“If you don’t stand for something, you’ll fall for anything”

Principals in the Alexandra School Dispute

As an expression of our disgust caused by the Alexandra dispute Barbados Underground will not update new blogs until strike action ends.

Education is regarded as a fundamental human right and the absence of 30 teachers from the classrooms of the Alexandra School for close to two weeks is a failure on the part of leadership of Barbados. The frightening reality that the ‘fracture’ has occurred in the education sector should place an accent on the gravamen of the challenge which confronts us.

Think on these things Barbados.

316 responses to ““If you don’t stand for something, you’ll fall for anything”

1. @David not BU

Crap summarises the whole situation perfectly. Sadly though the implications and the spheres which they will affect are far and wide. The hidden conversations that impact the future have already begun. Think what you may, many schools, principals, teachers, systems, processes and interpersonal (even national) politics will never be the same

2. @Observing

Let us agree that because of an insubordinate act a systemic problem in the education system may have been exposed to the point where real change maybe forced.

3. @David
    What type of change?

“Yes We Can?”
    “Change you can trust?”
    “It’s time for change?”

I agree that “real” change is coming but it won’t be visible for sometime (if at all for some people) and persons who think they may have won a battle will have ended up losing a much greater war and causing great collateral damage. The spoils of battle are not usually to be found on the battlefield and armies’ demises are typically telegraphed from continents away. There have been many unwitting pawns in this saga…let’s see how the rest of it unfolds.

4. @Observing

We will have to wait and see. Change in the public sector can’t be predicted with any certainty.

5. If the information contained “The School Inspection Report 2010 – Alexandra School carried in BarbadosToday is correct one sees that Mr Boomes
    1. Does not get along with his deputy ,
    2. He does not get along with the Board of Management ,
    3. He does not get along with some teacher (appointed and temporary),
    4. He does not get along with the office staff
    Am I to conclude that Mr Broomes does know how to deal with adults?

6. @Watching

You not just watching.You seeing too.

The school inspection report is damning.

CEO’s,managers,bosses and Principals are paid to manage the good,the bad and the ugly.

It is patently obvious that there was a serious dereliction of leadership at Alexandra and the MOE must also take some heat for not acting on the School inspection report.

7. All eyes now turn towards Prime Minister Stuart,,,AGAIN!

8. Caswell Franklyn

That report was filled with demons, and Minister Jones refused to exorcise them. Maybe he likes demons after all.

9. David the decision has been made for Stuart.

Now that the “report” has surfaced he has no choice but to remove administrative duties from the Principal and let the teachers return to work.

Actually this might be a good time for Broomes to take leave and go watch some T20 cricket.

10. Imagine that Mr Jones was given this report on November 26, 2010 and did nothing about it up to now; and had the audacity to be part of the Eager 11 complaining about the inertia and malaise of the PM’s leadership. How are we to describe his stewardship as Education Minister? Indifferent?

11. correction “Prime Minister Stuart”. Have to mind my manners. Me an he ent pitch nuh marbles together.

12. @Hants

Maybe so but was looking more at the MOEHR’s role in contributing to the sorry mess.

13. @ Hants not only should Mr Broomes be given a free pass to go to cricket indefinately but Mr Jones should be made to join him !

14. PM Stuart might have to do a Cabinet shuffle to settle things down.

David you are right. The MOE failed to act in a timely manner to bring about a resolution to the problems outlined in the report.

15. old onion bags

@ all
    Do we really believe that change will come to an outdated administration -education system that has been probably dotted with umpty similar head master -teacher silent wars that never made it to the (public) surface because of fear or lack of numbers or organization ?

This Alexandra issue is truly a rarity. Maybe the tyranny and boldness of this headmaster was that over bearable, or simply that he was that much closer to lunacy, with all the the power he wheels..and unable to control all outward signs.Or could this be a preview of the predicted Mayan madness that is foredooming in 2012,,the end of the world.
    What ever the real reason ( as postulated by bloggers), this has been one eye opening fiasco,all Barbadians who attentively watched and listened to the call in program and blog, should not forget for along time.

THE REAL heroes in this blotched up tale or errors ( the BSTU and teachers) must be commended for their tenacity. For as any sample of public opinion would show their unpopularity……who would believe a headmaster or our home grown MOE which has produce many an international academic luminary would be the casualty.

“Power has fallen to folly”….one of the strike placard so rightly proclaimed.We owe much to these striking teacher for their strength and unity during this ordeal…the harsh words and insults hurdled at them and their families by those who unlike us bloggers.. took time to investigate and agitate….intentionally to stir the minds of many that all should not be taken on face value.

Let’s hope the Prime Minister’s expected release reflects all this.

16. Please continue your comments HERE,

This is to consider those using mobile devices because of the large number of comments.