A Prime Minister’s Word

What value should we place in the word of a Prime Minister. Should we dismiss Prime Minister Stuart’s promise as election campaign rhetoric? Should we dismiss the promise the late Prime Minister David Thompson made to CLICO policyholders? Are we finally willing to say to politicians, ENOUGH! Read Nation article PM’s Word

What value should we place in the word of a Prime Minister. Should we dismiss Prime Minister Stuart’s promise as election campaign rhetoric? Should we dismiss the promise the late Prime Minister David Thompson made to CLICO policyholders? Are we finally willing to say to politicians, ENOUGH!

Read Nation article PM’s Word

296 responses to “A Prime Minister’s Word

1. Gabriel Tackle

Brief
    Don’t forget Barbados has oil in them thar waters called the economic zone.Its just that like everything else Stuart and his inept team do not know how to go about exploiting this rich resource given the advanced technology now available for doing so.

2. Dennis Johnson

@Yagga:
    A man called Yagga don’t know Tallawah???? lol Mih Jamdom brethren a-say it mean “a quiet quiet looking fella yuh doh wanna mess wid” Will get more than you bargain for!

3. Yes. i forgot.

So are we going to support the investment in $4.0m or is $40.mil in sugar factory and condemn that idea rigorously and asked that pursuit in the fullest form be made in drilling and extracting the oil.

I also know that when that raw oil is extracted and is sent to TT for refining we actually get less to the consumer. However, more dialogue and research ought to be on the oil extraction than sugar factory.

Gabriel what took you so long in raising this? Why wasn’t this in the Budget as a possible revenue earner?

4. Johnson Johnson Johnson … stupse … Your day will come, I just hope that I am around to witness it.

5. We have to cut the deficit, it will not be business as usual.

Here is a word we need to define and appreciate in the Barbados context…ENTITLEMENT.

6. millertheanunnaki

@ Brief | August 20, 2013 at 11:42 AM |

You better take with a pinch of salt or even totally dismiss what ever this administration says or proposes regarding the country’s offshore oil exploration.

The proof of the pudding is in the eating and this administration hasn’t even started to bake the dough. Like oil and water mixing this administration’s morning promises don’t reflect its evening performances.
    This is what the MoF said in the June 2012 Budget presentation regarding Barbados Offshore Oil Exploration Programme:

“As you know Sir there were almost major deficiencies identified by several of these companies with the two pieces of legislation – the Off-shore Petroleum Exploration License Act and the Off-shore Petroleum Taxation Act.
    We have now completed the draft amendments and will very shortly lay the Bill in parliament foe debate and passage.
    I can also alert the House that we have reached agreement for an exploration
    with the one remaining company from the first batch of bidders, BHP Billiton,
    who will be free to proceed with its operations once the amendments are
    passed in Parliament. We expect that that agreement will be signed shortly and
    government will receive a signing bonus of US$6 million.”

Now ask the MoF if that golden “welcoming” bonus has been signed for.

7. Carson C. Cadogan

Taken from facebook:

“Politicians encourage law breaking when in opposition and enforce the law when in government. We can all remember how filthy Bridgetown was and how Dame Miller presided over its beautification and illegal vending was not tolerated. Why is the BLP now encouraging illegal vending in and around Bridgetown? Mixed Signals!”

Kammie Holder

The simple answer, the Barbados Labour Party is bent on creating chaos and confusion in Barbados.

8. It is no longer irrational for us to assume that everything a politician anywhere or their agents say, has been, is, and will be a lie.

9. Carson C. Cadogan

Job losses to continue, Riley claims

By Ayo Johnson

Published Aug 20, 2013 at 12:49 pm (Updated Aug 20, 2013 at 12:50 pm)

Another 2,400 jobs will be lost by the end of this year, according to research firm Profile of Bermuda.

Only two sectors — electricity, gas and water, and education, health and social work — are predicted to show any job growth.

Profiles of Bermuda, managed by statistician Cordell Riley, used jobs data from the period 1978 to 2012 for his predictions.

“The current forecasted job losses, if they actually pan out, would indicate that the five-year recession has not yet run its course and will continue into 2014,” he said.

“The most significant job losses are expected to occur in the construction sector where one quarter of jobs, or nearly 600, could be gone by the end of the year.

“The international company sector could lose nearly 500 jobs, or 12.1 percent of its workforce.

“Business services, which act as support to the international sector, could suffer a ten percent decline, or nearly 400 jobs.”

http://www.royalgazette.com/article/20130820/NEWS/130829970

10. Carson C. Cadogan

Pachamama

Statements are made according to the information and resources at the given time.

If the information and resources change over the course of time then Policy restatements will have to be made.

11. Excellent post by unsurprised and unimpressed @ 10.22 last night.

I now move on to the 35 million dollar cut from the QEH. I quite remember when the then “not political” moderator lost a family member. She lambasted the QEH, the quality of care and said that nothing had changed at the QEH since her brother died many years prior. She said the family member who came in from abroad was appalled at the state of the QEH.

With this in mind, how could she sit down in a cabinet that would cut 35 million dollars from this institution? This is brutal, these people have no conscience.

By the way, in the VOB 12. 30 news the Transport Minister went to Parliament today for a 160 million dollars supplemental. Did the Stinkliar not say last Tuesday that supplementals are now a thing of the past?

The PM said on Sunday that he will be following the economy daily to make sure we get back on track. If this 160 million was not in the budget, will this not throw everything off balance???

Just asking quietly as this government is not tolerating any criticism!

12. Prodigal Son

I heard that Trini woman on Brasstacks this morning lambasting the BLP_ for daring to hold a public meeting to criticise the policies of this wicked inept incompetent DLP government. She said that the BLP reminds her of the Republicans in the US….just opposing for opposing sake. She would do well to open up her mind and to think for herself by watching other channels other than CNN and MSNBC.

Is this the same loud mouth yardfowl who led a relentless campaign of criticism against the Arthur government every week on Brasstacks aided and abetted by Maxine McClean, David Ellis and Tony Marshall ( out of conscience, he did challenge her sometimes). This same woman one day was so angry over some measure introduced by the Arthur government that she said…….Bajans are you going to sit down and take this, we need to rise up against Owen Arthur and say enough is enough.

Well when the Bees called in to challenge her statements and say that she made threats against the PM and his government, David Ellis denied she that she made threats, they challenged him to replay the tape. He did next day……….but surprise, surprise, the tape was edited.

This yardfowl who is now feeding on the fatted calf, now has the nerve to criticise real Bajans whose navel strings bury here for daring to criticise her government. Woman, you like Mara have a choice, you could leave Barbados! Get loss, the BLP has a right to criticise this government if they do not like what this wicked government is doing to its people just as you had a right to criticise the BLP then.

Get loss, you hypocrite!

13. Both the DLP and BLP must be smashed to smithereens by the broad masses and middle classes of people of this country.

It is clear that this enormously stupid back and fro involving the election of the DLP into the House of Assembly, and then they doing much foolishness, and then the DLP goes on to be thrown out of government by the majority of voters, to be replaced by the BLP, then for the BLP to be found to be doing much more foolishness, then sometime after for it to kicked out of government again by the said majority of voters at the time, must be stopped totally by the broad masses and middle classes destroying this damned unproductive cycle.

Remove the Damned DLP and Blasted BLP, now!!

PDC

14. CCC
    You are talking about a ‘creative truth’. A creative truth is to selectively tell the people what you want them to know, when you want them to know. For example, if Bajans had something other than creative truths or lies before the last election, the result might have been different, no? Not that that result would have been better for us. So therefore, there maybe, in your mind, some value to creative truisms. LOL

15. Yaaaaaaaaaagga
    ————————–
    to the Dennis Johnson
    sometimes one speaks for the uninitiated
    make no assumptions
    my dear fellow

16. Carson C. Cadogan

prodigal son

I know that your Barbados Labour Party likes to shut people up, but the Lady has a right like all of us to express her opinion. Especially when what she is saying makes perfect sense.

17. David
    Many present students from poor parents will be marginalized because they did not support the DLP. Yes there are means of assistance but we know the DLP home drum beats first

PDC
    Those present students at UWI were made to believe, in fact they were told the only fees needed were the amenities, therefore to come mid-stream and alter the course so drastically is technically a breech of contract and this is good grounds for a class case.

18. “THIS GOV’T CAN BE FIRED
    Barbadians have the right to abolish this Government that has constantly violated their rights and elect one that will serve its needs.
    So declared the Reverend Nigel Newton of the Westmoreland Church of the Nazarene yesterday in a strong sermon at the Barbados Labour Party’s (BLP ) 55th Annual Conference at the Samuel Jackman Prescod Polytechnic.

Newton also reminded citizens of their rights to rise up and rebel when their leaders became tyrannical , abused their mandate and ruled unjustly against mankind . We must denounce wrongdoing at all times . We must resist evil leaders particularly when they abuse the law to cover their mis-deeds …………………………………..”

He also listed as other evils Government’s imposition of a harsh structural adjustment programme and , high unemployment ….

FROM THE DAILY NATION MONDAY NOVEMBER 1, 1993

19. Fractured BLP

These tantrum cries of some persons over the call for students to pay a portion of their UWI fees for 2014/2015 onwards, is quite astonishing for the most part.

Some are saying it will make the children of the working class people – grow up without a university education. ( what palaver !)

All over the world governments over time, have adjusted their policies on state funded education – to the extent that students are now required to fund their own education.

Why should / did Barbadians be expected to be treated differently – for an inordinate indefinite period ?

Wake up Barbadians….your destiny and fate is in the hands of the caring and prudent DLP.

**** Just imagine those who are crying now…. if they had stopped that DESPOT Owen Arthur from dumping our precious taxpayers funds into Greenland and GEMS…..what good could have been done for those students at UWI ?

(*** OOPPPSSS….. i forgot , we DEMS are often admonished not to look back into the past. It is only the BLPites ( and their surrogates ) who can look back and …..” insidiously” claim that Errol Barrow’s legacy ( ” free education “) of 50 years ago…is now “shattered” )

20. Read this judgement on a case brought against the UK government for implementing immigration changes that would have disadvantaged those already in the system:

http://www.bailii.org/ew/cases/EWHC/Admin/2009/711.html

21. Its funny how the DLP supporters
    back the proposal
    regardless
    shades of
    Jim Jones followers

22. What does this tuitin fee and the increase in VAT has in common? the same ole rubble rousers.

23. Objectivity please !!!

@ David
    Every since Mr George Payne suggested that students should sue the Government for the revised fee structure for the UWI , there has been talk about court action . This is very interesting because every student that enters The Cave Hill Campus of UWI has to enter into contract with the uwi as a condition for the completion of matriculation . So there is a written contract to which reference may be made . It was surprising that the loquacious Moderator Hinds-Layne , apparently a UWI graduate, overlooked this fact when she too made comment today about a breach of contract. The question has therefore to be asked : contract with whom? Who then will the students sue ? As a point of general observation : VOB should speak to this moderator about her manner which at times can border on being very quite brusque once the idea expressed does not find favour with her . Her treatment today of Sen Maxine McClean is a case in point. The member of Cabinet deserved better as she tried to explain the position of the Government in respect of cut backs . The situation is crying out for enlightened debate rather than the emotional hot air that is being blown around by persons like june boy and others who are shouting..go to court .

24. Smooth Chocolate

i know that those DLP fools who voted them back in to power must be crying every single day. their kids now will have no chance to feeding off the fatted cow called UWI. the #1,300 they are used to yearly has been reduced by 1/2 etc i should feel bad but i do not, i really could careless since my kids already have their degrees and i have mine…sorry to be so crude…. but the retards who voted them back in got what they deserve…we knew it was coming

25. Georgie Porgie

Yagga Rowe | August 20, 2013 at 3:09 PM |
    “THIS GOV’T CAN BE FIRED
    Barbadians have the right to abolish this Government that has constantly violated their rights and elect one that will serve its needs.
    So declared the Reverend Nigel Newton of the Westmoreland Church of the Nazarene yesterday in a strong sermon at the Barbados Labour Party’s (BLP ) 55th Annual Conference at the Samuel Jackman Prescod Polytechnic.

Newton also reminded citizens of their rights to rise up and rebel when their leaders became tyrannical , abused their mandate and ruled unjustly against mankind . We must denounce wrongdoing at all times . We must resist evil leaders particularly when they abuse the law to cover their mis-deeds …………………………………..”
    =====================================
    WHEREAS WE HAVE THE RIGHT TO DISAGREE WITH THE GOB
    Reverend Nigel Newton of the Westmoreland Church of the Nazarene IS UNSCRIPTURAL IN HIS PRONOUNCEMENTS.

26. @Objectivity please

BU agrees the model for supporting UWI education is unsustainable. This has been exposed by the harsh economic conditions currently being experienced. Free education as it has been dubbed was conceived to satisfy a different period. We have our priorities wrong. Many in the so called middle clase should sell one of the SUVs or do one less trip a year. Maybe scale back n their mobile phone package. Those who can’t afford it the government has assured there is an avenue to get finance. Let us give the thing some time to work. What we all need to agree is that financing Sir Hilary’s vision cannot be financed in the normal way.

Regarding Marsha Hinds-Lane, it is an emotional time for many when dealing with the sacred cow.

27. George C. Brathwaite

What lady? Mary Sargeant, the so called Trini lady? The one who used to say that she is not a DLP and did not know David Thompson? The one who once lived in Wilson Hill, and whose father and family were from there? That Mary Sargeant that has nothing good to say about anything besides the DLP?

28. Given both secondary and tertiary education needs to be revised, but wholesale slashing is not the answer. There are many students at the UWI whose parents can afford to pay for their studies, however, there are many children whose parents are gardeners maids, artisans, casual labourers. Some who are at present either on short week pay or totally unemployed, who have to squeeze out a day’s pay here and there to assist their children to complete their course. The hope is that after that child has completed, he/she can uplift the family, now not only the child’s dreams have been shattered, but also that of the entire family. This child might rebel and such a child can become a problem to society, especially when he/she sees other former students of well-off families, who he used to excel above become somebody in society. There are many such children at the UWI who falls under this category. We must have a more unpartisan unit to deal with these students and not the constituentcy councils who are in the most part supporters of the DLP and hand picked by the DLP

29. Carson C. Cadogan

George C. Brathwaite

What’s with this calling the woman’s name and giving out her address?

Are you trying to encourage your BLP villains to seek her out and physically destroy her?

30. Carson C. Cadogan

june boy

You don’t know what you are saying.

31. George C. Brathwaite

@ CCC

No way, I would never entertain such a thought. In any event I was asking a question. If you want to say it is the same individual then she has even less to be weary of, because she no longer lives in Wilson Hill. I just thought the voice was awfully familiar.
    My apologies, she can put back on her disguise and continue in the way of sending poisonous arrows with a sweet trini tongue.

32. Carson C. Cadogan

George C. Brathwaite

Ok then, my apologies for misinterpreting what you wrote.

33. June boy,

What do the individual contracts between the students and the UWI expressly impliedly state in relationship to the matter of tuition fees, and any possible increases in the said tuition fees or any other fees?

Well, it is clear that there are only individual contracts between the students and the UWI – which is not a legal child a legal subject of the Government of Barbados!!

So how would the government become a party to any possible suits in the law courts?

On what basis would the doctrine of privity in the law of contract make that possible?

Is there significant case law in the Commonwealth to guide lawyers like Mr Douglas Trotman who may look at the likelihood of suing the UWI?

PDC

34. millertheanunnaki

@ Objectivity please !!! | August 20, 2013 at 4:00 PM |
    “The situation is crying out for enlightened debate rather than the emotional hot air that is being blown around by persons like june boy and others who are shouting..go to court .”

Excuse us please, Sir or Madam “Objectivity please” but why are you not living up to the moral and intellectually required principle your moniker is supposed to convey?

Why should Marsha Hinds-Layne be in anyway apologetic and accommodating to Senator McClean or any member of the DLP ‘cracking head and shooting people’ enforcement brigade?

Until your lying hypocritical leader comes back to the people and apologizes for purposefully misleading the people of Barbados he, along with his administration, would remain guilty as charged in the eyes of the nation regarding the UWI financial fiasco.
    The PM was fully cognizant of the state of both his administration’s fiscal bind and the need to restructure the Government funding arrangement with the UWI when he made a cast iron commitment and iron clad guarantee that the university education at theUWI for first degree students will always remain free at point of delivery to all eligible Bajan students.
    Or are you going to gainsay he made such undertaking of it never happening (sacrificing the sacred cow and making Bajan students pay tuition fees) under his or any other DLP administration in true Hindu fashion?

He the PM admitted he was quite aware of the non-sustainability of the current funding model but still got up in the Peoples’ Court and lied his way back to government.

Let him be honest first with himself and admit he committed a cardinal sin of lying to the people then forgiveness and apologies would be forthcoming from all quarters along with workable and agreed recommendations to ensure the UWI remains as a viable tertiary education institution with Barbados playing an important role.

If you find this call offensive so too do we find your call to admonish or victimize the VOB moderator.

“The measure of a man’s real character is what he would do if he knew he never would be found out.” ~Thomas Babington Macaulay

35. I’ve long believed that one believes the uncorroborated words of any politician at one’s peril and so I view the talk around the 2004 imposition of full tuition costs to the UWI students as merely fluff that hides the truly important evidence that we in Barbados are now in an almost inescapable situation that will lead to a recognition that the Barbados that we all knew and loved is now dead. To be replaced by a ghost of its former self.

Has the BU family considered that for our University Education (the sacred cow of the DLP and also the BLP) to be so savagely attacked, along with Health and some other sectors, when alternative measures were available to Government that could arguably have yielded similar monies without concomitantly and overwhelmingly disadvantaging the other DLP sacred cow (the “society”), points almost inescapably to one thing only.

The philistines that exact “conditionalities” for foreign exchange have ALREADY breached our gates.

The hapless PM, Cabinet and MoF probably had no alternative. Therefore, protests and talk on the UWI matter will soon die down until the physical presence of these extranationals is demonstrated along with their demands

Could this budget and its measures be merely a down payment to show that this government is operating in good faith with nameless puppeteers and is capable of enforcing the truly horrendous measures that might yet come when these measures fail to do the necessary?

36. Oops! I meant 2014 in my post above.

37. @Miller

Respect is due to a minister of the crown.

38. millertheanunnaki

@ checkit-out | August 20, 2013 at 6:06 PM |

You are reading the board as it stands.
    That is how the chess board has been set out. It is just left now for the pawns to play their preordained part.

Only those with intellectual insight can enter the sanctum sanctorum to witness the pending confiscation of the Bajan patrimony as expressed in the following redacted words taken from the National Anthem:

‘We (once wrote) our names on history’s page
    With expectations great
    Strict guardians of our heritage
    Firm craftsmen of our fate’

Bajans were given a reprieve in the 1991/93 period to clean up the mess and live within their means.
    Not this time around. It’s strictly payback for their leaders hubristic arrogance in the mistaken belief that god is Bajan. Ask Dr. Delisle Worrell what he has been told is in store for Bim.

Those whom the gods wish to destroy, they first make mad. Take a look at the boss man and you might just be able to identify (with the same perspicacity as you did in seeing the inevitable arrival of the IMF Trojan horse) the early stages of paranoid schizophrenia leading to delusions grandeur of a megalomaniac.
    Just check it out!

39. millertheanunnaki

@ David | August 20, 2013 at 6:32 PM |

Of course, but only when it is earned (by both sides of the political divide) and lies are not par for the course when we are dealing with people’s future livelihoods.
    We shall not forget the adulation showered on Leroy Parris!

40. Prodigal Son

Miller here is one which I am sure you will enjoy:

Freundel Stuart walks into Republic Bank in Bridgetown to cash a cheque. As he approaches the cashier he says “Good morning, madam, could you please cash this cheque for me?”

Cashier: “It would be my pleasure, sir. Could you please show me your ID card?”

Freundel: “Truthfully I did not bring my ID with me as I didn’t think there was any need to. I am Freundel Stuart, Leader of the Government, Survivor of the Eager Eleven and Prime Minister of Trinbados.”

Cashier: “Yes, sir, I know who you are but with all the regulations and monitoring of the banks because of imposters and forgers and requirements of the Dodd/Frank legislation, I must insist on seeing your ID.”

Freundel: “Just ask anyone here at the bank who I am and they will tell you. Everybody knows who I am”

Cashier: I am sorry Mr Stuart but these are the bank rules and I must follow them”

Freundel: “I am urging you, please to cash this cheque.”

Cashier: ” Look Mr Stuart, here is an example of what we can do. One day, Sir Gary Sobers came into the bank without ID. To prove he was Sir Gary he took a cricket bat and made some beautiful shots across the bank into that narrow corridor on the far end. With those shots we knew him to be Sir Gary and cashed his cheque.”

“Another time Sydney Lopez came in without ID. He pulled out his tennis racket and made a fabulous shot whereby his tennis ball landed in my cup. With that we cashed his cheque.”

“Then we had international star Rihanna and even with her millions and without ID, she sang S.O.S .

“So Mr Prime Minister, what can you do to prove that it is you and only you, the Leader of Government , Survivor of the Eager 11 and Prime Minister of Trinabados?

Fruendel stands there thinking and thinking and finally says: “Honestly, my mind is a total blank…… there is nothing that comes to my mind. I cant think of a single thing. I have absolutely no idea what to do and I don’t have a clue.”

Cashier: “Will that be large or small bills, Mr Prime Minister…..?”

41. Gabriel Tackle

Unfortunately for me I did not hear the exchange between Maxine and Marsha.I want to disagree strongly about respect is due to Maxine.On any call in programme the gloves are off.No minister should get any preferential treatment on any call in programme because any such minister is going to be biased and political in their offering,so I make no apology for any of them getting the losing end of the discussion.As I said I did not hear the exchange but I got in late enough to hear a caller suggesting that Marsha did not allow Maxine to make her point.Now here is another moderator that is showing lots of gusto and all power to her.Like Dennis Johnson,Pat Hoyos,Nefertari and now Marsha Hinds-Lane,I can listen to independent thinkers and not biased fools who because they went to certain schools think they must either talk down to others or try to prove that because they did not go to a particular school,they are no less seized of superior knowledge and proceed to hog the discussion.
    In the 60’s I used to enjoy a talk show host in Montreal named Pat Burns.He was devastating and particularly so to politicians.He would get their offices on the telephone to iron out any compalint a caller might have and he would do it while the caller is on the show all live.Politicians would avoid him like the plague.
    Egypt might be an extreme example but they hold politicians liable to being hauled before the courts.Barbados is just a thoroughly ridiculous place to live nowadays.Lies and deceit and ignorance abound in the body politic.Sickos!

42. Georgie Porgie

VERY GOOD!
    MURDAH!
    FULL MARKS!
    EXHIBITS STRUCTURE SEQUENCE AND SUBSTANCE

43. Georgie Porgie

REFERRING TO PRODIGAL SON
    Prodigal Son | August 20, 2013 at 7:10 PM |

44. Oh what humour Prodigal. Bajans too slow to comprehend.

45. Caswell Franklyn

Curious

Re: Your comment at 10:20 AM

Underemployed.

46. Respecting a person’s rank does NOT mean you let them ride roughshod. The problem with some of you guys is you have become so politically poison that good reason has gone through the window.

On 21 August 2013 00:24, Barbados Underground

47. Carson C. Cadogan

Prodigal Son | August 20, 2013 at 7:10 PM

Is that suppose to be a Joke?

Is that the best that you can come up with?

How come I am not laughing?

48. Georgie Porgie

YOU ARE NOT LAFFING CCC BECAUSE YOUR FRONTAL LOBE DOES NOT WORK.

YOU CAN NOT CEREBRATE.
    YOU CAN NOT PUT TWO TRUTHS TOGETHER.

YOU WOULD NOT BE ABLE TO WORK OUT THAT DAN IS THE MAN IN THE VAN EVEN WITH THE PICTURES.

49. you too insulting though ?
    cheese on bread !!!!

50. MillertheAnnunaki; Agreed, but I hope I’m wrong as such a thing, exacerbated by a spineless cabinet, could really put us in a spot that would take decades for recovery

51. I TOLD CARSON CADOGAN THAT PROTESTS WERE COMING . THEY COMING

WAIT FOR SOME NEWS TOMORROW

THE PEOPLE AINT TAKING THIS SHIT FROM THE DEMS.
    FUMBLE FAKESPEARE AND PISS STINKLIAR ARE NOTHING WITHOUT THE PEOPLE OR WITHOUT THE TAXPAYERS MONEY.

THEY RECEIVED FREE UWI EDUCATION AND NOW THEY LIVING FREE OFF THE TAXPAYERS. THEY ARE NOTHING WITHOUT THE PEOPLE AND FEEL THAT THE PEOPLE OWE THEM SOMETHING BECAUSE THEY CAN TALK SHITE AND GOT A DEGREE.

52. Prodigal Son

Gabriel,

You did not miss anything not hearing Maxine McClean. She came on Brasstacks last week defending the government saying that the additional tax on land tax that taxpayers will have to pay is .007% and not 0.7%. She clearly did not hear or understand what the Stinkliar said. So she was wrong there.

Now today, with the government taking licks upon licks for imposing tuition fees on UWI students, she came on to spin for the government. Marsha Hinds Layne is or was a Dem prior to 2008 so I dont know what has happened to change her mind. For anyone in their right mind cannot be still supporting this government. (We all know ac and CCC are feeding on the fatted calf so they will support blindly).

Maxine wanted to hog the programme and Marsha would not let her. She was not treated as she used to treat persons who called in when she did Tell It Like It is.

Just like Kellman called in last week trying to defend the tuition fees and tried to tell Dennis Johnson the policy was still being worked on. When DJ asked him for details on the requirements for students who would need to apply for the student loan, he had the nerve to tell DJ that that is not his ministry. He run when DJ put the questions to him!

Brasstacks is not the Senate where she is large and in charge! They keep saying they got free education from cave Hill but have no qualms about keeping down the ladder for others!

53. Prodigal Son

Oops…..that is kicking down the ladder!

54. Carson C. Cadogan

Prodigal Son | August 20, 2013 at 12:48 PM
    Prodigal wrote this:-

“By the way, in the VOB 12. 30 news the Transport Minister went to Parliament today for a 160 million dollars supplemental. Did the Stinkliar not say last Tuesday that supplementals are now a thing of the past?

The PM said on Sunday that he will be following the economy daily to make sure we get back on track. If this 160 million was not in the budget, will this not throw everything off balance???”

I posed his question to a high ranking member of the DLP as I did not hear the radio broadcast, this is how he replied:-

“There was no such request. The supplementary was for 3.6M and it was not drawing additional funds it was moving the funds from one head to another so that it can be used to complete the work. So it was basically for accounting purposes.
    this was explained during the debate so i don’t know how the media could have got it wrong.”

Prodigal Son really need to stop running with these doom and gloom stories. It is about time.

55. Lallu said give the measures time to work. Ohhh how patient and longsuffering for someone at the head of BCCI.

Why aren’t we supporting him?

Give the measures time.

George B: the Haimacan ‘oman that calls in VOB in full support of Owen whom she confesses to love still calls in and shows much love – noone here ridicules, condemns nor take her affection away from her nor even queried her former place of abode … wuh happun??? One Jamaican for Owen and Trini for Freundel … what a wonderful wonderful world.

56. Carson C. Cadogan

just asking

There were protests in Egypt over the past few days.

What was the outcome?

57. CCC; Prodigal Son got the same info from the news cast that I did and we both had the same reaction related to no supplementaries coming out of the Budget. If what your high ranking member of the DLP said is accurate we were both misled by the CBC story and the words of Mr. Michael Lashley

58. Miller and Gabriel:

If there is oil to be brought to surface and BP B have agreed to finance it – how are we allowing the Transport Board to upgrade facilities during a recession without finding out the starting of drilling and probable return on investment.

is there a plan to increase busfares to get back monies spent in the renovations of bus terminals? By some side door and not being blatantly frank and say that the $2.00 ain’ working nuh more.

After reading Georgie P piece up there he sent me to serious thinking to understand Dan in the van picture.

59. Carson C. Cadogan

checkit-out

Now let me see, Prodigal son said VOB and now you are saying CBC.

I believe Prodigal Son and not you.

CBC would never carry such a mock story.

60. Georgie Porgie

BRIEF
    In the fifties we had in lower primer in elementary schools a series of reading books.

One of the lessons has been immortalized in a calypso by Sparrow
    the lesson went like this……..including the pictures

this is Dan [picture showed a man]

this is a van [picture showed a van]

Dan is the man in the van [picture showed a man (Dan) in the van]