To The Late Prime Minister David Thompson, Fond Farewell You Good And Faithful Servant

The Late Honourable Prime Minister David Thompson

The Late Prime Minister David Thompson will be buried tomorrow (3 November 2010). A public service will be held at Kensington Oval to be followed by the interment at St. John’s Parish Church (invitation only).

Here was a man who devoted most of his short life to public service. His death has touched Barbadians and others in a way many would not have imagined. Let us hope that his death and the other events which have bashed the emotional psyche of Barbadians in recent days will help to make us stronger as a people to face the challenges that lie ahead.

On behalf of Barbados Underground we bid you farewell you good and faithful servant, you will always be remembered in the BU household –  Your life may be the only Bible some people read – unknown.

BU will be next updated after the funeral.

 

21 responses to “To The Late Prime Minister David Thompson, Fond Farewell You Good And Faithful Servant

  1. You walked amongst us and was our friend, you spoke to us and shared the joy of your family with us. We knew you as a man and as our leader; we have never sought saint-hood for you, but the truth must be told.

    In ways not perfect as is man, you showed us a light. A new way of doing things, and for that we will remember you.

    If it is that a new “society” can be formed in the way that you have shown us. . . your duty would have been done.

    Farewell my friend, I have never had the chance to meet you personally, but I feel as if I had. . . farewell my friend, farewell. . . and may you forever rest in peace.

  2. Here is a tribute to late PM Thompson from Edwin Yearwood – Until We Meet Again

    http://www.bajantube.com/play_audio.php?audio=4093

  3. Thank you for your service to our country. Travel well and safely to your final resting rest. May God grant strength and comfort to your family. Fare thee well Prime Minister

  4. May flights of angels sing thee to thy rest.
    Fare thee well thou good n faithful servant.
    Gone too soon.
    RIP

    When I am down and oh my soul so weary;
    When troubles come and my heart burdened be
    Then I am still and wait here in the silence
    Until you come and sit a while with me

    You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains
    You raise me up, to walk on stormy seas
    I am strong when I am on your shoulder
    You raise me up to more than I can see.

    Goodbye David, goodbye.
    (so painful)

  5. Not hard to understand

    Mr. Bonny Peppa says: “May flights of angels sing thee to thy rest” and so on.

    Mr. Peppa also says:

    “Negro[man] My hero, ya got ma cryinnnnnn. Almost fall offa ma chair man. Ya names got ma bawlinnn. Rat muncher. I missed you so much … You is my Hero, Negro. Ya like suggaaa.”

    “Negro[man], Doan mek ma cry man. Dat can’t happen hay in dis country, I want dem to know dat dis ‘land’ belong ta WE. When push come ta shub, somebodies gun get hurt. And it won’t be we.”

  6. Well done Edwin, you’ve done it again. May I suggest that it be song at the funeral tomorrow. It is not a long song so it shouldn’t alterthe program that much.

  7. Not hard to understand
    Look, tamorrrrr will be de final send-off for my beloved PM. I trying hard ta behave n not disrespect de occasion. But I would really ‘buse you. Ya idiot. You remind me of a dog I had dat i did hate. Evry time i see it i use ta kick it or spit pun it. I would do de same wid you. stupseeeeeeeeeeeeee.
    Ya Human-Rat Bowman.

  8. An excellent tribute Brian and congrats to Rhinna for demonstrating that she is a Barbadian first and foremost.

  9. By contrast to Brian’s very moving personal eulogy, and both Mara’s and Margaret’s dignified deportment, Henry inappropriately makes a thinly veiled political pitch, as only he makes it impossible to resist.

  10. It is should be evident that much of HH’s speech is echoing the last hopes of the Late Prime Minister.

  11. and the latest hopes of HH

  12. A moving service and one which represented a melting pot in its offering. Let us all take away something from it which help to move us forward as a one people.

  13. George C. Brathwaite

    Tearful-eyed, I say my final respects to a good man. I thank God for having been touched by David Thompson the man, astute politician, and friend. There is definitely much that we as a society and as individuals can take away from his life. We can now draw from his final call home to his Creator. All Glory to God.

  14. Comradess Bonny Pepps would be please enuff to know that Rhi Rhi put in an appearance …. all covered up and in obvious distress …!

    And I see my friend Charles …. you would notice that his name was never mentioned by any of the commentators, but he was the one that looked exactly like the past PM, his younger brother, except with a little more weight…

    I plan tah fire one a little later this evening … Bonny yah gun join mah..? Like yah could nuse lil’ chairing up …!

  15. Tearful indeed as we watch the final good bye of the physical presence of our Prime Minister. He will be missed in the cut and thrust of political life. He was the only one who was courageous enough to stand up to the large ego of Owen Arthur.

    Farewell David

    Hartley Henry’s tribute was purely political and not appropriate for such a solemn occasion, but I guess that is HH.

  16. We the people

    Hartley Henry spoke eloquently and must be commended.
    RIP David Thompson.

  17. Fran wrote “Hartley Henry’s tribute was purely political and not appropriate for such a solemn occasion, but I guess that is HH.”

    Hartley Henry was the PM’s POLITICAL advisor. What would you expect?
    I think it was a very good tribute to a POLITICAL leader of Barbados who was a POLITICIAN before he finished high school.

  18. BAF
    Yes, David’s brudda is a carbon copy of him. only a lil olda lookin. But I prefer de otha brudda wid de tatoos. He look mo radical. Wait, Ri Ri was day? Ya lie. LOLLL
    man yes, I could use a lil ‘spirits’ tonite ta chair ma up.

    HH was too long n boring. Lord mek peace. I did startin ta doze off. stupseeeeeeeee. He still mek ma cry. I like de first fella dat paid tribute. He mek ma cry too. All in all, it was most touchin.

    To Mara, the girls, his parents, siblings:
    ‘May the good Lord bless n keep you’.

    (Kiki, pulll up dah tune by Gregory Isaacs fa de late PM’s family from BU family).

  19. George C. Brathwaite

    I do not know what the fuss is about. Hartley Henry was splendid, his message was respectfully clear, and as far as I am concerned, he said what had to be said. Excellent tribute by Harley Henry.
    Now if some persons in the BLP are so naive not to be able to set aside partisan differences on such an occasion, then that is very sad and shows the need to take from Hartley’s very tribute to his ‘Chief’, lessons that are more reflective of what is necessary for our Barbadian society.
    In fact, all Barbadians should be seeing how best they could influence current and future politicians to practice statecraft and local politics without having to demonise individuals. We need to accept that we all want what is best for Barbados, but our courses of actions may differ for several reasons. We truly need to reflect on how we deal with each other. I am convinced that the next few months are ideal for practicing politicians and commentators to clean up the negative images that sometimes can mirror local politics and politicians. We need politicians, it is in our collective interest to remove much of the apathy that exists; let us start froma position of mutual respect.