Tourism: Another Look

Submitted by Looking Glass

Faith in the automatic forces that push tourism and the economy requires a large does of optimism. Perhaps we should look beyond our own optimism and preferences to the context in which those opinions have meaning.

First Mark King, director of the Black Bess project was reported to inform the Nation that “I don’t discuss matters with the press.” End of story. Would he have dared to tell that to the North American, British or Chinese media? Not on your life. He would have been at least relegated if not fired. It says a lot when those on whom you depend treat you to crass indignity.

1) Thanks to publicity and the inevitable global economic turnaround Barbados tourism is said to be “well positioned to be among the first to benefit from a revival in international resort tourism.” (Advocate 11/30/09). Yes the economic turnaround favours the West and North coast hotels (about1/3 of 111 or so hotels and guest houses on the island) what about the rest? However, the same can hardly be said for those other hotels dependant on lower income visitors. Personal bankruptcy in North America, your biggest market, is at record levels and growing larger by the day. In the USA banks are being closed or taken over by government faster than the sale of big homes on the Rock.

Two pictures with hardly more than a ‘caption’ of Serena on MSN— one from there with nipples projecting, the other from elsewhere with her tail-end projecting from a yellow outfit—is a reminder that there is publicity and there is publicity. Contrary to popular belief our profile internationally is no longer what it used to be. Cuba, Jamaica, Mexico, the Dominican Republic and Costa Rica are permanent features in the North American travel media. The same cannot be said of Barbados, Ask why it is that we are largely excluded.

2) Tourism spending up despite fewer arrivals. The island is doing well in terms of the amount the tourists are spending (Nation Nov, 5, 09). The statement is misleading, a reminder that the returns from tourism are overstated. A round trip from London may cost 1,500 pounds or more, but how much of that money ends up in Barbados? Most affluent Brits and wealthy others stay at the West and North coast hotels. Their share of the pie is usually deposited in overseas bank accounts; so too the air fare, the travel agent and wholesalers’ fees. Hardly any pickings are left for the South Coast and other hotels who are dependant on the lower income tourist. Most of the tourist expenditure is on imports items, which suggest that spending may be up but not net revenue. Some time ago it was estimated that only 25 cents of every tourist dollar remained on the island. It can hardly be more today.

3) The Minister mentioned tells us that Jamaica is in the business of “discounting.” Is he implying that some things are left out or deducted from the accounting as being unreliable? Or is he referring to price cuts in accommodation? If the latter he should think again. So far lower accommodation costs have resulted in more visitors, more spending and less unemployment in the industry: profit made on volume, not price per se. Luxury resorts in the Bahamas have discounted accommodation (prices) 25-50% for December and January; and others have followed suit including some with limited airlift.

In addition proximity to the North America market, superior advertising and marketing, the exchange rate and cheap duty free play a large part in Jamaica’s success. And this despite their socio-economic problems. By comparison Barbados remains short on airlift, has the most expensive duty free in the region and is presented as an expensive and high end destination,

In 1984, having started from scratch, we attracted 9600 tourist from Canada, Jamaica about 3000. Before the global crisis we were getting 4-5000 a year. Jamaica now attracts about 100,000 visitors a year. West Jet now has a bi-weekly direct 1400 seat service to the Bahamas, and BA a five times a week service to Dominican Republic (DR) starting at a measly 621 pounds compared to the 1,500 roundtrip cost to Barbados. The DR also signed bilateral flight pacts/air service agreements with countries like The Arab Emirates, Jordan, Turkey and Iceland, opened an office in Vienna from which to expand into the EU, and will host the 2010 cruise industry conference.

Trinidad is coming on stream. Boeing has pledged to help Caribbean Airlines to “reduce up-front parts provisioning and long term inventory holding costs,” and guarantee spare parts service (TTC Dec 09/09). Cost reduction, enhanced efficiency and cheaper dollar will likely mean less business for us. Could all these countries be doing things wrong? Our woeful strategic target marketing/advertising/sales skills need urgent revision.

4) Some of the statements suggesting increase in arrivals, spending and job generation are indeed misleading in that they convey dubious information, in effect false hope. How much the tourist spends is largely a matter of guesswork. Merricks for example is said to provide 2000 jobs. Chances are these will be short term jobs. Once completed and operative full time employment it is unlikely to exceed 500, with most of the high level positions taken by foreigners.

5) Finally, consider some implications of the proposed yachting facility at Bathsheba, the Black Best, Merricks (there may be much more here) and similar projects: More land lost to agriculture, no ground cover, vegetation, plants and trees to contain soil erosion…or bees to pollinate. This translates into greater import dependency which, along with increasing imports and utilities cost (light, power and water), inevitably drive up the cost to local consumer. The Barley Loaves are insufficient to support the growing mass.

And despite our water shortage another 18 hole golf course requiring a daily dose of 3000 gallons. Water (and food supply) is likely to be the next major world crisis. Already 40% of Peru’s glacial ice caps has disappeared, and there is shortage from Lima to Nepal. Rice fields are being abandoned and the rice processing plant closed in Australia. The Murray-Darling River is said to be running out of water. Desalinization is now a possibility around Adelaide. And the USA is not buying water from Dominica to help that country. A global water and food shortage will only add to our socio-economic woes. All things considered the socio-cultural cost is likely to exceed the benefits from unfettered tourism.

27 responses to “Tourism: Another Look

1. Could you believe that the governent wait until hours before the offical payday for government workers to come and print in the paper that payday changed from 18th to the 21st. They did’nt even had the decency to send around memo to staff when them done know from the 14th that they aint paying people. Them think that p…

2. Mark

I just called the Fair Trading Commission to find out when the finding on the BL&P hearing will be published and not one fart was made available. Now you CANNOT be paying commissioners $200.00 an hour and have them make a professional commitment to return to the public on the 15 December 2009 and be past due. Their remunerations should be docked. At the very least there should be a public apology recognising that the date set by them has been missed, and that a new date will be forthcoming…!

No respect, all round..!

3. And might I add that the cruise industry is adding a lot of value-added over -the- top product and services like mini theme parks, replica of popular caribbean sites and venue etc.to their new ships. This mean that these “floating hotels” then becomes a one stop shop experience for their customers without ever have to dock at a port. Then again with these new mega ships are we prepare infrastructural wise to accomodate them?

4. The submission confirms the concern of many i.e. the socio-economic fallout of tourism being our #1 productive sector. What is the plan to diversify the economy? Do we have the will to even attempt it?

5. Alex Fergusson

The DLP is the wrong Government at the wrong time

+++++++++++++++++++

First he told Barbados that he had a stimulus package before President Obama – even though the country learn that Mr. Thompson’s idea of a stimulus package was to buy equipment for the QEH and erect fences at schools.

It was at that point that intelligent Barbadians got really scared.

Then he said that it would not be prudent to engage in a fiscal stimulus package, as it would have “negative side effects.

So when you read what his stimulus was, as mentioned above, you understand clearly why Barbados is in crisis: equipment for the QEH is all imported, while “ONE” old lady could erect a fence, hence – hardly a sensible idea for job creation.

The PM then added that he had to do a balancing act between waiting-and-seeing the economic recession and being proactive but stressing that “a fiscal stimulus programme would be unwise” at this time.

Prime Minister Thompson is now saying that there has been a little bit of stimulus but there has not been over stimulation.

After all of that confusion, his flawed economic policies are neither stabilising nor stimulating anyone except CLICO.

David Thompson is therefore a Prime Minister without a serious plan and his vision for Barbados – in an economic crisis, which he triggered, is – “wait-and-see.

To put it in a nut shell, the DLP is the wrong Government at the wrong time.

It does not know what to do or what it is doing and has therefore put Barbados on the Highway to Poverty and not the Pathway to Progress,” it promised.

6. Wishing In Vain

Alex Fergusson, you ever heard the old saying the higher the monkey climbs the more of his tail you see??

Don’t believe for a minute that I am comparing you to a monkey as on the evidence I have seen from you that would be belittling or a slight on the smartness of the monkey, they are leaps ahead of you in that department.

Tell us where your mind could be at to be happy and joyous to think that maybe BA would go on strike??

What an unloyal person your really are, any sensible well meaning person would not wish such for their island but ones like you and Mottley that are so power hungry will stoop to any extreme and bite at any bait.

Having said that let me also add to your suffering by reporting from my well informed sources that TOURISM ARRIVALS for the first week of December have exceeded last year arrival figure and are ahead by the wonderful figure of 1110 and Canadian arrivals being ahead of last years figures by 12.2 % or an increase of 6242 visitors, the USA market so far this month is 32.3 % ahead of December last year and growing.

More positive signals that Mottley and company hate to see after the poor showing of the former loather MM Blarney Lynch.

7. Donald Duck, Esq

British Airways WINS court bid to stop cabin crew’s 12-day Christmas strike

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1236662/British-Airways-WINS-court-bid-stop-12-day-Christmas-strike.html#ixzz0ZzW9B0nD

8. That”s is good news Duck!

No new blogs tonight, sorry.

9. Might be good news for Barbados but it seems somehow that a dangerous precedent is being set here…

10. Alex Fergusson

The DLP is the wrong government at the wrong time
    +++++++++++++

“Time was when those who were responsible for our tourism industry used to aim for the stars.

If we fell short of the mark and landed on the moon then we found some consolation in that.

It was a strategy that worked well for us. Arrivals of both land based tourists and cruisers grew year over year, except for 2001, the year of 9/11.

Last week the Barbados Hotel & Tourism Association announced that the money brought in by the industry had dropped by $100 million dollars for the first seven months of the year.

By any measure this is a phenomenal amount for an economy the size of ours.

It means the country has taken a ten percent pay cut, which incidentally is almost equal to the 10.5% decline in long stay visitors recorded for the same period.

As amazing as this revelation was, it was followed by the incredulous, if not idiotic, assertion by the new Chief of the Barbados Tourism Authority that somehow this slide to the back of the pack was not so bad because it could have been worse.

If this is how we are going to approach the marketing and management of our main money earner, then we had all better brace ourselves for a long, lean winter.

It is noteworthy that two of our main competitors Jamaica, for the American market and Cuba for the Canadian market have both recorded increases in visitor arrivals.

Even Guyana recorded an increase in arrivals. All of the others, with the exception of the Bahamas and Antigua are ahead of Barbados in the visitor arrival stakes.

We are fighting it out with less popular destinations like Grenada and St. Vincent & The Grenadines, who do not attract 100, 000 visitors a year for last place.

With this mindset it was no surprise that panic set in with the news that British Airways cabin crew might ground the airline over Christmas with a threatened strike.

A strong influx of visitors from the UK was the peg on which many of our hotels were pinning their hopes for what would be, in comparison with recent years, a mediocre winter season.

November arrivals might have been worse were it not for the international masters cricket tournament.

It has not gone down well with the hotel sector that all of the teams stayed at the properties of one hotel operator and we understand that they intend to voice their displeasure to Chairman of the BTA, Ralph Taylor about how and why this occurred.”

++++++++++++++++++

Part 2 later.

Now Wishing In Vain, let talk

11. Wishing In Vain

Alex Fergusson

You are really too sad, this is Christmas time give yourselt the gift of an education.

I suggest that you read again and learn the facts as they are not the facts according to Greenidge , which are unabated lies.

Alex Fergusson, you ever heard the old saying the higher the monkey climbs the more of his tail you see??

Don’t believe for a minute that I am comparing you to a monkey as on the evidence I have seen from you that would be belittling or a slight on the smartness of the monkey, they are leaps ahead of you in that department.

Tell us where your mind could be at to be happy and joyous to think that maybe BA would go on strike??

What an unloyal person your really are, any sensible well meaning person would not wish such for their island but ones like you and Mottley that are so power hungry will stoop to any extreme and bite at any bait.

Having said that let me also add to your suffering by reporting from my well informed sources that TOURISM ARRIVALS for the first week of December have exceeded last year arrival figure and are ahead by the wonderful figure of 1110 and Canadian arrivals being ahead of last years figures by 12.2 % or an increase of 6242 visitors, the USA market so far this month is 32.3 % ahead of December last year and growing.

More positive signals that Mottley and company hate to see after the poor showing of the former loather MM Blarney Lynch

12. Alex Fergusson

@ Wishing In Vain

You said that: “TOURISM ARRIVALS for the first week of December have exceeded last year arrival figure.”

The facts are that November arrivals might have been worse were it not for the international masters cricket tournament.

But it has not gone down well with the hotel sector that all of the teams stayed at the properties of one hotel operator and we understand that they intend to voice their displeasure to Chairman of the BTA, Ralph Taylor about how and why this occurred.”

++++++++++++++

(1) At which Hotel/Resort did the media crew, the players and everyone associated with that Masters 20/20 cricket tournament stay?

(2) Is it true that the funds and the decision was approved by the BTA Board in record time, why?

(3) How much money did that hotel/resort make from such a sweetheart deal?

13. Alex Fergusson

“Oh, Judgment, thou art fled to brutish beasts, and men have lost their reason.”

14. Alex Fergusson

The DLP is simply the wrong government at the wrong time. It is why the DLP does not know what to do, or what it is doing.

+++++++++++++++

Were the BLP in office – Barbados would never have been in such humiliating circumstances, but given these same conditions, the BLP would be preparing a feast for Barbadians – not making you suffer, as you now are under this DLP rule.

You are now paying more for rum, because of the Dems.

You cannot find a job because of the DLP.

Road tax is today higher because of the Dems.

You have less money in your pocket and none to save because of the Dems.

Water today costs 60% more because of the Dems and the IMF.

Your light bill is higher today because of the IMF and the Dems.

The cost of living and the price of food is as high as it is – and climbing because of the Dems.

You are being placed on the breadline because of the Dems. Businesses are closing because of the Dems.

Crime is increasing and families are being broken because of the Dems. And, this country is running out of foreign exchange because of the Dems.

No business wants to invest in a place where the government does not know what it is doing, hence – investor confidence in this country has been shattered because of the Dems.

It is why Barbados is now on a free fall from prosperity to crisis.

There is no evidence that the DLP was ever brimming with bright ideas or that it hit the ground running – as alleged by hartley henry.

The DLP does not know what to do or what it is doing.

I agree – the DLP is simply, the wrong government at the wrong time.

15. Tourism Monkey

I think the problem that the BTA, the BHTA and many other entities in Barbadian tourism have always had is their mentality.

The mentality was “Well, they (tourists) see us as a high quality, luxury destination. That means that they are willing to pay more for goods and services. Let’s charge those prices to suit then!”

However, in this time of recession, that mentality can’t fly:

– British Airways (BA) was seen as a high quality, luxury airline [now GBP150m in debt]
    – Sandy Lane was seen as a high quality, luxury hotel [now with less than 100% occupancy over the Christmas period]
    -Banyan Tree was seen as a high quality, luxury addition to Barbados’ hospitality product [now postponed]
    -The Four Seasons project [need I say more?]

The strategy that we should all be thinking to employ right now is profit on mass rather than profit on price.

Sadly, by the time we get around to that, it may be too late.

16. @Tourism Monkey

Bear in mind there is risk attached to any strategy. Monday morning quarterbacking is easy. The fact is it does not matter what tourism plan or strategy Barbados uses it remains affected by the inherent volatility of the global market.

17. Barnabas Collins

@ David

Well said and that is the truth irrespective of which political party makes up the government. I think we need a broader strategy for our economy and not throwing all our eggs in one basket and hoping for the best.

BC

18. Tourism Monkey

@ David & BC

Let’s be honest; how many tourists / visitors to the island have you heard say “It’s so expensive here!”?

Recently, whilst overseas in another Caribbean country, I had one of the locals ask me “Why is it that the things cost so much in Barbados? Y’all got de same sun and sea dat we got but charge more for it. Why?”

And to be honest, I had no answer.

Prior to the whole recessionary collapse we were starting to price ourselves out of the market. Now that it has happened, we’re now realising that we’ve hung ourselves out to dry.

So yes, while there will inherently be risks in any strategy; at the end of the day, we HAVE to do something!

19. @Tourism Monkey

Creating a brand and spending money to position that brand in the minds of the consumer is Marketing 101. You should agree that the tourism infrastructure in Barbados is way superior relative to our neighbours.

20. Tourism Monkey

@ David

But does that mean that when you are done you overprice it to “mek back you money”?

Or should you amortize it and say, let’s make this back over the next 50 years?

21. @Tourism Monkey

Positioning based on price is all part of the deal but when the dust settles our tourist operators must remain cognizant of the market conditions and react smart. So to some extent there is merit in your probe. Many restaurants are struggling and some out of business because the owners refused to adjust to market.

22. After this storm expect some Tourists.

“The Northeast is getting hit by a lot of snow today, with Philadelphia, Baltimore, North Carolina, and other Northeast areas facing several inches already. But Washington, D.C., is getting the worst of it, apparently. Up to 10 inches fell in the capital overnight, and the worst of it may not be over yet.”

23. Tourism Monkey // December 18, 2009 at 6:54 PM

@ David & BC

Let’s be honest; how many tourists / visitors to the island have you heard say “It’s so expensive here!”?

You wont hear them saying it is too expensive down there. However, when they get back they will tell friends, family and neighbours how expensive it is and how you must have deep pockets to enjoy a holiday there.

I recommended the island to some people I knew and that was the comment from everyone. One couple even told another neighbour to try another island that is much cheaper. They wanted to retire to Barbados but decided they could not live well if prices kept going up while pensions remain constant.

24. @Hants

Was under the view decisions to travel were usually taken over a longer period and not on impulse.

25. @David

People have varying levels of income and varying circumstances.

A lot of people will take a” few days off” to escape the cold.

A lot of middle income people in North America have the disposable income to travel on impulse.

A lot more people are self employed or work on contract.
    Things have changed in the last 10 years.

26. Point taken Hants.

27. Brutal weather conditions in Europe may yet save this years tourist product.

Only late December and its licking with cold.

So, January and February will probably be horrid truly.

Sorry for them, but good for our tourism.