Remembering What WAS Bajan

Submitted by Sapidillo

CLICK On Image

CLICK On Image

There seem to have been many characters with the same nicknames in other neighbourhoods. A lady named Silvia; one day, she asked one of the boys on the pasture to run an errand for her; she offered him some soup.  He said that Silvy taught that she was making dumplings and made kite paste. Her husband called “monkey,” he used to clean toilet pits — another town man and town woman.  After monkey cleaned a pit or two and was paid, he would find himself at the closest Snackett.  If people were sitting on the stools and saw him coming, they would scamper; the man smelled like pure shit, didn’t even smell like a poop that would fade away in thin air.

If I keep digging up in this ole shoebox, I en gine get it tuh close bak.  I wud have to take de few coppers I have left and buy a valise to keep this memorabilia in tact.

These are some of the characters I remember while I was growing up.

  • Ceola, the bag lady that frequented the Fairchild St Bus Stand
  • Swine, Gwen Workman’s son; he threw a policeman through Larry Dash Showcase
  • Death Bird, a short woman that used to go into the communities early in the morning preaching, and when she came to your neighbourhood you expected somebody to die.
  • Dribbly Joe, he used to ride on the donkey cart with his mother.  I think he fell off a lorry and died
  • Yesterday Cakes, 2 sisters who were too proud to ask for stale bread at Humphrey’s Bakery, so they ask for yesterday cakes
  • Dog gurl, she enjoyed the feeling of a dog
  • Phensic Pokey, after having sex for the first time, she was hurting so went home and tek phensic
  • Easy Boy, he walked in strides, one today, one tomorrow
  • Bull Dog, short, stout man; he used to blow horn at store in Swan St
  • Gear Box, not the same person using handle @ BU
  • Young Donkey, short woman, used to be a member of Salvation Army
  • Lordie from Deighton with the backoo
  • Daddy Long Legs
  • Heart man
  • Board Dickey
  • Cock Cheese
  • Boysie, fish in pocket
  • Pokey Wata
  • Nimbles
  • Duncan Dead Fowl
  • Infamous King Dyall

There were the days of:

  • Douggies Snackette  & Jeff’s’ Snackette, they had some real tasty ice cream in de cones.
  • Humphrey’s Bakery in Dayrells Road, cars line up from top to bottom on Sunday afternoon
  • K R Hunte Record Store
  • Cotton Factory
  • Gene Latin American Band
  • How about the chinks that were said to have the men scratching their pouch at the Olympic Cinema, especially if sitting in the pit?
  • Detention after skool; having to write 500 lines. Some holding 2 pencils between their fingers and writing two lines at a time.
  • Some male teachers use to soak the leather straps in water, or in some kind of liquid? Female teachers use to put together more than one ruler, and with your hand stretch out, she would give at least 3 lashes with the side of the ruler in the palm of your hand. Some used to give an option how you want to take the licks, either in your back or in your hand.  Boyz used to trick some teachers by putting exercise books in their back so that the lashes hit the books.  Some girls used to rub their hands with Sweet Lime because it was said that if they get hit too hard it would cut them.
  • We were not allowed to use Ball Point pens in schools.  We were made to believe that those pens did not have a grip to form the letters properly.  We had to dip pens in the inkwell and because of ink smudges on the desks; a day was designated close to the end of term to scrub those desks.
  • We heard the word pupils more so than students.
  • Those who were not quick to grasp were called duncy.  There was a rhyme many of us would say, “go to skool you duncy fool and let the teacha geh yuh de rule.”  Some teachers (fe/males) would invite students to their homes to help those who were dragging behind.
  • At Wesley Hall Boys’ a teacher was nicknamed “square head Smithy” even though his head was shaped like a cone.  Another who used to drop licks in the boyz with all he force was nicknamed, Cole Pone.”
  • We would stop on way to/from skool to buy “black b!tch” “glassy,” combination of Walker toffees and nuts; but we dare not be caught eating in the classroom; otherwise our ass was grass.  Not forgetting the fat pork, taking the cashew seed and poking 2 holes in it for eyes to look like a monkey face or to roast.
  • In the milk room at school, during break we lined up for 2 biscuits and a plastic cup of cold milk.  That powder milk seemed to give some of us excessive gas.  When it came to the end of term especially for long vacation, the remainder of powder milk left was distributed.
  • A perfume called “Temptation” & “Khus Khus” used to sell in a vial at Rollock, the 5&10 store. The High School gurls would buy and lather themselves in it to smell sweet.  There was the “Lifeboy” soap that left a trail of fragrance behind.
  • Terelene Shirts; certain shoes/sandals people used to call “dog muzzles”
  • There was the bad smelling Musterole that parents used to rub down when a cold was imminent, and give yuh a Whiz.
  • Fogarty, at the top of Broad Street, Alleyne Arthur round de corner on High Street, the Civic at the top of Swan Street, some people called it “Layne Store.” And de good ole Civic Day.
  • Schools of the past:
  • Rudder Boys – corner Country & White Park Rds. Those boys could have “sing, sang.” I think. Harold Rock was their Director of Music
  • Stow Primary – Government Hill
  • MacDonald High – Deacons Rd.
  • Community High – corner Passage & Barbarees Hill/Rd
  • Unique High – Dayrells Rd
  • Wakefield High – WhitePark
  • Green Lynch – Spry St
  • National High – Roebuck St
  • Federal High – Collymore Rock
  • St Gabriels –
  • Serendipity Singers

The word, “Foop” was used often.  I am yet to uncover if there is a true meaning.  LOL

 

1,198 responses to “Remembering What WAS Bajan

  1. BAFBFP
    Wait, wah become a you, ya ring-neck-vagabon. Is a good ting dat only Serena bubbies pop out n nutton else or you woulda got all de people place dirty up wid milk-like substance. Who put you so doe?
    Stupseeee,man leh a man wid a real ‘tent’ (ROK) talk nah. You barely got a lil shed day n confusin de place.

    Atman
    I will find Coco when I ready, have no fear. He’s probably busy now with his Yuletide practising so I’ll leave it til New Year. Or betta yet, I should ga church Christmas eve nite. He sang at my sister in law’s funeral (she was a member of the Mass Choir) and when dis man started to sing, I passed out. I thought I had died too n gone ta Heaven and he was my angel. A bottle a smellin salts soon jolted me back to reality. (not fa true) But all over me was ‘whet’ when he start ta sing. My Godddddddddddddddddddd.
    But how come de Anglican church allow a dreadlock to be part of their ‘ set-up’? Strangeeeeeeeeeeee.
    Next time you see he tell he dat Bonny from BU in luv wid he voice. He looks too. Kinda cute.

    I only familiar wid Sharkey. He is sorta related to in-laws of my in-laws from Orleans so we’re sorta related. Understand? Sorta.

    What about de man dat use ta be at cricket hollering like a cock or sumting so? Tink he was from de North.
    You should be familiar wid Town man n Town woman? I did frighten as shite fa he hear?

    Almost forgot to tell you ‘Welcome to BU ‘ if this is your first.

    You got any memories of Christmas to share?

    Seeing that you’re from King Street, you should be familiar with the church with the ‘Lighted Cross” on Chapman St. Dat is my family church. We all were brought up in dat church. Dat is de church me n ROK gun do we ‘ting’ at early next year. You’re invited.
    I rememba as a lil girl going to church there every blessed Christmas morning and outside cold as shite. But de only way we could go to Queen’s Park was to go church first. Stupseeeeeeee, bare blasted torture den man.But ya in had na choice.

  2. Well I can’t say that I know Town Man and Town Woman…at lease not by those names.
    So you came up in “The Church of God” on Chapman Street…I use to stay from home and hear that church bell ring.

    As for Xmas memories, well me and my buddies from the area use to plan Xmas day well in advance. I was only in my teens then, but we got up early, had breakfast, had a fresh, and got dressed in our finest suit and shoes that we bought especially for that day. We went to 5am church service, and right after church we headed into Queens Park to pose off, watch the girls and everybody else, took pictures, and listened to the police band play carols.

    When we left the park we headed into the bus-stand and went on a long drive thru the country. By the time we got back home it was lunch time. My grandmother usually had my Xmas lunch ready and waiting for me…ham, turkey, chicken, jug-jug, rice and peas,etc…and sorrel to drink. Then around 4pm it was time to go house to house and taste everybody’s ham, pone, and cake, and also drink some banks beers. We had done pre-arrange who’s house would be visited first, second, third, etc…but by the time we finish visiting each other’s house, our guts were full and we were either half drunk or full drunk. The next day we would get together and talk about how sweet Xmas was.

    Xmas today is certainly not like it was back then. Thanks for the welcome Bonny, but I have my own blog going and may seldom get over here. You and the others are also welcome to visit my blog if you choose…and if you have an appreciation of written bajan dialect.
    http://bajantuhdebone.freeforums.org

  3. De tent goin’ down finally… praise de Lard…! Hope dat woman don’ eva come back tah Ba’bados again…!

  4. BAFBFP
    Well, I hope she come back real soon n bring she sista wid she too. Dis time I gun be sorry fa ya arse. Not only a tent but two balls, blue in colour. Ga long, ya trixta.
    Happy Holidays, ya swoiteee thang.

    Atman
    Town Man n Town woman was from de Richmond Gap area. He was a toilet-pit, now called ‘out-house’if ya pleeze, cleaner. And she would come along ta help he. He use ta ‘buse’ she real stink and get on like he mad. He come to clean we pit one night and I did frighten as shite boy.
    Yes, Church of God is we church. We christen, marry, divorce, bury n marry again there. One of my inlaws pastored a few of them around the island also. I use ta be real vex when ‘all -day service ‘ came around. You tink it easy to be at church a whole day? Share torture man.stupseeeeeeeee.
    De Christmas you describe was de real ol time days man. People sorta selfish now man. Not me, I still try to help de less fortunate in my ‘hood’ in my small way. My siblings come by me fa a ‘bash’ on Christmas day.We doan drink ‘strong’ doe, so evrybody is kno wah da do de nex’ day. LOL.
    I will visit your blog most certainly.
    Happy Holiday.

  5. I was deleting some old emails and came across this…

    There used to be a time when children of past generations were the best behaved; now it’s completely changed.

    * Time out my foot!!!

    * Have you ever been called from the back of the house, or from the front of the house to get the remote, change the channel, or bring a glass of ice water?

    * Have you ever been hit with an extension cord, a switch, or the nearest shoe?

    * Have you ever had to pick your own switch off the tree and was sent back because the one you picked was too little?

    * Have you ever been burned on your ear with an ironing comb?

    * Have you ever been hit in the head or knuckles with a comb or hair brush?

    * Have you ever been told to “Shut up or I’ll give you something to cry about,” while you are being beat with a belt ~ pronouncing every syllable, “Did-n’t—I—tell—-you—not—to-do–!— That—no — more?!”

    * Your ponytails or plaits were so tight, you got those little bumps around your scalp.

    * You were scared to go home when you had a bad report card?

    * Alcohol, peroxide, cocoa butter, and Vaseline were the main items in the medicine cabinet. And that red hot water bottle hanging behind the bathroom or bedroom door?

    * You were never “on punishment” – just got a whipping right out of the shower.

    * Have you ever been pinched for going to sleep in church?

    * Parents made you participate in every church activity (Choir, Sunday School, Easter play, Christmas play, etc.)?

    * When you ask your mother for something, her response was… “You got a job?”

    * Have you ever been beaten for something your brother or sister did just because you were around?

    * Have you ever been told to turn off the radio, get off the phone, or sit down and be quiet when it’s storming outside because the Lord was doing His work?

    * Friends, family and friends of the family try to keep you out of trouble because they know your mother and how she is?

    * You were afraid to call a friend or the police (because you weren’t allowed to use the phone without permission)?

    * Mother had to talk to God… “Lord, please don’t let me hurt this child!!!” before she gives you a whipping?

    * You knew NOT to talk about what went on in your house with anybody (other family members, school authority, etc), because you were told, “What goes on in this house, stays in this house!!!”

  6. Sapadilla
    I can relate to almost if not all. Especiallly getting beat for something my siblings did just because I was around. And my motha would tell ya, ‘de watchman as good as de tief, bring ya backside hay.” And ya would get terrorise man.
    Or if your motha n a neighba talking and you play you pushing in ya mout, ‘Look you, nabody in talking ta you, wait til ya troff put n bubble in it”.
    And dat would sometimes be accompanied by a slap or two.
    So true.

    ROK
    How you doing Suga-lump?
    Missin you.
    Too near to Christmas to be so heartbroken-ed.
    mwahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

  7. @Sapidillo
    All of the above.

  8. Sapadilla
    Or if ya motha n a neighba had a quarrel and you playing you is a woman/man and not speaking ta de neighba. Ya asking fa bare trouble if ya miss n do dat man.
    “You tink you n Ms. So n So is friends, come hay man.She say dat you pass she straight n din speak”.
    Again, ya gun get terrorise.
    And in every neighbourhood there was always one person dat was very confuse and would complain just to see you getting lashes. It was usually a woman who had no children and had little or no tolerance for children.
    We would ‘pelt’ ya house at night or dig up ya ‘ground’ if ya had anyting plant.

  9. Or if ya had ducks n fowls, we would kill one or two n throw dem in de bush or down in de toilet. Just fa revenge man. Den we would help ya look fa dem de evening when it is ‘feeding-time’.

  10. At this time of the year, people would not stake out their animals far from home as the thieves would be working overtime.

    Can you imagine how it feels when your father’s best blackbelly sheep disappears without a trace, after he told you to keep an eye on them and to bring them closer home at midday, but you totally forgot and when you did remember, it was too late?
    Can you imagine, trekking through the gully, shouting, maaa, maaa, maaa, but the sheep refusing to answer.

    When outside gets dark and the sheep has not shown up, it is then that you start to prepare for the licks.

    Can you imagine going to bring in the cow and only finding the chain and after searching some more, the belly wrapped up neatly in the skin under a tree in the gully,

    Back then it was said that pig thieves used to give the pig a piece of sponge or blue soap to keep it quiet before dragging him out of the pen.

  11. General Lee
    Dah is real hard man. Real hard. Nuff ta mek a big man cryyyyyyyyyy.

    Back den de ‘village-butcher’ would be busy round dis time. Killin, killin n mo killin man. Most a dem butchers did real spiteful too.
    And people would ‘engage’ de meat.

    I would like some green peas. Anybody got any? Not to husk. I want dem ‘reddy-done’. Don’t like de lil worms a’ tall.
    Ewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.

  12. we had pigs and at xmas when the butcher came to kill the pig i would take off runing because i didn’t like to hear the squeal from the pig when it was being killed, but i love the pork.

    @Bonny Peppa
    Don’t forget to put an extra suga-lump in the tea xmas morning jus fuh Rok.

  13. ac
    I was plannin ta ‘sit’ in de teacup just fa my ROK. But tings lookin down fa we. He ‘dissin’ me real serious. My Christmas in gun be de same a’ tall. YOu know how I had my plans fa he unda my tree wid bow-tie n all. But…….

  14. General Lee

    • Back then it was said that pig thieves used to give the pig a piece of sponge or blue soap to keep it quiet before dragging him out of the pen.

    **************************************
    That led to another local saying when we were young and trying to court, if you didn’t have any gift for the gab when you were trying to chossell the young ladies your rivals (and sometimes your friends) would make fun of you and say “he can’t talk to the girls he does eat soap”.

  15. Sargeant

    Wait, I t’ought dat a man dat does eat soap is a man wid a slippery smooth tongue… You mean I get fool aftah all dese years…?

  16. While thinking of a joke to post, Bimbro flashed across my thoughts.

    I was wondering if anyone knows him personally or knows someone who does that might be able to say if he is ok. It’s not like him to stay away for such a long time.

  17. BAFBFP
    Tell me wah ya got ta gih me fa Christmas. Gimme any ‘ting’ ya kin spare. Any ‘tinggggggggg’. Big or small.

  18. Bonny Peppa, sorry for treating you so scruffy. I done most of my work and I ready for Xmas. I in good time too.

    @David
    While in Costa Rica, London and Belgium, I found a bit of difficulty getting onto our websites and using e-mail. I could not stream the meetings. It just would not work. Not sure if it was bandwidth but the agendas were so packed, I had very little down-time.

  19. @ROK

    It would be good info if you have it to let us know if there was a error message etc. Would help to troubleshoot the problem. Email any pertinent info if you have it.

  20. ROK
    You sorry fa treating me sa scruffy? I got summuch ‘licks’ fa you dat you gun wonda if you is Bico’s ‘flavour a de month’. You wait n see. ‘Licks’ chan dun.

    Next time you travellin, I want ta accompany you too. I doan feel comfy wid you in dese strange places alone. Nor I doan want de eyes wandering neitha.
    I ready fa Christmas too and I ‘want’ you unda my tree. Bow-tie n lights.

  21. Bonny I don’ know ’bout big or small, I t’inkin’ ’bout THICK and HARD….!

  22. ROK you ain’ know that de International Current Account ain’ got nah money.. we only got two months import covah an’ you flyin’ ’bout de place spenning foreign nuff exchange and pun top ah dah, braggin’ too?

  23. BAFBFP
    Oh losss, ya mek ma whettttttt all ovva. Oh Lordddddddddd, a soakin wetttt.

  24. BAFBFP

    One thing I don’t do when I travelling is shop, to throw away the little foreign exchange we have. The next thing, my expenses are usually covered by an international organisation when I travel.

    Third thing, when I travel it is work. I hardly have time to even enjoy the hotel room by the time I get in, it is time to hit the sack or do some more work.

    Fourth thing, after 2 or 3 days, I looking to get back home. How many places I have been and don’t even know what the country look like. Just not interested except to do what I have to do.

    Bottom line, I just don’t like leaving Barbados and will only do so if i think it is extremely important and there is no one else to take it on.

  25. All dat WILL change when I become Mrs. ROK.
    Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh? I din hear ya. All dat will change.

    I want my rings from Mexica, hear? Na way else………………or else.

    I Love you darling.
    mwahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

  26. @BonnyPeppa
    DE Rok auh Gibaltra

  27. ROK

    You must know dis… wid some women only some, a very small number, Size is Evat’ing..!! I hope you got a big big towel, BP want dryin’ off..!

  28. @BAFBFP

    I only have large towels… Wrap and dry! LOL!

  29. I came across the following:-

    Remember When – Close your eyes, and go back . . .

    Before the Internet or the MAC,
    Before Uzis and Crack.
    Before Nike and Reebok,
    Before SEGA or Super Nintendo.
    Before burglar proofing and KFC.
    Before Soca, Bub and Spouge
    Before Children’s Rights and Women’s Lib.

    Go way back…
    I’m talking about

    Hide and seek at dusk.
    Looking through the window, sitting in the gallery,
    Licking your lips over Barley or Saga and condensed milk.
    Drinking Chocolate tea, Cocoa tea Green tea and shining Bush tea.

    Carrying Sandwiches in a brown paper bag to school.
    Bathing in cold water from a barrel or tub
    Hopscotch, Butterscotch, HulaHoop, Jacks, Cowboy and Crook, Cops and Robbers, Rounders!
    Pass-out Cricket in the road with a lime
    Lying on the floor reading Mandrake Flash Gordon, and Mutt and Jeff.

    Borrowing books from the library.
    Bathing in the rain under the guttering.
    Going for walks on Sunday afternoon.
    Band Concerts.
    Window shopping.
    Wearing old pants to the beach and collecting sea shells and pretty stones.

    Remember. . .
    The excitement of catching candle flies in a jar and lady birds
    Killing birds with sling shot and cooking and eating them.
    Pitching Marbles and playing jockey in the gully.
    When a Calypso on the radio in Lent would have caused a scandal.
    When going to town was a major outing requiring serious preparation.
    Spending holidays by your grandmother and aunts.
    Castor oil and senna pods at the end of August to clean you out!
    Eating Sapodilla and Sugarapple and tying up your mouth with Cashew seed.
    Climbing trees, skipping rope and eating a bucket of long mango.

    Remember. . .
    Sliding down the bannister, jumping on the bed.
    Pillow fights.
    Having a pet chicken, duck, goat and crying when it became a meal.
    Being tickled to death.
    Running till you were out of breath.
    Laughing so hard that your stomach hurt!
    Being tired from playing….remember that?

    Remember. . . .
    Scratching your mother’s head.
    Getting a penny for every gray hair you pulled out
    Fighting for the bowl when your mother made a cake.
    Churning coconut ice cream on Sunday and licking the palette.
    Peeling cane with your teeth.

    Remember when . . .
    you knew nothing of rotweillers or pit bulls; only alistations.
    a penny was a decent allowance, and another penny a huge bonus.
    you’d reach into a muddy gutter for a penny.
    fashionable young ladies wore boleros.
    your mother wore stockings that came in two pieces and had garters..
    all of your male teachers wore ties and female teachers had buns.
    you had to be rich to have a car or a radio.
    there was no TV and you went to sleep at 7.00 o’clock.
    laundry detergent had free glasses, dishes or towels hidden inside the box.

    Remember when . . .
    any parent could discipline any kid, or feed them or have them carry groceries, and nobody, not even the kid, thought to complain of it.
    every kitchen had a larda with wire mesh.
    Milk came in rum bottles and had to be boiled and the cream was a great treat..
    they threatened to keep kids “down” if they failed…and they did!
    your mother used to say that your licks hurt her more than it hurt you.
    adults spoke in code so “little ears” wouldn’t hear.

    Remember when . . .
    Disapproval of parents and grandparents, godparents, aunnties… was a much bigger threat than drive-by shootings, drugs, or gangs.!

    If you can remember any of these things, you must be my age!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  30. Sap

    I ain’ gun lie tah yah, but life widout de internet AIN’ WORF LIVIN’….!

    LOMTORH

  31. I get de las’ say… I wan’ all ah wanna tah live in de present… well well, praise de Lard!

  32. trevor kellman

    Deighton GRIFFITH nick name was DE BOMBER- he usta hit hard. isee he rip a boy shirt in de back with a fat leather strap.

  33. One day at school I bought a bread and two (a salt bread and two fish cakes). I brek de fish cake and the vendor ask me, “Wuh you lookin’ fuh, does rock cake got in rock?

    Robbie

  34. Hey all, I see a few mentions of the OLD days including Fern Trail. I lived in Barbados way back when (late 60’s) and dated Fern for a while.

    I have dated a few since and married twice, but I still very fondly remember Fern. A loyal and wonderful lady. I sincerely hope she has done well and found a great life.

    Also remember Joe Tudor. Quite the character. Vulgar but very funny. Very very funny in his time.

    regards to any who may remember me, and even those who do not 🙂

    Chris – from New York City

  35. Gustavo De Beauville

    Greetings and salutations my good friends,
    although I may be far away in the cold north in Calgary, I must admit that this post did indeed catch my eye and tickle my funny bone to the highest order.”rip out ya balls wid a rippin iron”

    I grew up in Wanstead on the west coast of the island and went to school at Queens College from 1991 – 1998.
    I was a child of the eighties but for sure I could i dentify with alot of these memories and am as pleased as punch to add a few of my own to the pot:

    Religiously watching Sesame Street from 4pm – 5 pm
    Then enjoying the cartoon/educational show from 5 – 6pm until Days of Our lives came on and the ‘big people’ took over.

    Going crazy when the Bico ice cream truck would pass through the neighbourhood – selling dipsy-lics, popsy lics and juicy frostics for 50 cents a piece.

    Watching cricket with pride knowing that the ‘Big Boys’ like Haynes, Dujon, Greenidge, Marshall, Walsh and Ambrose would of course win and definitely inspired fear and dread in the opposing team.

    Having the luxury of buying barbequed pig tails, roast corn, coconut water, fresh bread, nut cakes, sugar cakes, fish, dunks, ackees, hog plums, sea grapes, fat porks and cashews from someone on the side of the road.

    That’s all i gots fuh now
    But I shall return my bredrens, until then
    Have wunna selves a peaceful and blessid afnoon

  36. Pingback: Baxton Sutdios Licia Brown Bentwood Butterfly Chair/Stool

  37. Andy Springs

    This was wonderful reading all this stuff….I remembered so much, brought back so much that I had to read all, from top to bottom..I bookmarked this page, ’cause I keeping track….boy…memories…..BUT…I aint see nuhbody talk bout ‘Gold Bead’….half Indian fellow that was a yogi….do some strange things …..short, had a features like sitting Bull, that sorta Indian…American type…and we dont talk bout sling-shot in Buhbadus, we call it a ‘guttuhperk’..and who doan what a crawling soldier is, nevva went behind the Drill Hall, but the Mobil boys were the worse…and I think a cooper is the man who makes the barrels that are used to make rum, and talking bout rum, cask water ( water placed in the rum barrel after the rum was removed, and allow to stay in the sun for a few hrs., or days) was the strongest…and Bonny peppa, the tie heads, as ppls know them, are not to be feared…they just worship different to most other christian churches…they are sorta penticostal….and I had shark oil and honey every single morning…and liked it too…my father used to mix it half and half, so it was not too raw, and since it had in honey, it had a pleasant taste…Sunrise was a brand of hard biscuits that we used to cook, but wibsco had the eclipse, not like what they make now…they were hard and thick, and we cooked them with what we called ‘steamed food’…yam, potatoes, green banana, eddoes, and a must, ..dumplings….saltfish was the meat of the day, now, it more expensive than pork…and yeh, the school girl was called ‘GT panties….cause in them days Ford cars had ratings, and GTs were the fast cars…Cortinas were the most popular…when u had a Cortina GT, U had a car, and a mini clubman, or cooper-S…..and a crocus bag was a multi purpose item, ..curtains, aprons, bedding material, and most of all, I remember U could not scrub the floor except U had a crocus bag to wipe, on ur all 4s…yeh, I did a lot of that even as a boy….and picking rice…O Gawd….my family was large…and my father had a reasonable job, plus my mother worked…..and we bought over 20 pints in the earlier days, then lbs. in the latter days…til we started buying a 1/4 bags…I used to go to Lord in Roebuck street, and yeh…wunna 4get he..Uncle Lookup used to bring home the goods on a lister…..that was another means of moving loads…3 wheels..it was like a small flat bed, with an engine up front controlled with a handle, and to reverse, U had to get off, and turn the whole thing around, …the front could turn 360 degs.it was a single cylinder diesel engine, and hand cranked to start…and I was a rice picker…..Ipicked half, and my younger brother the other half…..he had help tho…..and who cud 4get Pink Star liver Cutters, and gizzard cutters…thedidn’t called the gizzard cutters tho, they had a name I cant remember right now……and I was a member of Yoruba Foundation with then Elton Mottley…(Elombe) wonderful days….and 4 the St. Giles boys in here..dont 4get Cuffly, BoBo, the Grinner, ReeceBoBo and the Grinner used to paint ur ass wid licks, just so…Remember one day ..Class 3A and 3B used to share the same room, the grinner mek all o we, both classes stand up , close we eyes, and then beconned with he finger to we, some idiots went up, and after he had enough, he tell the rest o we to open we eyes..man he paint the ass…telling them if they had their eyes closed, they would not see him calling…I was peeping, but had more sense that to go up..then the girls’ school cross the road…wid miss Spencer…she husband use to come there and beat she so bad…LOL….cause she did like one o the boys’ school teachers, and evva time somebody talk, licks like peas….she got married and was mrs. Carmichael…and yeh, wunnuh 4get Humber…the charater that used to be round the swing bridge…man could hlooa hard …AAAAhhhh umber humber…and I think the bad man talked abou was Archi Bummer or Bumper, depending on where the person that talking came from…I know the man personally,…quiet, real tall, but beat police bad as hell….and Ang, from St. George…the say he was going to his mother funeral, so he went to buy some shoes, and when the sales clerk ask what was the last size he wore..he replied…’the last size I waer was booty’…man neva wear shoes, and he foot was looong and broad….LOL…LOL..I now remember a joke while typing…had a friend with similar feet, long and broad….had lil trouble in the sea at pebbles..went to far from the pot….and when the life guard ask he lend he one the fins (flippers) so he could get in faster…as the life guard said, he said the man tell he look, dem is my feet……LOL

    Thanks guys, U stir up my memories….must keep coming

  38. Andy Springs

    And touching weird things….Steel donkey…..the sow pig wid the 11 young ones at nite,….the horse trottin up and down jessamine ave. in the bayland, and the strong tobacco smell after 6……the lil girl that mek nuff taxi men crash at nite pun Maxwell main road….and the hearse that used to follow home some ppls at nite….and nobody passing by Ch.Ch church after 6…2 damn ghosty……but I had a real experience…b4 there were the ZR vans, ppls used to use suzuki vans as taxis to do the same work…I used to drive one on weekends, saturdays only, til bout 6 in the morning……I was dropping a group to a fete behind the airport and decided to use Vauxhall, since most came from that area..When I get near the junction that would take u to the highway if U turn right, not the first after the drivein, U turn feft, and follow the corner b4 U get to the next junction to turn right, I see something whitish, so I hit my high beam…man…I see a host.. nuff ppls, and my blood went like ice…I aint say a word..when I get to where I see these ppls, my head feel like it was swelling….when I went back 4 the ppls round 5, they sat the same way .so when I get back near there the fellow that was sitting in the front say..”man U passing there again?’….I said yeh..it is the shortest way, and I getting sleepy and I gotta get the van back by 6 so the next man can use it…man look at me and say…’man I dont wanna pass back there, I see shit when U pass there 2 nite’ I ask, whuh shit U talking bout..he said..man…man..looka I see real ppls crossing there, and when U get there, they look at me yuh, and they din real ppls…dem is duppies I see, and I did frighten like rasshole, but I did 2 frighten to tell U’… I simply said..Yeh, I see them 2 but when I get there, I could not see them, but I felt them…they gone now tho…..couldn’t let the man know I was a bit uneasy …and one nit at Yoruba house, I unlock the door 4 the members to go in, and two girls tha were early, I hear the screm out, so I rush to see what happen…..they near lick me upsided down, and when I look, I saw Ernest Mottley standing at the bottom of the stairs wearing his familiar hat, and then he faded out…….I had to give one o girls lil water….all Elton do when he got there was to laff.

    Had my choir boy days at St.Pau’ls too…was a sweet choir boy..sing like a lark… and the Green line taxi , where Coconut Tours is, is where they were, and then the name changed to Egan’s, and then later to shit, can’t remember…and they used Austin Minx cars, all were a deep green nearly like army green, and the drivers were always dressed with their hats, similar to the type that policemen now wear with the peak,…and Bico was next to where Harbour lights is now, that car park is where Bico was…( Barbados Ice Co. ) that is what BICO stands for, then after they were getting a lil compitrition with their Icecream, they used they same letters as Best Icecream Obtainable..I used to buy my ginger mints, and extra strongs from there after church on sunday nites..ahhhh…Remember when there was Bajan Bandstand in the esplanade….the place where ppls walk and jog, was water, I remember when the water was right up to the wall, and men would fish there, and the water was about 2 or 3 feet from the top, and was about 4 to 5 feet deep…sometimes when fights break out, ppls would run, cause somebody ending up in the water, and women get beat real bad when they went there with other men other than the boyfriend…those were the days….and for the ppls who were around the Bayland would remember Peeloo…man could play road tennis like a idiot…talk nuff shit and play with both hands too…..and scooters, another thing…police run yuh wid dem all-p bicycles….and queens palace…the race horse that ran in the railings…ppls eat nuff horse cutters later…lol….that time Gwen workman was next to the museum wall, where a house now is, b4 she went over on the side where Fredrica, well she dead, she daughter running things..and miss Lynch cutdrops…and lyda..goady lyda…and Val rosa club.. had some of Barbados’ best body builders…O and the Progressive bus company was Birch….where the Esso is ….corner of bay street and colloden Rd..he ran Rendez Vous and Gospel Hall…his busses were red with a yellow and green stripe…think so…down the side….near dead when he see the buses after the transport board took them over…..how they had his birches in the rain…lol….there were top horses like volata, Blue sails, Vintage, and jockys like venice…well he was a youngster, , johnny Belle, Chally Jones, deFratas, Harry Hinds…and the Garrison on Race days was a big thing….that is where I used to see the mauby woman with the sweet breads with the coconut run through the middle, and when U call 4 a mauby, she would hold the tot…yeh that is what we called it then..right up to the tap, and lowerit slowly…it is only when I got older that I found out why they did that…one , was to keep it from spilling b4 it got in the tot, and the lowering was to see when it to what they giving U …then was the games…after races ppls went home better than when they went to the shop…nuff goods…..ppls had a real reason to go to the races….there is a story bout a mauby woman….’who know , know it’…that was her calling way…’get ur mauby, who know it know it’…til one day the mauby bucket fall, and the skeleton of a hand skate cross the road…my father tell me they never saw that woman again…nobody knows if she dead or not……

    Nick names were the way …and ppls got nicknames so simple…like fry soup…man went home tired and used a frying pan to warm the soup, and miss and say he fry the soup……then we had one called bow nose..man nose was wide as the ABC highway..lardy..always look greasy..ball soup…soft pedals..he used to walk like he cant touch the ground, and the boys who learnt lil latin gave him that nickname..then we had a woman..I did hate she..Tester…hit yuh hard as ass, and say she testing yuh…..and fry frum-frum…drummer….cant remember y they call he so….was a hi-fi man….cat best….always saying how he dont dress normal, he dress like a cat…that was the term then…now it is dressing hard or tight….and talking bout tight….them jeans…Lord have mercy….I had some…dress easy, but afterwards,…cant get outta them things fuh rass…
    And the games…like puss puss catch a corner…hiddy biddy, …man from Boscobelle,..that was a good game, but part that was rough…lick as I lick , no advice…..that means no prompting, and if yuh dear open yuh mout…or just look round, a hard lash from the man with the belt,one was …a man from boscobelle would like to know the name of…a white woman live in a green house with nuff black children..lick as I lick, no advice.. who is she.. answer: a soursop..but the one yuh had to be tough to play, and as they start I get call in, cause it was not easy…’Doctor, Whip and Judge’….only two ppls that can save ur ass was the doctor or the man with stop..cause i never hear none o the ppls who pull judge evva set anybody free yet…and if a wicked person pull stop…may the good Lord have mercy…many times ppl went home and then shout back stop…that time ur ass full wid blows..and not a man fight….play by the rules or keep out…
    who as men in here evva foop behind a paling…and get catch?…..women dont own up to these things, but I know nuff get foop all bout playing house…”mummy and daddy”, and always sending the ones that are the children to the shop…and telling them don’t come back too quick…..LOL…LOL….LOL…well I had to repair a paling or 2 a few times…

    Another thing is how hawkers ply their ware…..Your seasoning, your thyme, your cassava..your ball starch..and tray heavy as shite…my brother get some licks just because he shout out ..if they are ours, how U get them….

  39. “)Watchmen (the “watchey”) running you from breaking cane. Sorry for anyone who got caught!

  40. Andy Springs

    De Grinner (aka Mr Greenidge) paint my ass too..! I don’ miss he…

  41. I read earlier about cock knocking and cock fighting……they are NOT the sam thing….cock fighting is using the exploded pods from the mahogany tree, hooking the lil tips together, and trying to pull off the other person’s tip….cock knocking is when two lil boys rub the heads of their penis together…now, it sounds similar, but certainly , not the same….lol….

  42. I attended “Rudder Boys” (Barbados Academy) back in the 1960s leaving when it closed in ’68. I learned from this post/thread that we used to have a famous choir of some sort and would like to learn more if any of the oldsters are around.

  43. Dawta of Zion

    Greetings to all does anybody remember a character called ‘Gully Boar’ my mudda used to tell us about…..her father told her stories of Gully Boar

  44. dr. darwin Smith

    Just want to say your article is as astounding.
    The clarity in your post is just spectacular and
    i can assume you’re an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please keep up the rewarding work.

  45. How may could remember the policeman…Lion Man. a true brute if any. Who could forget the Empire cinema 4.00 pm on Saturdays. Normally if a great movie (like Jaws), there would be a rush crowd, trying to get pass the outer gate, in order to purchase tickets. That is til the 6.3″ Gorillphant appeared. With 11inch palms and brute strength to suit, Lion man could be heard grabbing people from the crowd by their shirt collars with the baritone bellow…”Get Dung, Get dung” as human bodies were flung about like laundry. The best joke… Lion man was said to have a 4.8ft wife who was said to sandpaper him wid licks REGULAR.

  46. Hi, I read your new stuff on a regular basis. Your writing
    style is awesome, keep it up!

  47. Dexter I remember Lionman quite, he was a very big and tall man;he was stationed at District A police statain when i was a young lad. Sad to have heard that he had died a few years ago.:

  48. Who remember this very small fellow who had no feet, and he used to push himself around Roebuck Street using his bear arms. If my memory services me right, he wore biggest pair of gloves I’ve ever seen.

  49. Lion Man could have been easily mistaken for (Sir) Wes Hall.

  50. Man who remember when de bad men use to give de police bear trouble? Men like:Doctor-Rat,Buddy Brathwaite, Sandy_Fly, Bend_Toe, Barabbas,Pack_Rat, Mark Young and Harding.

  51. Pack Rat was de true badman,he the black, ugly and fearless. He used to snatch off de police hat on de regular, at de national stadium. Till one evening de police had did toshoot him inde foot twice.

  52. Nobody mentioned Born Lazy a man who walked so slowly it would take him 1/2 hour to walk 1 yard. I remember throwing ackee seeds into the
    leaves we were burning and listening to hear when they popped. Great entertainment! But maybe I am older than all of you.

  53. Remember people like Uncle Look Up, Ossie (Ozzie) Moore, Ceola, and that guy who wore all white and went to England talking about de sun cold.?

  54. HOW COME NUHBODY EN MENTION HOPPA-KICKY??

  55. Lion Man is now with our Lord, I am afraid to say.

  56. Joan, I remember Uncle Looking as a boy of 5 attending Roebuct Boys Primary. He worked at a store next to the school! He was a very nice man, because even when the kids insulted him; never would he respond with a unkind word.