at some time no?

22. as one look at the devastation caused by tomas.I look and ponder about the use of galvanise which is used for roofing and no mercy which is shown for it by a tropical storm. Government need to take a look at the use of galvanise for roofing and advocating to it’s people to use a more resistant material.

23. @BAFBFP

When nature is in control. Everyone is in the same class! Money takes a back seat!

24. Reinforced concrete slab roof is the way to go. In a storm gavanized roof is a joke structurally but also becomes a dangerous flying missile.

25. The issue of galvanize or ‘permaclad’ as its has now popularly morphed to must be discussed in a context. Bear in mind Barbados still has a healthy percentage of wooden houses which use galvanize roofs determine not only by tradition but COST. Also the ‘permaclad’ product which middle homes now use as part of roof construction is usually well constructed.

26. I don’t relly see the cost effectiveness in galvanise roofing. In the case of storm damage when the roof is blown off, The contents in the home is also destroyed and peoples lives are in danger. Therefore what might have been seen as a saving by the homeowner has now become a liability

27. @ac

Barbados is a country which hardly attracts storm/hurricane conditions, the reality of this weekend was therefore an occurrence which is usually not considered.

Going forward perhaps we will have to do things differently..

28. Pingback: Global Voices in English » Caribbean: Hurricane Tomas

29. @David, “Going forward perhaps we will have to do things differently”.
    Plans for my retirement home in Barbados include a “concrete bunker” with kitchen, laundry and washroom.

wen de hurricane come, Hants would NOT have to share a toilet with 100 people. Hurricane shelters should be a last resort.

Wood houses will always have the worst damage in a hurricane.

Going forward, expect to get storms and hurricanes more frequently.

30. David when the BU extended family is back on line we could have a discussion about hurricane preparedness and housing in Barbados.

It is obvious that a Category 1 Hurricane is very serious. The destruction of roofs, and power lines seem to be spread across Barbados.

I have been listening to vob and cbc and a lot of people have been without Electricity and running water since friday night.

Hope they get help soon.

31. @Hants

David when the BU extended family is back on line we could have a discussion about hurricane preparedness and housing in Barbados.

It is obvious that a Category 1 Hurricane is very serious. The destruction of roofs, and power lines seem to be spread across Barbados.

I have been listening to vob and cbc and a lot of people have been without Electricity and running water since friday night.

Hope they get help soon.

After the late PM’s funeral there is alot about this and other matters which we have to pow wow.

32. Pingback: Caribbean: Hurricane Tomas :: Elites TV

33. Power was just restored in Wildey.

34. Spoke too soon — just went off again….

35. Hants
    Thanks for your concern, my family and I are safe.
    Zion 1971
    Permaclad is just a brand name for zinc coated galvanised sheets. the grade used in B’dos is guaranteed to resist hurricane forced winds of 150 MPH. The problem is that on many occasions the sheets are installed wrong, e.g not enough lap on the sheets, no adhesive tape between sheets and most of all not the adequate amount of woodgrip and stitching screws per sheet depending on length. As was shown in the pics many roofs came off with rafters included, this meant that there were no proper connection with the roof to the actual building.There should be a reinforced steel connection to the concrete beam if it’s a wall house and there are hurricane straps that should be used on both wall and timber houses. Having said that, it is also very possible that with all that connection, the force of the wind can still rip the roof off but it would be better protected if these mothods are used.

36. Zion1971
    A concrete roof, though not easy to be blown off, keeps the house too hot and is susceptible to leaking unless properly sealed. Bitumen shingles or asphalt shingles peels off quite easily under high winds. There are a number of other roofing materials that can be used, it would be advisable for a house owner to explore all the possible varieties available.

37. There are many young people who I’ve heard voice their hope of experiencing a hurricane. This was a small forced hurricane and we can see the damage, i don’t think they still want to see the real deal. I experienced hurricane Janet and even though I was a very young lad, my memories are still very clear of what happened on that day.

38. @ Scout. yes I agree that slab roof in tropical climate increase room temperature and some people will also tell you that it becomes a danger for earhtquakes. But I have lived in slab house before and with proper window ventillation, and concrete sealant you can overcome those problems. As a matter of fact when I retire and build my house in Bim that exactly the roofing system I will be using.

39. well my concrete roof is well intact and has never leaked. concrete roofs aren’t cheap so make sure your receive a good job ( ie single pour for the whole roof) . there are sealant you can either paint on or combine with concrete . finally a water proof membrane above it ensure that there is no seeping into a concrete roof. as for keep a house hot. there is roof insulation you can install between the concrete roof and waterproof membrane to make sure your house is always cool. now it not the cheapest situation but once done properly it is the best solution.

40. @anthony

Your point supports the view that a concrete roof is not a practical solution if only cost is considered.

41. My concern is for people who cannot afford concrete block houses.

I believe that a wood house should have a concrete block Kitchen and washroom adjacent to it
    The concrete block section would have a flat concrete roof.

The house I plan to build will consist of 2 wood houses and sandwiched between them will be a concrete bunker (Kitchen,Laundry and wash room).Solar panels will sit on the concrete roof.

42. @David,
    There are no problems with concrete roofs if they are designed and built correctly.

43. @Hants

Can you reconcile your last statement and the lack of a building code which has teeth?

44. @David,
    I have to be careful when I write on the blog. I do not need a building code to tell me that I must get a structural engineer to design a concrete roof and a competent builder to construct my little bunker.

I designed a concrete roof for a 30ft wide x 15 ft deep patio for a house in Barbados and a reputable engineer did construction details. That was circa 1980.

I will do the same for myself or any of my friends or family who subscribe to the Hants safe bunker theory.

45. @Hants

That’s the problem right there. You may have the knowledge/know how and resources to make this happen, what about the average Joe?

46. Saw this in the online edition of the Nation under the headline “Homes worry”
    “Stuart acknowledged that the Government’s tink tank will have to come up with a way to ensure that more homes are secured.”
    I immediately wondered at the Freudian slip albeit on the part of the Nation editors, then I thought, just what we need Gov’t tinkering with the building code.

Then again given the little attention that successive Gov’t has paid to building standards, I don’t think that Gov’t gives a Tinker’s damn about building codes

47. @ david

if we consider just consider initial cost then pailing far cheaper but your not sure you keep your roof. it always going to be cost+ safety and maintenance issue in choosing roof type. pailing will rust after awhile and require all new sheets. concrete roof will have to replace the membrane maybe every 20 or 30 years. maintenance wise concrete roof is probably the cheapest of the lot.

as for lack of building code doesn’t mean all poor construction. people who trying to cheat people or don’t know what they doing are the main cause. maybe is we had regulatory body for them it would be easier to pick the good ones from the bad. though making enforcing the building code will also do that.

48. @David,
    “You may have the knowledge/know how and resources to make this happen, what about the average Joe?”

I hope that people will now make think about Hurricanes when buying or building houses.
    The simple idea of building a concrete block Kitchen and Bathroom covered with a concrete roof as an addition to the traditional wood house is sound thinking.
    It will protect the average Joe in a Hurricane even if the wood section is destroyed.

There will always be people who have to live in wood houses.

I am trying to make a helpful suggestion.

Perhaps Government should rethink their housing program and add the Hants bunker concept to their wood houses.
    Where is Bush Tea? I here waiting fuh de lashes.

49. Still no electricity yet.

Understand the difficulties.

I was elated last night to see the circuit next to mine energised and went to bed with high hopes.

Up to bedtime the circuit after mine had not been energised soI’ll wait my turn for the moment as I think of the crews who must have been working round the clock from Saturday.

I’d prefer to wait than hear of an injury.

I’ll take the computer and UPS for the first recharge at a friend.

50. Roofs such as concrete or clay must be planned for from the beginning of the construction. The correct PSI must be used in the footings, plus addition steel must be placed in the building blocks and each block with steel must be filled. Also the recommended size block to use is at least a 8″ wide one. Therefore, to place a concrete roof on the house the cost is more than just the cost of the actual roof but the reinforcements that must accompany the other building sectors of the house/building. Incedentally, there is a PVC coated type house, some are in Antigua, that stood up very well to hurricanes that have passed that country recently.

51. I heard today that those pleasure boats that were destroyed, were denied permission to berth in the Deep Water Harbour even though there were no ships there. It is alleged that a few boat owners disobeyed the orders given and berthed their vessels there and they were safe, some of those who were not that bold are counting their losses today. The careenage is a death trap in bad weather. Incedentally, while it is alleged that permission to berth in the Harbour was denied, the privately owned Port St. Charles welcomed as many boats that they could have held, while the only next safe harbour was empty.

52. Why where they denied entry when the harbour was empty ?

53. anthony
    That’s the million dollar question.

54. From nationnews “Following the passage of Tomas, a fissure stretching almost 800 feet and running 20 feet parallel to the cliff offering a 60 foot drop to the Atlantic Ocean below has opened up creating gaping cracks in some of the houses and triggering fear in the disturbed residents.”

I hope the people in the six houses move out before we have another tragedy.

55. It’s all a result of the global warming that is beginning to affect B’dos. THE COAST LINE IN B’dos is going to come under increased pressure from the rising levels of the Atlantic ocean

56. Fair and Balance

I just read this article from the Trinidad Express.
    http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/NO_FREE_HELP-106494413.html?corder=regular
    PM Stuart we proud bajans don not want any help from Trinidad. Kindly do not request any assistance from them we will manage on our own. Thank you sir.