Majority Supporting Government’s Tertiary Education Plan

Submitted by Fair Play
Minister of Education appeared on CBC's The People's Business to explain government's decision to ask UWI students to pay part of the cost of their degree.

Minister of Education appeared on CBC’s The People’s Business to explain government’s decision to make UWI students pay part of the cost of their degree.

I believe our plan to ask students to contribute a small part of the cost of their tertiary education at UWI has more public support than we think. Talking to people from all walks of life, and ironically, particularly among low income earners, there is much support.  Their comments run the gamut from: it makes sense; the country cannot afford 100% funding at this time; other countries that are better off than us don’t do it; and, it should have been implemented long ago; to, they have an attitude after graduation – forgetting who paid for their education; and they do not give back to society, especially the doctors and lawyers who charge the same benefactors (the taxpayers) very exorbitant fees.

Barbadians aren’t stupid.

However, over and above those sentiments, generally, most persons I spoke to agree with the percentage the students will have to pay. Even some, like Dr. Leonard Shorey, (a perennial BLP apologist) believe it should have been higher and was long in coming. And, the Sunday Sun poll surprisingly gave majority support to the Gov’t.

Conversely, the opposing political viewpoints and arguments come across as insincere and very specious. We, however, should undertake a sensitization and public relations exercise, post-haste. The CBC interview with Ronald Jones last Sunday night on The People’s Business was very enlightening – it was compelling television. He was quite clear and convincing as he persuasively elucidated government’s position. The only aspect of his explanation that had me a bit bothered, was when he said government was willing to listen to and entertain more suggestions and ideas, as the decision wasn’t cast in stone. All well and good. But, I hope some people don’t take that to mean that we are back-peddling or having second thoughts; or worse still, that the measure wasn’t well thought out and there is indecision. There should be no procrastination or vacillating. Having gone to Parliament and thoroughly debated the measure, it must be a fait accompli now. I think I understand the Minister’s comments though. His was offering a sympathetic ear.

After that interview, we must put a sustained PR campaign in place to sell and further buttress the policy, while garnering greater agreement and public acceptance. Bear in mind that the Opposition will not be letting-up on this one, and will be attacking the policy on all fronts. They have started, believing that they have smelled blood and sense an opening to mortally attack us. They think that going back on any aspect of free tertiary education is our Achilles’ Heel. But, it is backfiring on them. So far, general public opinion is with us; but we have to change that during the coming weeks and months to attain overwhelming public acceptance. We can and must do it.

105 responses to “Majority Supporting Government’s Tertiary Education Plan

1. Gabriel Tackle

@Boots Cummins
    I was referring to the children of the deceased saying that they called the Police at District A and District C on this matter.That they called three times to make a report.That the last time was on Thursday 15th August and they are of the opinion that if the Police had taken their calls and complaints seriously,their Mum might be alive today.Your response is no surprise to me.After all you support the Damed Li-ed Party.Maybe Adrien Brathwaite might now go all out to ensure this domestic violence thing is brought under lawful control.In the old days the Station Sarj would have got on his bike and from the time the assailant see him coming he would take flight,knowing that he would be arrested and in the cells in no time.Same thing for hanging murderers.When ya get turn down and the Doris left Central wid de bells ringing ya know ya goose cook.

2. hi angel Gabriel. . are u saying that the BLP not supposed to help the country, are you that dumb not to realize that whether or not the blp is in power the people interest should come first,

3. millertheanunnaki

@ ac | August 21, 2013 at 8:03 PM |

Your expectation of the BLP advising the DLP how to run the country in the people’s interest is tantamount of ac agreeing with the miller that privatization is good for the country with it acting as a spur to increasing entrepreneurial activity among the black business class.
    Do you agree ac, or you are not interested in real people’s matters?

Yes ac do your thing and as usual and cuss off the miller as you usually do with MIA now that she has replaced OSA.

4. Gabriel Tackle

@AC
    The BLP appears to be doing a lot of harm to the DLP,if what I hear represents their fears.The ‘rubbing shoulders’ campaign seem to have the DLP camp in a spot of bother.I think the die is cast ac.The IMF has Stuart and Sinckler in its sights.Sacred Cow no 2 is on the carriage belt.Let us hope it can be taken off before it reaches Christine Lagarde,who will remember what the GoCB told her earlier this year;that she did not understand economics Barbados style.Even at that level the DLP did not want any help,let alone hear the truth.

5. RUBBING SHOULDERS DOING SERIOUS DAMAGE TO THE DLP.
    YUH KNOW WHERE RUBBING SHOULDERS WOULD BE VERY EFFECTIVE ?

IN ST JOHN

THE BLP NEEDS TO TALK TO THEM PEOPLE IN ST.JOHB.ST. JIHN PEOPLE NEED TO BE BROUGHT INTO THE LIGHT AND BE RECONDITIONED TO FORGET THE DLP

6. OH HOW GREAT IT WOULD AFTTER A SUSTAINED CAMPAIGN IN ST.JOHN , THEY VOTE DLP. RIGHT NOW ST.JOHN IS BACKWARD. SOMEWHERE BACK IN 1849
    THE BLP MUST ENLIGHTENMENT THEM.

I AM GOING TO GET VEX IF THE BLP DOES NOT LAUNCH AN ATTACK ON.ST.JOHN

7. two of the most annoying post ever miller and Gabriel. not to out done is balams donkey “jack ass…ing”i.e just asking..

8. Simple Simon

@Candid August 21, 2013 at 11:04 AM…” I don’t understand why people think that they are entitled to freebies – be it a higher level of education or whatever. Why can’t they see opportunities such as free education as a privilege and NOT a right.”

If the people are giving the government tens of thousand dollars a year, of “free” money every year for decades, then the people have a right to expect “free” education from their “free” money.

When are people like candid going to get it through thier heads that the government doesn’t give us anything.

The government pays for OUR freebies with OUR tax money.

9. Simple Simon

In my lifetime I’ve paid about $400,000 in taxes.

I’ve never used UWI.

I’ve never used the QEH.

Since I’ve never used any of the freeness PAID FOR WITH MY MONEY

May I have a refund please?

Simple so

Simon

10. They said the same thing about Noah who preached a hundred and twenty years.

I would warn you ac not to curse me
    You better be careful with me -you flea infested mongrel with dragon breath to boot. The bacteria in your mouth are having a party. You spend too much time writing shite on this blog and yuh breath smell like sheep shite. Go and wash yuh stinking ass , it could do with a washing . You could do with a proper bath. Armpits smell worse than decaying garbage in a land fill. Be off ! you phucking imbecile

11. jackasssking this is from afta

12. THE DEMS shite in you mout
    The amount o shite that you does spew , you are overloaded with shite. On this blog defending blasted foolishness from a bunch of stinking LIARED DLP politicians . You need your phucking head examined because it cracked. Dog shite makes more sense !

13. @Just asking, so i guess that the rest of us on the blog will have to put up with ur shite talk for what, four years and a bit?

14. Prodigal Son

JUST ASKING

The BLP cannot worry with St John. I believe some of the younger people have woken up and have began to see that blindly supporting the DLP for generations has not done much for them. Many of those who voted BLP are young.

The problem is up in St John they have a strange mentality. One night during the by-election, some friends and I went up to St John. We were parking on a side road, two women came out of the shack they call a house shouting don’t park in front here, don’t park in front here. They had big Mara posters in their so called patio.

Because we are civilised people and did not care for a confrontation with idiots, we moved the car. But let me tell you, we vowed that when we returned and there was any damage to our car, we were going for the police for them. With all due respect, many of St John people are very ignorant! That’s a fact!

15. @Tell me Why | August 21, 2013 at 10:52 AM |

I am not so blind that I cannot see regardles of my freedom of association.
    Brief – from the time your moniker appeared I realise your affiliation. Do you feel any opposition will give the Government in power food for thought?

Mia Mottley is my Parliamentary Rep and I shall always support her for her deeds to the youth and the elderly, entreprenuers and underpriviledge in our constituency and ‘regardless of my freedom of association.’

Oh by the way: ‘Yuh can’t change that.’ Bajans ought not to be afraid of their choice of affiliation in a democracy. I don’t where a vote today determines who you support in the same day or the tomorrow.

16. I find it passing strange that the educated DLP leaning gurus from up on the Hill have not uttered a word on the severe cuts this wicked inept incompetent government have imposed on the people of Barbados. Not a word except a little from Dr Don Marshall this morning.

Let them keep their silence, say nothing and do nothing. Let me tell them something……………if less people are able to send their children to UWI, there will be less money going into the coffers of UWI, the UWI will have no alternative but to cut and combine programmes……………. thus there will be no need for so many lecturers, professors, deans, tutorial leaders, programme assistants, office staff etc.

Imagine not a word on the severity of the cuts to the QEH and to me this is the worse cut of all. As a caller to Brasstacks said yesterday, the government can provide children with free bus rides to get to the UWI but when they get there, they cannot go in as they have no money to pay the UWI tuition cost the government has imposed on them.

So keep your silence, UWI elite, this is the poor’s time, your time will come!

17. @Just Asking

I think that the DLP should launch a campaign in St. Michael North East. Touch North, South, East and West simultaneously and take it back from the BLP.

Consider how it was given over in the first place.

Are you guys ever balance in your thinking?

18. alvin cummins

@Just asking
    why do you have to resort to the type of invective you unleashed on ac? If this is the type of talk that is typical of BLP free range fowls then the sensible people in the country will never vote for you. It shows the low lwvel you are prepared to go to try and gaet your point across, and when you can’t you refuse to accept facts,prefering to curse. why?

19. millertheanunnaki

@ alvin cummins | August 22, 2013 at 11:55 AM |
    “It shows the low lwvel you are prepared to go to try and gaet your point across, and when you can’t you refuse to accept facts,prefering to curse. why?”

How right you are to drag the incorrigible ‘JA” across the goals. But why single out “Just Asking” when “ac” is the epitome and chief exhibitor of the same acts you seek to condemn?
    Just examine the language she uses to describe the Rt. Hon O S Arthur and see if it is not of similar derogatory tone as the kind used above.

Here is just one example straight from the dirty mouth of the now “washed in the blood of the lamb” ac:
    “ac | November 24, 2012 at 1:22 PM |
    Look realist check the niggers who youlay up in bed wid before having dem babies mek sure they got plenty money in de pocket to buy shoes nuhbody owe yuh a dim.”

But what we would like to hear from you is what are your views regarding the intention of this DLP administration to borrow US $500 million or Bds $1,000,000,000.00.
    How can you explain supporting an administration that vehemently criticized the previous BLP administration for racking up a national debt of nearly $ 5 billion leaving a millstone around the necks of future generations and fiscally hamstringing the DLP but could see nothing wrong in increasing the same millstone by doubling its size to over $10 billion and about to increase by at least another Bds $ 500 million when we take into consideration the desirable debt swap of an existing $1/2 billion.

In other words, how can you be so deceitfully lying but still has the gall to condemn “Just asking”?

20. Hey miller as amatter of fact iwas kinda of amused by jackassing resoponse also kinda of jubliant cause it exposes the low level and the nature and nuture of the BLP yard fowls more in line with how they treat those who are in disagreement such language can be traced right back to there former leader whom jackassing have so much deep respect.. not all surprised byjackassing respond .kinda estatic.

21. millertheanunnaki

@ ac | August 22, 2013 at 12:52 PM |

You sound as if you are going off your rockers!
    You have been exposed as a blatant liar by David for ‘pretending’ you recently visited St. Lucia.
    Now that you have been further exposed as a dirty mouth hypocrite and are displaying all the symptoms of paranoid schizophrenia.
    But can we expect anything different from a person who sees nothing immoral about backing a jackass who is a boss liar who is surely destroying the moral fabric and international reputation of your unfortunate country which once “punched above its weight”.

Instead of visiting St. Lucia you should have made an appointment to be an inpatient at your local funny farm. Imagine blaming the OSA and the BLP for moving the debt from $4.7 billion in 2008 to over $10 billion and rising. A sure sign of perfect madness.

22. @Miller

Do you want to rise above these exchanges?

There comes a point where the debate is of nuisance value when both of the players red and forget about the real issue.

BU is asking you because go do so to ac is useless.

23. @miller ……..so what is your point again…………….FUh real……………go get a life please…………Anybody who seem to have reached the moon is u….are you losing your mind ..accusing me of something i didn. say in refe.to debt…….man go get a f…king life and take jackassing along with you u figging lunatic……..wuh david expose what and if so u de f…ck ac have to please …..fuh sure no mudd f..ink one on BU…man get to ..uck out my face talking gibbige

24. alvin cummins

@Miller
    I agree with you that sometimes ac and a few others use language and say things that I condemn equally. we are educated enough to criticize and differ without stooping to that level and ac is as guilty at times. Now to yur question regarding the proposed new loan. I remember that the Minister carefully explained that the reason for the loan was to take out a Bond issue that would payoff previous loans due ( and bunching) at a later date…I think he pointed out that in 2021 and the following year these bonds would have to be payable thus making it difficult for that administration of the time to have to pay. In addition he pointed out that the interest rate available at this time is lower than the interest rate at which the previous loan was borrowed, thus it is opportune to renew the loan at this time. If I am mistaken point it out to me specifically…That is what I remember.In addition it would provide the contry with needed foreign exchange.

where is this position wrong?

25. @Alvin

By rolling over debt plus additional borrowing Barbados debt profile has worsened. We can debate that it s necessary but it s what it is.

26. alvin cummins

@Miller I condemned Just asking for his choice of words, his invective which I feel are uncalled for, whoever they are directed toward or whatever the situation. can’t different words be chosen?
    @David
    Yes the debt profile has worsened, but as you say it is what it is, and the circumstances are what they are. There is no avoiding the facts. It is what it is and we have to do what we have to do to get out of the situation. No one, ardent christion, or sinner can get to heaven, or hell, without dying. Everyone has to deal with their situation in the way they know how. The governor of the Central Bank warned that it would be painful. Dr Frank Alleyne pointed out that it would be painful, either you take the Castor Oil in one gulp without anything, or you take it with some oragnge juice to make it a bit more palatable, but however you take it it HAS to be taken. The students having to pay for their tuition may be entitled the end of and era, but it can’t be avoided. The eight percent cut was difficult and painful but it had to be done, it was done, the DLP paid the political and the period was followed by years of plenty. In the same way this period will be followed by years of plenty and Barbados will survive. wEhatever happens it won’t sink into the sea with the loss of everybody.

27. alvin cummins

@David
    I was to ask you what is so heinous about “rolling over the debt”? Happens all the time with individuals and governments. If I am not mistaken this is what OSA did,(took advantage of favorable interest rates) even though he was criticized for it, but it was done.The important thing is oto get out of the hole we are in.

28. LIKE IT OR LUMP IT

What a contaminated moral and professional environment we are living in? And it will all come back to bite us on the A$$. When the amenities fee was increased the Young Democrats said it was too harsh, now lo and behold they are saying an increase from $600 to $6000 is okay.

We really need to stop being so partisan.

On CBC, Ronald Jones said about 1200 students graduate from UWI each year and about 1500 students enter each year. That is an 80% graduation/completion rate. Is this too low? If only we had all the information we can really dissect this matter and see that this government is unjustified in increasing UWI rates by such an enormous figure.

O what a tangled web we weave when first we practise to deceive.

29. LIKE IT OR LUMP IT

@alvin cummins

The govt is looking to consolidate debt to put it in basic terms. What is wrong is that we have attained junk bond status therefore we will have a high interest rate. This is the worst situation you will want to borrow in. You borrow when you have a good rating and get favourable interest rates not when your ratings are poor like ours. And by the way, they should have heeded the calls form private sector and other economists but they were busy worrying about constituency councils, David Thompson football, and a host of political crap.

QEH hospital is to be cut by roughly 40 million however we are building a St John polyclinic for one of the lowest populated areas. Makes you wonder where are our priorities!

30. all this accumulative debt was in a period when barbados was swinging high and living large, no body worried about debt the people put in charge of running things gave the impression that these good days would last forever, now everybody complaining now the bills have become due ..yet these same yardfowls keep singing about them good days under OSA. the same good days that have every tom dick and harry and mary shitting bricks today…GO figure!

31. @Alvin

If you reread the BU comment with understanding you should glean that we have stated that our debt profile will worsen based on the bond.

32. millertheanunnaki

@ alvin cummins | August 22, 2013 at 4:21 PM |
    “Everyone has to deal with their situation in the way they know how. The governor of the Central Bank warned that it would be painful. Dr Frank Alleyne pointed out that it would be painful, either you take the Castor Oil in one gulp without anything, or you take it with some oragnge juice to make it a bit more palatable, but however you take it it HAS to be taken.”

Alvin we take your observation with a pinch of salt.
    The advice you are so keen to promulgate at this stage since the horse has bolted from the stable is the same advice given freely over and over again to this DLP administration but which they refused like the doctor’s warnings given to an alcoholic with early signs of cirrhosis of the liver.

Could you explain to us why would an administration after condemning a previous administration for borrowing billions and thereby committing the country to financial serfdom would see it fit and proper to double the burden in 5 years?

Why would a more enlightened and competent administration decide to pay a higher cost to service debts (not due for another 8-9 years ) through a debt swap unless forced into those circumstances by the market demands? It’s either a pound of cocaine deal or none at all, it sounds like!

Could you explain why this administration is seeking to borrow US$250 million or Bds$500 million less significant fees, commissions and charges that can amount to as much as 20% of the coupon value of the junk bonds just to shore up the foreign reserves that only as recently as July we were told were still rather healthy and way above the industry standard?

Now tell us Alvin who is practising the “PARO” Economics?

33. millertheanunnaki | August 22, 2013 at 7:09 PM

|Could you explain why this administration is seeking to borrow US$250 million or Bds$500 million less significant fees, commissions and charges that can amount to as much as 20% of the coupon value of the junk bonds just to shore up the foreign reserves that only as recently as July we were told were still rather healthy and way above the industry standard?
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………

to pay off for that albatross called Her majesty Prison which have a interest rate double the size of the budget which govt has to pay every first of the month…… thanks to the BLP.

34. Could the situation Barbados is in be the perfect storm? Is it a conspiracy to re-balance Barbados to its true value and price given its output? I suspect that we will head to the IMF within 2 years.

Would a devaluation show Barbados’ true worth to the international community?

35. Seems that the Government is funnying up
    Somebody pooped
    and somebody else swallowed
    Hear the news
    5000 public workers not paid
    by Barbados Government
    Taken off the pay sheet
    wham Bam/just like that

wow !
    Caswell Franklyn was so right

36. The media is reporting that the government has refuted the claim.

37. Poor Errol must be wondering why his party members got as much degrees(the Sleepy ugly man got three) but now kicking down the ladder so poor people children can not get any. Lord have mercy. Dems Now……… Dems again.

38. “In recent times, the government of the day has come under the lens of the Mia led faction of the Opposition Party. However, her efforts at stamping her leadership has been undermined from the word get go .Mia’s gusto and zeal has ignited only a part of her team. The George Payne and Arthur faction have remained faithful to the No support Mia policy.

Word reaching this side of the fence, after rubbing shoulders with those in Opposition is that Arthur has renewed his vows to ensure that the Mia’s reign is shorter than it was on the last occasion. Arthur is so worked up about Mia’s leadership that he has decided to keep busy by making public statements and appearances. Mia, on the other hand, has yet to work out exactly where her station in the party lies.

She is quite aware of Arthur’s motives but is powerless to go after him. The fragile nature of political relationships and the lack of loyalty among the ranks have guided her thoughts. Mia has adopted an approach which is in stark contrast to her predecessor. If Arthur was still leader of the party, he would have dug in and spoken to the issues which are germane to his party’s success, Mia on the other hand has adopted a wait and see attitude. She has refused to address those matters that Arthur demonstrated leadership on.

The recent attempt to spin The Minister of Education’s comments by Mia fell flat among her colleagues. She was unable to convince the seniors on her side of her posture regarding the matter. The entire country is aware of how Gline Clarke and the others felt about her attempts to spin the issue. Mia finds herself in a bind and a web of disloyalty.
    We are predicting that the leadership of the Opposition Barbados L

abour Party will fall to the Kerrie Symmonds era. He has the support of those who matter in the Barbados Labour Party.”

http://www.dlpbarbados.org/site/mias-web/

39. Carson………..i would like you to get some information eventually that would open your eyes so you can finally see how silly all this tinpot politics looks to people who are aware of what is transpiring in the world, however, the time is not yet right.

40. Alvin Cummins

@Miller.
    If you read Charlie Skeete’s response to Tony Best’s interview in today’s sunday sun you would notice the high level of debt servicing required. With your knowledge you would know the danger of “bunchingO course we know that from your perspective anything this present government does will never meet with your approval so we don’t pay much attention to your pronouncements, I unlike you will predict that the students will pay their fees, the University will get its money, the country will continue on an upward path, the government will survivem and all will be well. the patient will come out of the Intensive Care Unit and recuperate fully. Capital will return; as it did more than once before, and the dollar will not be devalued. when these previous debts become due, therefore you should commend the government for taking early action to restructure those debts. Of cours you so

41. @Alvin

Of course you neglected to also indicate that Skeete advised that the cuts should have been deeper, over 550 million so that more interest to service debt could have been serviced from current revenue instead of borrowing.

42. Alvin Cummins

@David,True but his approach to paying the debt is from foreign exchange obtained from foreign borrowing rather than using local funds.

43. Alvin Cummins

@Well well
    Hello. Hope you are well.

44. @Alvin

However you split it borrowing worsens our debt profile. We are in do do, a serious lack of confidence and an unwillingness of Barbadians and the political parties to speak with truth with the people.

45. Pingback: A Brick in the Wall of Tertiary Education in Barbados? · Global Voices