Are The Rich In Barbados Paying Their Fair Share:- Defining Rich As Those Who Earn $1Million or more!!!

tax_richTax the rich was a theme raised last week at the Liberal Democrats conference in Bournemouth, UK where Dr. Vine ‘the oracle’ Cable purposed a new tax on those who earn in excess of a million pounds or more . Dr. Cable raised some eyebrows in his own party as this policy decision had not been discussed with its leader (Nick Clegg).

A report by the Brotherhood of St Laurence and the Australian Housing and Urban Research Institute showed that the Capital Gains Tax (CGT) exemption is now worth on average $10,000 a year for the wealthiest 20% of home owners according to The Australian News report.

The Brotherhood of St Laurence will today seize on the research to call for the removal of the CGT exemption on homes worth more than 1.1 million Auzzie dollars. I wondered if this was where Dr. Cable pulled his policy decision from last week?

It is with these thoughts in mind, coupled with Channel 4’s airing of Piers Morgan’s visit to Barbados to interview Sir Cliff Richards in his £14 million hideaway pad in the lush surroundings of Sugar Hill that got me to thinking about this issue in its broader remit and context.

According to a report from the World Institute for Development Economics Research at the UN University, the richest 2% of adults in the world own more than half of all household wealth, based on research institute’s findings. Also, the report states, that the poorer half of the world’s population own barely 1% of global wealth.

Amidst the backdrop of taxpayer bailouts of banking and insurance institutions –the top [25] Hedge Fund and Investment Managers made a staggering £8.275 billion or an average of $464 million (£331m) each in 2008, according to research by Alpha Magazine while the top 10 richest politicians in the world last year were collectively worth $126.124 billion. A recent report also showed that the richest 1% now gobbles up 15% of the world’s annual income, up from 5% in the 1980’s.

So Hollywood glitterati, merchant & investment “banksters”, CEO’s, CFO’s, lawyers, surgeons, celebrity preachers and the high-end specter of capitalist sharks continue to amass wealth at an exponential rate.

But what does all this have to do with Barbados?

Actually, it is quite simple – do the rich celebrities and others who occupy our prime land and real estate, pay their fair share of taxes or do they continue to live high on the hog without any real fiscal or tax accountability because of who they are?

According to Gordon Matthews writing in the Nation Newspaper a couple weeks ago remarked that developers were paying millions of dollars for coastal land and this was causing an inflation in the value of surrounding plots. A Barbadian government worker also said, “We are not a tax haven. Barbados is a low-tax regime…”

Research suggests that there is no real tax on wealth in Barbados – at least in the narrower quartile of that 1.5% to 2% who basically live the lifestyles of the rich and famous. A person with a net worth of $100 million who earns $100,000 in a given year pays the exact same amount of taxes as someone with a net worth of $200,000 who earns $100,000 in that same year.

If neoliberal politicians wish to slap a tax on the rich, then why don’t they?

They should be practicing what they preach and slap a wealth tax on the likes of the royal family members, Oprah, Tiger Woods, David & Victoria Beckham, Sir Elton John, Sir Cliff Richards, Tony & Cherie Blair, Sir Mick Jagger, and the whole host of rich folks who occupy prime real estate property at Sandy Lane, Royal Westmoreland, Port St. Charles and wherever the nouveau riche occupy areas of Barbados for their individualistic pleasures.

The government of Barbados strapped for cash (and I am sure Errol Barrow would be proud of this piece of social policy) should legislate a wealth tax on properties over and above the 1 million dollar mark with the percentage rising according to the upper quartile value of the property.

When as a small society of 270,000 people (or thereabout), we factor in the salaries and wages, dividends from investments, capital gains, corporate income and the government’s take on its investments and the taxes which are paid from the above – the shock statistics is that a tiny minority of super-rich folks who occupy our country for a few months in a year if so much, pay less in taxes due to loopholes than the 90% who are paying tax from earnings, investments and property. This also applies to “offshore” banks and other institutions that use our system as a pipeline to funnel monies around the world at the touch of a button.

Is the 21st century paradigm of class warfare being fought in the trenches of economic uncertainty where the middleclass survival is being crushed as the rich become richer and the poor become poorer – leaving just the two tiers?

The answer is unequivocally –“YES!”

Was it not the enigmatic Lord Denning who made the infamous statement some 40 years ago that tax avoidance was legal but still not moral?

While others argue that for most of us (excluding the “RICH”) that the difference between avoidance and evasion is really the thickness of a prison door – these lines as recent current affairs have proven are becoming increasingly blurred.

If the “oxymoron” of government perpetrating this idea that the “TAX CODE” is meant to be based on “fairness and efficiency” – then why are so many rich folks able to slip through the net and not pay their fair share?

If nothing concrete has come out of our deepening economic crisis is the fact that vast swathes and concentrations of economic wealth in the hands of a minority of rich folks is not only inimical to the tenets of free markets or to the pillars of democracy which hold ups the fragile structure of post modern politics. Moreover, it is a subtle form of modern tyranny where the “haves” live in luxurious splendor and the “have-nots” continue to eat the bread the devil kneads.

No one is in denial as to the squandermania created by governments and how they use our tax dollars. This is where an assault in the public square for greater accountability is needed. However, there is open season and we can all recount too many instances of impropriety where our tax dollars are literally thrown down a bottomless hole. That must change – at any cost!

The failures of the markets after the 1929 meltdown resulted not only in a Great Depression but in people in Central Europe and Asia turning away from democratic institutions and ideals fought for during World War 1.

Less than 100 years later, the world is once again at the same crossroad, where out of the abyss looms the specter of protectionism, dwindling resources, an ever increasing chasm between rich and poor and the rehashed ideologies of the past ruminating to once again take center stage. America and Western democracies had a brush with the two evils history has so vividly portrayed.

Nothing is black or white anymore. The super-rich have run the wheels off the wagon of the financial system and we have had to be the blacksmiths to repair the damage. Surely it’s time to address their anti-democratic overlord-ship of the entire economic system and have rich folks be accountable and pay their fair share.

37 responses to “Are The Rich In Barbados Paying Their Fair Share:- Defining Rich As Those Who Earn $1Million or more!!!

1. – The property tax time bomb is not feasible.
    – In 10 to 20 years most properties will be worth a million.
    – Every one in the next generation and beyond will be caught out by this legislation.
    – Nowadays most people already fall in the Higher rate tax rate bracket of 40% for an income of over 35 grand.
    – Properties purchased at say 50 grand 20 years ago with money paid after tax, would incur tax on a current value of 250 grand today. (what a scam!)
    – property valuations are wag’s or wild arse guesses

2. Barbados governments have shown a reluctance to tax foreign investors for fear of retaliation. For example the former government had the opportunity to impose a head tax on cruise ship passengers and got scared. Interesting to learn that fellow blogger Amit’s conclusion from recent research confirms the fears/perceptions of Barbadians that tourism is a root cause for high property prices in Barbados. As a country we need to establish what road map will get us close to our destination.

3. Micro Mock Engineer

A wealth tax?

Man David… one minute you sounding like Robin Hood, and the next, like the Sheriff of Nottingham 🙂

You want to tax me on the money I earn… and then turn around and tax me on the wealth I accumulate for saving and investing the untaxed portion diligently?

“A person with a net worth of $100 million who earns $100,000 in a given year pays the exact same amount of taxes as someone with a net worth of $200,000 who earns $100,000 in that same year.”….. Does the person with the higher net worth in your example above pay consumption taxes or employ anyone?

You really think that increasing Government coffers through higher taxes over the years would have improved the service quality and management of our social services and infrastructure… or for that matter the lot of the poor? Whu if dah was the case, you wouldn’t need to raise taxes… I’m sure one uh dem rich fellas like Bush Tea, for whom material wealth is meaningless, woulda single-handedly bail we out long time.

4. @MME

Barbadians do not value what we currently offer to the mega-rich who flock to our shores. They should have to pay for it. It comes at a price. While the government has its shortcoming it does not change the above. These guys can afford to pay, why are we stuck on some age old philosophy that we shouldn’t tax wealth creation?

5. I would question the perception that tourism alone is the root cause of high property values in Barbados. Foreign exchange regulations also severely restrict the amount of money that wealthier Barbadians (and there are many) are able to invest overseas. There are therefore plenty of local dollars chasing down local property investment, and this is why, for the time being at least, local properties have held their values despite the recession and decline in tourism.

6. @MME
    “one minute you sounding like Robin Hood, and the next, like the Sheriff of Nottingham :-)”

I found this comment really funny…

I actually had a graphic picture of DAVID* dressed in 12th century “glad rags” lurking ominously about with his band of merry men waiting for opportune moments to swoop down on the Exchequer, the lords and the wealthy land owners in Barbados robbing from these rich bastards* and distributing the income to the poor…

If only it was so simple!!!

7. @peltdownman
    “Foreign exchange regulations also severely restrict the amount of money that wealthier Barbadians (and there are many) are able to invest overseas…”

Listen to the thoughts of Lucy Komisar:

“Bank secrecy has been a hidden issue-buried in plain sight as key political leaders, major media, and even citizen groups ignored glaring lessons: in the 1980s, the collapse of the Vatican-linked Ambrosiano Bank and the illegal sale of arms to Iran and diversion of funds to the Contras; in the 1990s, the Bank of Credit and Commercial International (BCCI) swindle; and for decades, the burgeoning international narcotics and illicit arms trades-all dependent on secret bank accounts.”

“U. S. political leaders, with a few exceptions, were loath to challenge big banks and brokerages that wanted no barriers to the influx of customers’ funds. The same was true abroad.”

“When U.S. bank regulators wanted to strengthen existing rules to detect illicit funds, the banks resorted to scare tactics. In 1999, to sink a “know your customer” regulation proposed by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, (FDIC) they orchestrated a successful e-mail campaign to Congress. Constituents protested that the regulation compromised their right to keep their accounts free from government surveillance. That was a fiction; U.S. law enforcement agents with court orders could already see any bank records they wanted. Other government officials could not. The regulation set guidelines to help banks carry out the existing requirement of “due diligence,” that is, that they make sure that their customers were who they said they were and that banks report suspicious transactions…”

So in all fairness, RICH* folks are handled through the back door while the rest of us are scrutinized within an inch of our lives…

8. The mechanism for taxing wealth would really be property taxes. So that the person with a net worth of $100 million who earns $100,000 in a given year pays the same PAYE as someone with a net worth of $200,000 who earns $100,000 in that same year, but more in land and property taxes.

There are also ways to deal with locals whose property value may have gone up as a result of next door development… because I would also argued I should not be penalised with higher taxes simply because somebody come and build a monstrosity besides my property.

I find that we are quick to impose harshness on poor people and ease the rich. Have we yet addressed this inequality?

9. @ROK
    “I should not be penalized with higher taxes simply because somebody come and build a monstrosity besides my property….I find that we are quick to impose harshness on poor people and ease the rich. Have we yet addressed this inequality?”

This is the issue ROK!!!

Question is – where is your government on the issue?

Why are the gross inconsistencies in the tax laws prejudiced and predicated in favor of the person(s) who builds the monstrosity next to yours?

And why is there no national outcry against these unfair and unjust practices?

The RICH* must pay their fair share is the only argument!!!

10. We simply need to come up with some creative ways. The elderly/pensioner, for example, can get a land tax waiver. Maybe in light of development that is getting out of hand, a Bajan citizen could be allowed to file a “Retention of Land Tax Status” claim where property values go up by more than a “reasonable” percentage.

11. I forgot to add that at the end of the day it will be a question of political will.

12. @ROK

You point is well-intentioned but as you remarked, there must be the political capital and will in place…

Well then, how do we move and spur our “elected” representatives into concerted action?

What will it take?

As an adjunct – how much tax has C.O.W Williams paid in the last financial year?

Is his business records available to be viewed on the internet or at your version of Companies House?

13. @Terence M. Blackett

The public cannot even see the CLICO insurance company finacials for 2008 despite there being a statutory obligation that they are published for public scrutiny.

The C O Williams companies financial statements should be filed at the Corporate Affairs & Intellectual Property Office. Are they? I don’t know. We do know that the so called GEMS of Barbados, a Government entity are not, so don’t look to governemnt for an example or leadership.

14. @ Nostradamus

Is it against the law of Barbados to see and have access to a “LIMITED” company’s records?

If not, how can those records be accessed?

I understand that there is no FREEDOM OF INFO. legislation but there must be some way to gain access to company records based on TAX Filings….

Any BU family has “LIGHT” on this issue????

15. I understand that under section 152(1) of the Companies Act financial statements need to be filed with CAIPO if the gross revenue or assets of a company exceed $1,000,000.00 (one million Barbados dollars).

Any citizen can then pay $5.00 and access the file.

16. Stopped reading this during the headline.

This is part of the headline: “Is the Rich in Barbados Paying Their Fair Share …?”

If you can’t get a singular noun and a singular verb to agree with a plural possessive adjective in a nine-word clause, in your mother tongue, then it’s highly probable that you have nothing of interest to say.

17. I guess I am rich then

18. @Nostradamus
    “I understand that under section 152(1) of the Companies Act financial statements need to be filed with CAIPO if the gross revenue or assets of a company exceed $1,000,000.00 (one million Barbados dollars)… Any citizen can then pay $5.00 and access the file…”

Then it is possible to see the TAX Records of COW & Co;…

The question obviously is whether the books are cooked to protect the guilt???

Savvy accountants do their jobs well for a slice of the pie…

So that covers the rich, white & possibly Blacks Bajans….

What about those with homes, villas and mansions but reside only a few months of the year or maybe retired to the island….

What is their TAX Status?

19. The power game is resting on three levels of force and fraud.

1. Taxation is robbery based on a monopoly of weapons (military power, police power etc).

2. Rent is the daughter of taxation, the taxation of land by private groups, based on a monopoly of land.

3. Interest is the son of rent, based on a monopoly of coinage.

20. Do not be seduced by the rich and famous patronising Barbados. Once their appetite has been filled they will be off. In what state than will Barbados be left in? I say tax them off the island. The sons and daughters of those whose ancestors enslaved us have not changed. What does Barbados have to lose? ……..Absolutely nothing.

Pride and a restored sense of Bajan nationalism is what Barbados needs. Out of this will come a more mature, honest and prosperous Barbados.

21. Mr. Blackett raises an interesting point. Quoting Mr. Blackett: “What is their TAX Status?”

What is the “TAX Status” of BANGO? Whence its funds? Who manages the use of its funds?

Full disclosure: the “leader” of BANGO recently threatened me in public.

22. Micro Mock Engineer

@David

“It comes at a price. While the government has its shortcoming it does not change the above. These guys can afford to pay”

So David… let me see if I understand you correctly here… your concern is that we are selling ourselves too cheaply?

“Moreover, it is a subtle form of modern tyranny where the “haves” live in luxurious splendor and the “have-nots” continue to eat the bread the devil kneads.”

Reminds me of something else I once read David… ‘from each according to his ability, to each according to his need’… if you really want to see tyranny and suffering, try implementing that philosophy.

23. @MME

It seems we may have conflicting philosophies on this matter. Barbados has built a brand which appeals to the rich. That appeal is of value, it is priceless. It is an equity which the rich value.

24. @ David

You said, Quote……”Barbados has built a brand which appeals to the rich. That appeal is of value, it is priceless. It is an equity which the rich value.”

But David, how much longer do you think that Barbados will retain “that appeal” to the rich & famous if they continue to be cursed, villified and attacked by certain individuals here and elsewhere on the island?

25. @robin hood

Do you think we live in Utopia?

Do you think there is a country on earth where a dissenting view cannot be heard?

We live in a democracy, people will have different views.

26. Do not underestimate what these foreign owners of second homes in Barbados contribute to the economy of Barbados. Start with $10,000 plus dollars in land tax, add to that the VAT, duties and taxes on their yearly purchases, much of which is highly taxed, that could add another $25,000 to the government coffers. This spending will be funded with foreign currency and will likely support anywhere from 1 – 10 direct jobs, and probably 3x as many full time equivalent indirect jobs depending on the size of the property.

27. Sniff….dem figures wunna quoting mekking me feel real poor doh. Eh eh.

I goin slink away form dis blog, wid dem figures, I ent even got enough tuh write pun hey, let alone talk wid authority.

28. Micro Mock Engineer

“Barbados has built a brand which appeals the rich. That appeal is of value, it is priceless.”

David,

That is quite a dilemma… trying to place a price on something that is priceless. 🙂

People must decide what type of development they want, and what sacrifices they are willing to make to achieve it. In a democracy, that decision should be made by the people through the election of leaders whom they perceive share their values. Have our leaders’ decisions and policies on these matters over the years, been at variance with the desires of the majority of Barbadians?

29. @MME

Perhaps it is something which Barbadians have taken for granted over the years.

30. @ David

Nothing at all wrong with dissenting views, David.

However, very often it is not what is done but HOW it is done.

31. As a ZR catching “paper millionaire: J thinks that the middle class in Barbados are taxed far, far, far too harshly.

32. @DAVID
    “It seems we may have conflicting philosophies on this matter. Barbados has built a brand which appeals to the rich. That appeal is of value, it is priceless. It is an equity which the rich value….”

By the way, (lest it slip me) – “THANKS VERY MUCH DAVID”…

Regarding your very poignant statement – it would be good to have the moderators on “BRASS TACKS” and the other call-in programmes address this issue you have raised….

If we are TRULY* a brand in itself – how is it that we are subsumed and dummed down as against similar geographical name brands, i.e. ” Beverley Hill, CA., French Riviera”, Monte Carlo, The Bahamas, etc…

Does our government have an answer to this dilemma???

33. @TB
    There is a prevailing view in our islands which says we must benchmark against what others do.

34. I’m sure one uh dem rich fellas like Bush Tea, for whom material wealth is meaningless, woulda single-handedly bail we out long time
    @ MME

I letting this comment pass…

35. @BU FAMILY

How many rich people (that include COW Williams and his lot) avoid paying “FULL” income tax (due to loopholes) and avoid totally Capital Gains Tax as well as Inheritance Tax?

In Britain where many rich white Bajans have interests of one kind or another it seems according to the London Evening Standard – “The super-rich are using loopholes to avoid paying £2billion a year in income tax, official figures have revealed…”

http://www.thisislondon.co.uk/news/article-23401287-only-one-in-six-of-uks-richest-men-is-paying-any-income- tax.do%3Bjsessionid=C2290EE5D0124D90B06ED4E05EB4BEEE

36. the bajan philosphy is ;a bird in the hand iswortha thousand in the bush. people really don’t care unless the problem affect them directly. they will wait untill it’s too late and the government like tokiss the rich a..s too.