Wrong Is Wrong

children_and_youthOctober 2009 will be a month to remember for many Barbadians. It was the month a newborn was found abandoned on a beach by a 21 year old woman, interestingly a mother of two others. Thankfully the baby was found, just in the nick of time, and is reported by the QEH to be doing well. The newborn was found in a plastic bag similar to those distributed by supermarkets.

A lot has been written in the press and shouted on the talk shows about the matter of a mother abandoning her baby. BU is not about judging anyone but wrong is wrong. We live in a society where we adhere to mores and laws meant to protect citizens and the society alike from descending into decadence. It is hard for the BU household to understand how a mother who carried a child for 40 weeks would abandon it at birth. It is even harder to understand how the child would have been abandoned in the circumstances which Ms. Ellis is reported to have pleaded guilty to in Court last week. Why not leave it in the bathroom at the QEH, a Polyclinic, a Police Station or a Bus Stop?

In a plastic bag on a beach under cover of foliage?

In the weekend press did we read correctly former Chairman Joey Harper giving his expert opinion? To quote Harper: Former chairman of the Child Care Board David “Joey” Harper believes that subject to proper counselling and psychological analysis, Ellis should not be deprived of the opportunity to mother her child if she wants to. Did we read Mr. Harper correctly? What is the basis for Mr. Harper jucking his mouth into this affair? Frankly we are astounded a man who would have been Chairman of the Child Care Board would bullrush his way into this issue by making such leading statements, why the Nation would carry Harper’s opinion so prominently is beyond comprehension, yet they refused to publish General Secretary Lincoln Lewis Open Letter To Rickey Singh and Norman Faria.  Does he know something which the public is not aware? How can he speak with such authority?

The following picture of the baby in a plastic bag maybe offensive to some.

baby_on_beachThere is the argument that Ms. Ellis maybe or have been mentally unbalanced through the affair which caused her to abandoned her baby. Many are forgetting that the 21 year old Ms. Ellis is currently the mother of two. In light of her recent actions should the other children be removed from her care as well? How can she be deemed unfit to mother the baby but continue while on bail to mother her two other children?

We understand as fellow human beings we have to find forgiveness and compassion in our hearts for Ms. Ellis. We also have a responsibility to deal with the matter honestly. Whether subsequent psychiatric tests show she is mentally disturbed or not, she has already demonstrated she is an unfit mother. To have given birth to three children while living under her grandmother’s roof further demonstrates irresponsibility.

94 responses to “Wrong Is Wrong

1. Bring Back The Old BU

Thank you for removing the photo of the young woman David, it is good to see that BU is still grounded and has not become intoxicated by the heady aroma of popularity.

It is sad to know that there are lots of other women out there who have emotionally abandoned their children.

We turn a blind eye to these women who leave their children to “fag” for themselves, while receiving financial support from the father(s) of the children, sometimes through the court.

Talk to MESA and find out some of the horrors men face, in trying to be a part of their children lives, when the mother turns “igrunt”.

2. Bring Back The Old BU

Has the time come for every manjack to stop looking for these elusive leaders, and do whatever they can to make this place better?

3. Alrite ROK,

You mean to tell me that we cannot find ONE PERSON who is willing to stand up and fight for what is right! NOT ONE PERSON!

Will there be noone who is willing to sacrifice the rich man’s purse to say wrong is wrong ……. I fail to believe this!

DAVID THOMPSON it seems you are lacking …… I hope not!

4. @David

I don’t know if we think we have a perfect system, but surely we should stop treating symptoms. If we talking about leadership, it is about tweaking the system to achieve justice in its widest sense. We are sadly lacking social and economic justice and as long as it remains this way we will forever get these problems and then seek to inflict punishment and criminalise.

As a country we have to learn to stand on our own two feet. Do the things that will allow us to stand on our feet. Correct the educational system; it could happen in a day.

Free up the financial institutions so that it eases the pressure on small business and most of all, stop stigmatising people; stop the value judgements.

5. And I am also happy to praise the good women.

6. Baby needs love….!

7. ROK
    It is hard for me to believe dat you there with your hand in a jar while I’m here standing at ‘ease’ waiting pun de same han. stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee. I want to request a song by de Blues Busters fa you: ‘To love somebody’. U kno it? Sweet.

Kiki
    I only ‘lick’ my men. I’m a lovva not a fighter, Sweet P. Why you ask?

Love,
    We all need love man. I’m willing to share mine. Are you too?

J
    And you know dat I gun praise ALL de men, both good n bad. Just luv my men, man. Can’t do wid dem, can’t do widout dem.

8. Bonny
    a strong woman must support her man, not fight against him,
    that’s a
    deal breaker

9. The poor mother, the poor baby. Thank god both are stiII aIive. We need to heIp them, not criticise them. This kind of thing happens aII over the worId and when it does, we need to step in and heIp, not demonise. The baby is a person, not an abortion, aIive and weII and there are many adoptive parents who wouId be thriIIed to give it a home. Just find parents for this baby and heIp the poor freaked out mother to carry on. She obviousIy needs heIp and in the meantime, we need to address issues of inappropriate sexuaI Iiaisons in our society which are RIFE. ParticuIariIy incest, winked at here yet abhored in the civiIised worId, and the Iouche attitude to parenthood shown by both sexes, to the detriment of society in generaI; everyone needs to pay attention and heIp out.

10. Kiki
    I don’t fight my men. I tell you I ‘lick’ them. Didn’t know I would have to explain my ‘lick’. So here goes: You ever had a lollipop? Good, don’t you ‘lick’, lick, lick, lick, till it’s done? Well…..
    I want you to put up a special dedication for my ROK of Gabralta. It’s one by the Blues Busters too. The tune is ‘To love somebody”. I can’t get it attached from YouTube like you did.
    Will you do me dat favor please?
    Listen up ROK. Specially dedicated to the one I love.
    Pull up selecta.

11. sorry miss b.
    only could find this version by Nina Simone

12. Kiki
    Thanks for your trouble. I was looking for it at YOUtube too and found everything else under the sun besides that. Anyway, Nina Simone did an ok job too. Not as good as the Blues Busters but would pass.

And it was specially dedicated to my ROK of Gabralta. My Luv-bird.
    (teeeheeeee)

Thanks again Kiki.

13. @Anonymous

“You mean to tell me that we cannot find ONE PERSON who is willing to stand up and fight for what is right! NOT ONE PERSON!”

You got that right! You see, those who would stand upright do not have a chance of winning a seat in Parliament far less being PM. If we did have that calibre of person, I think we would be well on the way to social and economic justice. The fact is, we are not.

Water rates up by 60% with no guarantee of transparency and no accountability? Telephone rates allowed to go up after winning the battle for them not to be raised?

Barbadians are continuing to lose Barbados to foreign investors and penalised with high land valuations?

The state of the ZRs? The fact that our education system is failing half our children but it continues?

We continue to depend on importing food rather than giving incentives to develop food security? Government has totally dissed the idea of less dependence on drugs and more on prevention? etc. Is it not all still in place and no light on the horizon for change?

14. @Bonny

Man that song sent goose pimples all over my body. What you trying to do? Lol! Thank you for the selection. like you trying to open the floodgates. Kiki is hereby charged with conspiracy as the selecta.

Lord, musical requests and dedications on BU. Talk bout media!

Bonny, the ring here. I can’t find you so you got to find me. I must say though, I really appreciate the gesture.

smmmmoooocccccchhhhh.

15. ROK
    Kiki may be guilty as charged but all I’m guilty of is…………luving youuuuu.
    Hold the ring, I will get to you Honey. Don’t fear. I know how to woo.
    This will be the first BU wedding.
    Hold tite.
    Kisssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss.

16. Mercury was and is in retrograde[I think].

So don’t be judgemental of this young lady. What she needs is compassion. There’s a fine line line between sane and insane. And there’s enough shite out here in society to drive people bonkers. You don’t know her situation, so don’t judge.

I know of 2 too many a men who with the stroke of a pen have murdered millions of babies. And at no point in time have they been carted off to a mad house or imprisoned. Furthermore, they have been robed in accolades and awarded financially.

She needs to be counseled by the wise female elders [if there are any left] in the community. Don’t put her fate in the hands of some man sitting behind a bench. And don’t be so quick to administer drugs to her neither.

If we truly want to get back to that communal spirit, we as WOMEN must shoulder each others burden and use our experience and knowledge as tools of guidance for the young. We should put mechanisms in place to protect our daughters from such snares and in the event that such an occasion arises, we should ensure that they never have to face such a decision alone.

@David……..”To have given birth to three children while living under her grandmother’s roof further demonstrates irresponsibility.”

Did her grandmother complain to you that she does not want her living there with her children?

Or maybe her grandmother is still carrying on that ancestral tradition of the extended family.

I see you took down her picture and replaced it with some other dark sister and her baby. Why don’t you just remove the picture altogether and remove any doubts of you being judgemental.

Have a cognitive day y’all!

17. Until the day that men can carry a baby and give birth they will never understand why this woman acted as she did.

18. Calling Bonny + Rok.. and all the other
    lovers in the park

Is this the correct cover version excursion?

Busty Brown – To Love Somebody

To Love Somebody

p.s. Be Thankful
    http://555dubstreet.wordpress.com/2009/07/19/be-thankful/

19. @ Hopi

When I grow up I want to be like you!!!!

20. @JC……….My darling! Next time I come home I also want to meet you. So I’ll try to arrange it thru BU.

Hotep my dear!

21. Can’t wait! It would be an honour!

22. Rok said
    “@Bonny…Thank you for the selection.
    like you trying to open the floodgates.
    Kiki is hereby charged with conspiracy as
    the selecta.”
    +
    if anyone is going to accuse me of committing a heinous crime.. then I may as well perform the dirty deed.
    (they charged me for musickal murda)

this one is a scorcha

Sharon

23. I have serious questions about this case and women getting pregnant numerous times, particularly when they are financially and emotionally unable to care for children. Yuh don’t have to get a child fuh every man yuh guh wid.

What I want to know is what did the girl do after seeing the commotion on the beach? Why did she take days to make herself known? What was she doing during that time? Was she consulting with a lawyer or somebody about her story? Was there any sign that birth was given on the beach? Blood, anything? Why carry a child to term if you don’t want it? Condoms are cheap, some are free, they cost less than a baby and protect from diseases, why not use them??? I make no apologies, 21 with three children is grossly irresponsible (unless you have a large income). And while I’m at it, too many parents are too rough with their children and not loving enough in public, embarrassing the children by shouting, calling them names and threatening to ‘hit them hard’. Seldom do you see parents hugging or smiling or talking nicely to the children, as though they are embarrassed to show affection.

You know, social services are to protect children, I hope they are looking into the welfare of the two children this woman has.

24. Why,
    I agree with most of what you say but are you saying that because parents aren’t affectionate enough with their children is the reason for what? I’m confused.
    I asked Dr.Porgie already too how possible is it to have this baby on the beach and how was the mother’s bleeding contained. Unless she had it home and then walk down there with it.
    Ewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.
    It is an unfortunate situ.
    And the mother don’t look bad a’ tall.

Kiki,
    Love all de reggae songs but I prefer it by the Blues Busters.
    I also like ‘love overdue’ by Gregory Isaccs. Real sweettttttttttttttt piece man.

25. Why? // October 8, 2009 at 12:57 PM
    And while I’m at it, too many parents are too rough with their children and not loving enough in public, embarrassing the children by shouting, calling them names and threatening to ‘hit them hard’. Seldom do you see parents hugging or smiling or talking nicely to the children, as though they are embarrassed to show affection.

I thought that kinda behavior/so-called discipline by parents went out with the high-button boots that I heard ’bout in my childhood days.

Let me add, when I was growing up I use to hear dat wen de parents pelt licks in de childrun it was dey way of showing luv; dat if dey didn’t like yuh dey wud leh yuh do as yuh please. Um is a gud ting. chupse.

26. BP

Relative to parents not being affectionate/patient enough with children, I wanted to make the point that quite a number of people like they just ‘get’ children and are later too rough with them. As for Ms Ellis’ case, we have a picture of a baby IN a bag, yet some later report is that the baby was on the bag. She gave birth and went wherever to get assistance? A bag and scissors just happened to be nearby?

Sap
    Wherever I go – the supermarket, a shoe store, a department store, it’s the same thing. I have observed one man calling his son an idiot simply because the boy was standing in the way of someone who wanted to pass. In cave shepherd at christmas last year one woman coming down the stairs without lowering her voice told the boy who was with her that she gine hit he so hard she gine brek he hand. Another weekend I’m in a store and a lady trying on a shoe asked her daughter how it look and apparently she took too long to respond, for she was looking at other shoes, and she was told to ‘answer or leh me hit yuh in yuh mout wid this shoe’. These are but a few cases.

Certainly not all parents are like this, but this treatment seems somewhat widespread.

27. Anonymous said
    “Until the day that men can carry a baby and give birth they will never understand why this woman acted as she did”
    +
    Having a baby is a brain changing life
    event. Sorry, to be blunt, but some
    woman lose their mind as a result of
    child birth or even their pregnancy.

28. Why? // October 8, 2009 at 9:12 PM

I may get a painting for what I am about to write… Unfortunately, most of the kids don’t have anywhere they can go, even if it’s temporary only, to rescue them from the ill-treatment (verbal/physical) of their parents/guardians, and at the same time the parents could re-think their uncalled for actions. Even though, there wasn’t anywhere to go in my youth, other than under the bed. Hahaha.

It was no use complaining to ANYONE, be it from top-down; they all sniffed the same air. Having said that, they might have been grown-ups, a few and far between, who would attempt talking with a parent.

With all forms of transformation in today’s era, there should be a positive change in this arena, but, it’s sad all around. I make no apology.

29. Sapadillo
    And not even under de bed was a ‘safe harbour’ because the shoes, broom-stick and any other UFO came flying under de same bed.

But we in dead.

30. I totally agree that this woman should be found unfit to care for her children. Whether she has post partum depression, pyschosis or is otherwise mentally traumatized; she is now by all accounts unfit to raise her children. I understand that this must have been an awful thing to go through, if she is sane but what situation can be so grave to cause a sane woman to abandon her child? I cannot imagine what could drive a sane woman to commit such a horrible act.

I do believe that she needs help and yes we should show empathy instead of judgement but I say, get those children away from her as soon as possible and get her some good counsel or psychiatric care.