The Case For Austerity

Submitted by Looking Glass

Greek police clash with a protesters over economic austerity measures. Photograph: Angelos Tzortzinis/AFP/Getty Images

A major feature of the recently concluded G20 Summit was a shift in focus from stimulus to Fiscal Consolidation (FC) otherwise known as Austerity; that is to say cutbacks in social service spending, pensions, benefits and tax increases. Why the FC when most of the countries are still in deep deficit and recession? According to the official communiqué further stimulus to revive the global economy would “undermine consumer confidence and hamper economic growth.” The same solution for countries with different capabilities, capacities and resources is indeed questionable. It raises questions about economics.

Prior to the Summit either the Bank of England or the British government–I don’t recall which one— warned the people against saving and urged them to spend. So it is left to business to invest and generate growth and employment. Really?

The consumer is king. If for whatever reason the consumer doesn’t spend then the economy is in big trouble. Government will likely have to borrow to maintain the level of public/social services. The financially well endowed will hopefully continue to spend in an era of high cost of living and recession. However, it is unlikely this small group can or will spend enough to generate economic growth and jobs. On the other hand the masses living hand to mouth and now burdened with austerity have little or nothing to spend.

In an era of stalled GDP, increasing government and household indebtedness and unemployment from where will come the revenue needed to facilitate growth and maintain public/social services? Without additional short term stimulus government will need to borrow more and people recourse to credit. That Business alone will or should undertake the enormous investment needed to generate growth and employment might turn out to be wishful thinking.

No one denies that the deficit finance stimulus efforts helped to partially arrest the economic recession and helped to boost the economy and increase GDP in 2009. It created jobs in the face of rising unemployment most of which were temporary. Today many countries among them Portugal, Ireland, Greece and Spain remain mired deep in the abyss and deeper in debt even though there is not yet inflation.

With consumer spending, credit and real unemployment down almost everywhere ending financial stimulus (at least for those countries) will likely result in declining GDP and increasing joblessness. It happened in the USA when President Roosevelt New Deal stimulus expired in 1938.

As in the past austerity (FC) burden will fall on those least able to shoulder the burden– the jobless, the marginally employed, pensioners and others dependant on government– and will widen the inequality gap. A long time ago, in the age of plenty, the OECD decided that government must assist workers to find jobs where they can be productive and earn wages sufficient to keep them from poverty. Such assistance is needed in an era of lingering recession. Yes austerity is necessary but it should be accompanied by more short term stimulus.

The same approach does not hold true for tourism and import dependant Barbados. There are no real value-added employment generating sectors and not much to stimulate. Construction, much of which is foreign investment, is short term and generates little by way of sustainable employment. Building homes for people and office space, however necessary, is a band-aid solution. Like borrowing it leaves the wound to fester.

Perhaps government could stimulate (even invest in) agriculture but may have to rely on foreign labour. We disdain soiling our hands. In the case of tourism stimulus should be directed to marketing and advertisement but not the hotels per se. Facilitating more hotel excess capacity, as in the case of Pickering, is tantamount to adding fuel to fire. The stated benefits amount to heresy. More on that and related matters later. Except for agriculture none of the above are likely to create many jobs, in part because they depend on factors beyond our control.

The fact that the Central Bank cannot earn enough revenue to cover operating expenses speaks volumes about the economy not the Bank’s management. The government burdened with an ever increasing national debt, trade and other deficits lack the where-with-all to stimulate the economy in a meaningful way. As in the past it needs to borrow in order to pay pensions, salaries and maintain social and public services, which will further increase the debt burden. Obtaining funds to expand or create new production, especially in the export related sector is unlikely. According to an unwritten law government is deemed to have no business in the private sector.

The economy as constituted simply cannot absorb the current labour force. GDP growth will likely be too languid to absorb the currently unemployed. Lay-offs and a growing labour force suggest higher unemployment rates. And short term structural reform is a bad word With revenue in decline government has little choice but recourse to austerity and more borrowing. It would slow/temper the “collapse” which unfortunately will continue, and I suspect lead to unrest.

85 responses to “The Case For Austerity

1. BAJAN TRUTH

@ Crusoe

I definitely plan to vote for them this time around, made a mistake in 2008. If I am their PR plan then they in trouble. I have not been impressed with their PR last few years in gov’t or now in opposition. But it does not take away from their performance with the country.

Crusoe the repeated use of statements that no evidence has been brought to substantiate – hundreds of millions in cost overruns for CWC, ABC, Prison and Gems will not make it a fact. Now tell me how should I take you as the statements you made are not facts, I have to wonder if you are a spinning machine, preferably a washing machine. Stack it up against the excellent benefits we have derived over the past 14 years. Then put 2 years – 1.5b in wastage; further damaging our capacity to handle a crisis; raising the cost of living and business to every bajan rich and poor alike; the calamity and wailing that will be in the land as CLICO hits the economy and impoverishes its policyholders; now absentee management in our dire hour of need. In two years, the opposition must be feel that this group of Dees is a gift. Give me your intelligent choice, which situation is better for us ordinary bajans, forget the yardfowl point of view? Now if you cannot see a change is necessary, I can suggest some brand names to cover your brand of spin – Kenmore, General Electric, or any of your choice. There are things you can castigate them for- not getting housing built, despite providing sites and services; more needed to be done with hospital; hold somebody accountable for Warrens mess; investigate Gems; wasting our money at St. Joseph and Sherbourne. The most grievous not answering for our calls for explanations on these matters and others. I am a taxpayer and I expect to get explanations when asked for, not the bawling on the call-in programmes, but well delivered explanations.

By the way a further disturbing report, news just said that Jamaica is experiencing a bumper crop of tourists this month, unprecendented, I think they said 200,000. Where these tourists coming from, especially with this recession and our traditional markets not functioning? Mr. Sealy should come back from China quick, quick and confer with his Jamaican counterpart, and get some hey. We need it now more than ever (lol). Just teasing you Crusoe with the last line. But the story is true, and our tourism people need to get on the ball,tourism is like fishing, you might be fishing at the wrong spot. But if your calculations or bait is wrong and the other fellow getting fish, don’t be shame. Change the strategy and bring back some fish fuh we too.

2. So, let me get this right,

No one can question the competency of a government where public debt rises by $1500m in two years with little investment to show for it, our current expenditure consistently exceeds our current revenues – the most basic, indeed, primary, of all government budget constraints, because, five years a go, the other lot built a prison which increased our debt by $288m and where there were many legitimate grounds for concerns over costs, budgets, background of the contractors etc.

These concerns created a demand for tougher integrity legislation, stronger rules to combat conflicts of interest and more transparency which were rightly championed by the DLP, but so far, nothing appears to have changed.

I urge my DLP friends – of which I have many – that if you think that is a winnable election strategy then you are underestimating the intelligence of Bajans. But there is time to change tack and deliver change. Some time, but not alot of it, and to change tack you have to start by focusing on today’s problem and looking forward and not blaming everybody but themselves and living in the warm repetition of old opposition slogans that won an election in 2008, because the rest of us thought they were not slogans, but plans of action.

There are a lot of fine ideas expressed on this blog as to how to take action. The question is not about what to do, but the willingness to make a real difference by taking the economy by the scruff of its neck. If there is no action this year, it will be forced upon us next year. I guess that is an election strategy that is cleverer than I can fathom.

3. Bad man saying nuttin

There are simple ways to increase revenue and cut expenditure without driving up the costs of business or slowing consumption.

Purchase taxes on styrofam and plastic food containers and shopping bags. Charge 25c each payable by businesses when they buy in bulk and consumers who wish to have one will pay the retailer the identical sum.

Increase VAT on cell phone usage to 20% instead of the current 15%. No problems collecting as it would come straight from Lime.

Go on a revenue collecting drive. Mandate aggressive programs to collect arrears of VAT, Land Tax, NIS and Corporate Tax. No holds barred regardless of who it is.

Organize a 30 or 40 man task force of Policemen and Licensing authority officials to go after the estimated 20,000 vehicles on the road with out Road Tax and Insurance. Set up a special magistrate just to deal with these cases. Give them a 2 week amnesty either pay the Tax or after that when caught face heavy forthwith fines. Once a vehicle drivable and registered the Tax is payable you don’t have to catch them on the road.

Stop the illegal trade in Liquor. Millions of dollars in lost taxes because of imported liquor smuggled out of the duty free shops for sale and consumption locally. At the last consultation at Sherbourne it was estimated that the illegal Trade may be at a level of 30 to 40% of the legitimate trade.

May people pay for what they use. It is understandable that a Government wishes to provide social amenities for its people but service is more valued when it is not free.

Raise bus fare. this is essential. Every tourist who rides on a bus benefits from a government subsidy. It has not been raised for about 20 years and the price does not reflect the economic value of the service. Look at some routes and privatize them to a group not a set of disparate individuals. This would cut TB subsidies.

Charge persons a service fee tests done at QEH, outpatient clinics , dental and optical visits to Polyclinics. token amounts but every littl bit counts.

Make beneficiaries of drugs under the drug formulary pay for them up front at the pharmacies, receive a receipt and then submit to the Drug service for their refund. This would eliminate the need to police the pharmacies and stop people from collecting drugs which they do not use. It also stops the pharmacies from charging for repeats and drugs not dispensed. This may cut a 35M drug bill by 20%.

Privatize CBC but mandate that they keep a Public Service Channel. That cuts annual subsidies and may actually increase tax revenues. Politicians need to understand regardless of whether CBC is your propaganda tool or not when Bajans fed up you will get voted out.

Park those SUVs that the Statutory corporations, ministries and departments have. Make sure that on Friday evenings they stay locked til monday morning. Ensure that they stop being used for personal business during the week. This could cut Government’s gas bill tremendously. Stop providing vehicles and gas to people at statutory corporations. If a PS wants a car he has to use the Government’s car loan facility to buy it and make the repayments. Why then would you provide managers, financial controllers and CEO’s of statutory corporations who report to the same Ministry run by the PS with vehicles and gas?

I am sure that BU members can come up with more suggestions that could help and would cost very little to implement.

4. @
    BAJAN TRUTH // July 27, 2010 at 8:09 AM

“@ Crusoe

I definitely plan to vote for them this time around, made a mistake in 2008. If I am their PR plan then they in trouble. I have not been impressed with their PR last few years in gov’t or now in opposition. But it does not take away from their performance with the country.

Crusoe the repeated use of statements that no evidence has been brought to substantiate – hundreds of millions in cost overruns for CWC, ABC, Prison and Gems will not make it a fact. Now tell me how should I take you as the statements you made are not facts, I have to wonder if you are a spinning machine, preferably a washing machine. Stack it up against the excellent benefits we have derived over the past 14 years. Then put 2 years – 1.5b in wastage; further damaging our capacity to handle a crisis; raising the cost of living and business to every bajan rich and poor alike; the calamity and wailing that will be in the land as CLICO hits the economy and impoverishes its policyholders; now absentee management in our dire hour of need. In two years, the opposition must be feel that this group of Dees is a gift. Give me your intelligent choice, which situation is better for us ordinary bajans, forget the yardfowl point of view? Now if you cannot see a change is necessary, I can suggest some brand names to cover your brand of spin – Kenmore, General Electric, or any of your choice. There are things you can castigate them for- not getting housing built, despite providing sites and services; more needed to be done with hospital; hold somebody accountable for Warrens mess; investigate Gems; wasting our money at St. Joseph and Sherbourne. The most grievous not answering for our calls for explanations on these matters and others. I am a taxpayer and I expect to get explanations when asked for, not the bawling on the call-in programmes, but well delivered explanations.

By the way a further disturbing report, news just said that Jamaica is experiencing a bumper crop of tourists this month, unprecendented, I think they said 200,000. Where these tourists coming from, especially with this recession and our traditional markets not functioning? Mr. Sealy should come back from China quick, quick and confer with his Jamaican counterpart, and get some hey. We need it now more than ever (lol). Just teasing you Crusoe with the last line. But the story is true, and our tourism people need to get on the ball,tourism is like fishing, you might be fishing at the wrong spot. But if your calculations or bait is wrong and the other fellow getting fish, don’t be shame. Change the strategy and bring back some fish fuh we too”

BT, I’m not sure how I should read your comment, which is a response to Crusoe, who before you cound say “Jack Robinson”, seems to have found himself on a deserted island.

The problem is that we tend to talk a lot without amassing all the proper facts (although facts are perceptual, and, therefore selective). We have been living in a “bubble economy” for far too long not to realise that bubbles, while beautiful,eventually burst. You cant just blow another one, unless you are the RHOSA, whose mantra was: “I’m forever blowing bubbles …” Now imagine what would happen if you changed the “l” in “bubble’ to an “i”. As Horace would have said in a free translation of the particular Satire:
    “Change the name …this story isabout you”!

5. BAJAN TRUTH

@ George Reid

How would you describe the bubbles, smoke and mirrors of the DLP, provided to dupe Bajans ? Corruption, corruption. FACTS VS. CLAIMS. My simple motto. So I can afford to suspend judgment until I have facts. Some people already have their minds made up and do not wish to be bothered with facts. Some day there may be proof to charge someone in the previous administration with corruption. The DLP has not done so yet, and one would assume if they had the proof it would have been forthcoming even if no charges pressed.

Did they not need to do so, for their own integrity; to protect the country from such bandits. They have not. If they ever bring something it will fall short of the glorious bubbles that made the simple and the biased, drunk on the champagne of corruption allegations.

On making a decision about my vote will it be for a group whose guilt of corruption is not proven or for a group whose incompetence is evident. Which should I choose? (Pleasee Master Bubbler, note PDC is not an option).

6. BT, no problem with what you have said! But the proof of the pudding is in the eating, and I understand how you would be put out if you got bread when you were promised cake.

Those with fine palates who are accustomed to quaffing champagne will tell you that to be authentic it must come from a particular region in France. Without the bubbles it is either flat, or it is still wine, which probably runs deeper than water.

One further caution, holding your nose and voting doesn’t work for drinking champers, since you will drown before you get drunk. But all purveyors of spirituous beverages should close during voting hours, otherwise they commit a very serious offence under the election laws.

I gone!

7. @Bajan truth /GR, ”Crusoe the repeated use of statements that no evidence has been brought to substantiate – hundreds of millions in cost overruns for CWC, ABC, Prison and Gems will not make it a fact.”

Ah. But you make one simple error in basis of argument.

That is, the onus of proof of wastage /incompetence etc, is NOT on I, the taxpayer, voter, citizen who demands that monies be spent responsibly and with the best interests of Barbados in mind.

The onus of proof is on those charged with such usage of resources i.e. the ones whop spent such resources.

Thus, without ANY acounting to the public of the cost, nature of those costs, extent of those costs and efficiency or otherwise of those costs, I have a right to discern where incompetence lies, I have a right to claim incompetence, mismanagement, recklessness that there has been no such presentation of usage to us, the public.

Your ‘googly’ , is wasted, you cannot deflect the truth by trying to shift the burden of proof, of justification for expenditures.

The onus still lies where the issue was created, at the feet of the owners of the projects i.e. the former administration.

Compunding this, as a common citizen, I do not have access to such records but the owners of those projects i.e. the former adminstration, who had full knowledge and access of such information, not only have not presented full accounti9ng of such information as expenditures on projects, but they have done so in breach of their fidicuary duty as representatives of the people, as Members of Parliament.

THAT is the issue.

Poor management and poorer representation, by those previous administrators, demonstrated by a lack of responsibility, a lack of respect for duty and a lack of respect for us, the taxpaying voters, citizens of these ‘fields and hills’.

Oh, how I shudder that they seem to not see the shame.

Yet, our current administration must now pick up the pieces but short of chasing shadows etc. etc., it will not be easy for them to prove other than mismanagement and recklessness.

What is for sure, is that the previous administration must have a long wait in purgatory, before it can expect to revisit the halls of leadership, except as opposition, especially with its candidate slate stagnating with the same old clueless lot.

8. @ Crusoe

You make a very good point.
    As you know in some jurisdictions, rather than seek to prove the impossible, the laws simply require proper filing of records and payment of taxes. Many a criminal, guilty of racketeering and masterminding crime have been convicted and jailed for such charges as tax evasion and failure to file required records.

Now If the bushman understands it correctly, the laws of Barbados already REQUIRES all these government departments, Statuary Corporations, and private companies to file annual audited accounts by set deadlines.
    Very few of them do, and many have ongoing issues that are raised by the Auditors.

What are the penalties for such failures?
    Where is the report on offenders?
    What happens to the chairmen /Boards/ staff of these defectors?
    Who is responsible to the people of Barbados for this failure?
    Whose responsibility is it to prosecute those guilty of infringement?

Now how hard could it be to fix this…?
    Is this place a banana republic (….guess we would be BUSH republic – cause we hardly have any crops) ? …. if we cannot get this to work, how the hell would we possibly implement FOI?

9. @Bush Tea, agreed, well said.

Then, to ‘guess we would be BUSH republic ‘, well as long as crop over is on, we are literally a ‘bush’ republic, showing all around!

Lol

10. @Bush Tea

Guess with FOI we need to start with the relevant laws on the books.

Another hazard will be the need to stop files walking away from government offices. There must be a supporting project to digitize all* records.

11. @ David
    Man what digitize what records what??!

…you mean that SOMEONE is not DIRECTLY responsible for such files?
    have you ever heard of anyone being disciplined for ‘lost files’

…we just mekking sport.

Pick any case of ‘missing files’ and let us dig a little bit and you will see what I mean

…..Hardwood??!!

“Missing files” is just a lame excuse that we buy like idiots…

12. BAJAN TRUTH

@ Crusoe

Just for your information. Charges of overspending were made during last 5 year tenure. Parliament I believe is the place where the account is given. If not adequately given, as that ‘rotten BLP lot are wont to do’, according to you. The Opposition leader Mr. Thompson had a PUBLIC DUTY to call the public accounts comittee together and bring every man jack before it to answer and investigate the issues and publicise to the public. HE DID NOT DO THAT. It couldhe assumed that he may prefer P.R. of slander and proganda, instead of turning it into meaningful stickable charges. Now I cannot imagine with so much info, why he did not do that. Can you?

The charges of corruption came during the 2007 campaign. For a general election to be called you demit office, so the only time you can account to the people is in the campaign. I have not heard that they did so. So the new government can bring them to account. have they? I might have missed that too.

The auditor -general my God is the greatest offende rthen, becuase these should hav ebeen brough tup by now detailing the issues – corruption, mispending etc. HAS HE? I might have missed it, did you?

Now with no evidence or charges to back the claims of corruption you can feel very free to decide that they are corrupt because they did not come to you and explain themselves. My conscience only allows me to charge them with arrogance. I am not sure how you characterise the behaviour of the DLP. If we take your position that the Bees are corrupt then DLp are complicit and accessories to the crime. But they might be too busy according to other blogs as you aptly put it ‘picking up the pieces’ with Transport Board and now Dennis with Allard, and Lashley with gains from housing. I have no information on these things so I cannot charge ANY OF THEM WITH ANYTHING. I do not have facts only claims. No doubt you can charge them with corruption, based on your model.

13. Dr. Brian Francis, Phd, Lecturer in Economics at the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill, is very surprisingly getting it a little RIGHT in a few regards in his column in this week’s edition of the Barbados Business Authority, even if a few of the premises of his conclusion remain very WRONG still.

In his piece headlined: Why big government, Dr. Francis starts by saying that “the failure of classical economics in the early part of the 20th century and the aftermath of the Great Depression led to widespread discussion on the role of markets and governments in promoting economic growth and prosperity.

On the one hand, a school of thought spearheaded by John Maynard Keynes argued that government had a central role to play in the efficient running of the economy, given the apparent failure of the market mechanism.

On the other hand, Milton Friedman and others argued that economic instability and private sector inefficiences were the result of government intervention. Consequently, these economists suggested that the role of government should be to ensure the smooth functioning of the private market as opposed to replacing it.”

In those regards, he is correct.

He goes on to say that “throughout the 20th Century, countries around the world have experimented with various interpretations of what Keynes and Friedman advocated, with varying degrees of success. Yet after many decades of trial and error, the role and the size of government remains a moot issue.”

The truth is is that that is NOT entirely accurate of him!!

For even though this was the case with the so-called Western industrialized powers and many countries within the then non-aligned movement during the last century, the truth, too, is that that was not the case with the Soviet Union, China, and many other countries which practiced so-called command centralized style economies.

The countries that he is really referring to were those that individualistically really carried, and still carry, phenomena defined as MIXED economies which themselves emphasized/still emphasize extant dichotomies – and which were perhaps characterized by forces that had sought to/ that still seek to balance as much as possible the following described segments/sectors which made up each dichotomy, one dichotomy against the other – such as the governmental sector and private sector/ trade union political economic organization of all the means of production and distribution – government sector “ownership”/control of property and private sector ownership/control of property – the social and private spheres – public goods and so-called economic goods – social/welfare and profit motives etc.

And NOT those of the command centralized type, wherefore – according to the DICTATES AND DOCTRINES of the ideological political systems they were practicing – SOCIALISM/COMMUNISM and variants of such – the role and size of the government had to be necessarily BIG and TOTALITARIAN and OVERWHELMING, and in which there was sole emphasis placed on the governmental/semi-trade union political economic organization of all the means of production and distribution – the government’s “ownership” of property – the social sphere – production and distribution of public goods – social/welfare motives, etc. – to the exclusion (model-wise) of the opposites found in those mixed economies.

Furthermore, he is NOT correct that the recent global economic and financial crisis has once again (sic) brought this critical question ( the role and size of the government) to the fore, FOR THIS QUESTION HAS LONG BEEN AT THE FORE, AND HAS NEVER STOPPED BEING AT THE FORE ever since the debate started on such eons ago during the years of the Enlightenment/Age of Reason.

Truth be told, ever since the rise in the Monetarist School, Reaganomics, Thatcherism, the neo-liberal and liberalism and conservative ideologies of the IMF, the World Bank, the IADB, the WTO, the collapse of the Soviet Union/Soviet Socialism/Eastern Bloc Socialism/and the consequent rise of oligarchies with so-called free-market economies in those same regions, the rise of the Chinese political economic juggernaut, the 2008 economic and financial crises in many countries of this world – the Obama Administration’s use of Keynesian policies and the parallel rise of the TEA PARTY MOVEMENT at this juncture in the US, altogether happening within this present period – the 1970s up to now in the 2000s ( those aforementioned instances cited not in chronological order though), the question of the role and size of the government and achieving the correct balance between government/private sectors, has always been implicitly or explicitly or contradictorily AT THE FORE, in many different academic or professional or governmental or social corridors across many places.

Therefore, such a question has NOT stopped being at the CENTRE of innumerable ideological policy methodological debates across many countries of this world, esp. since it is well embedded in the discussions that have ever centered around the maximization of the use national resources, and the efficiency of allocation of them, governments’ budgetary goals and objectives, the size and structure of governments’ fiscal deficits and government debts of many of these same countries, etc.

However, while we CANNOT wholeheartedly agree with Dr. Francis position, that historical evidence suggests that big government has NEVER succeeded in promoting economic stability in the industrialized world, WE DO KNOW that the conclusion to his latest piece IS CORRECT, that bigger government is NOT the answer to the region’s so-called economic woes.

Neither is it the damn answer to Barbados’s economic woes!!

For, big unwieldy very unproductive very unrational government in Barbados, and the many fundamental deep seated problems that has been and continue to be brought to the governmental and national affairs of this country, since the BLP under Owen Arthur regained government in September 1994 with that foolishness that Jobs No 1 is (Government) Jobs, and since the DLP under David Thompson regained government in January 2008, and has made it clear that there will be NO LAY PUBLIC SECTOR OFFS in the government sector just as Arthur had said in 2001, have been altogether substantially catastrophically destructive to material productive developmental potential of this country

And, so, too, as a consequence along the way – have the GREATER AND GREATER EVIL TAXATION that have – since 1994 -been wickedly imposed by both Governments on the backs of the very productive broad masses and middle classes of people of this country; have the MORE AND MORE BURDENSOME DEMONIC INTERESTS RATES COSTS that have been and continue to be accrued by ordinary borrowers; the MORE AND MORE UNNECESSARY, STUPID DLP/BLP government borrowings and debt; and so too have the greater and greater UNSUSTAINABLE, UNWISE DLP/BLP Government expenditures been destructive to this potential; the governmental squandermania and corruption; the DESPICABLE TOXIC LEVELS OF WASTAGE and INEFFICIENCE within the governmental sector, among other horrifying untenables.

Well, pity this little scribe did NOT raise this substantial issue in his column during the years of Arthur’s gross MISRULE and MISMANAGEMENT!!

Might have been in a deep slumber in this regard?? Ehhh!!

Down with the Damned DLP and the Blasted BLP!!!

PDC

14. @Bajan Truth,

The record will show that the work of the Public Accounts Committee was frustrated by the lawyers on the BLP side. To be clear, the BLP members of the PAC did not allow public officers to be brought before the committee. The committee finally stopped trying to call public officers to appear until they could establish the appropriate guidelines. I blame the BLP for the lack of action on the part of the PAC, but I blame the DLP for the lack of action since they assumed office.

The Auditor-General has indeed brought to light numerous instances of misspending and indeed corruption, though perhaps not on the scale that we were led to believe might exist. In several specific cases the Auditor-General has recommended that further action be taken but he does not have the power himself to do it.

Now the evidence of the REAL corruption is no doubt in the hands of various public officers, lawyers, bankers, accountants and others. Many of these I am sure profess a belief in and love for God and go to church every Sunday, but do not appear to have any problem with turning a blind eye to corruption. We need them to start blowing the whistle on the offenders so that a message is sent that corruption will no longer be tolerated. The government has had more than enough time and has not acted, so if the blogs can fill the void then so be it and let the chips fall where there may.

15. @Bush Tea

If we are looking to create efficiency in government and cut wastage digitizing public records is the way to go.

16. @ David
    So when your son does not learn to ride his bicycle properly you will solve the problem by getting him a motorcycle?

There are two different issues David,

…Sure we should digitize and modernize …. but if you think that this will solve the problem of ‘idiocy’ then Bush Tea real sorry for you. …do you know how many new reasons can be found to explain the loss of digital files? .or for their inadmissibility in court?
    Do you know how many laws would need to be changed to deal with ‘prescribed’ forms ?

All Bush Tea is calling for is that we jail or at least dismiss those responsible for their safekeeping, when these files go missing.

That too hard?

17. BAJAN TRUTH

@ BRUTUS

I remember Arthur claiming that it was reconstituted and organised to allow the Chairman to call the meeting without the attendance of its BLP members. My information is that this is true based on it composition of a large number of independent senators. I am sure that Thompson never raised the issue in parliament when he was publicly accused of not using the committee. The auditor general raised no issues of corruption. if my memory serves me right it was said in Parliament it was procedural issues . Perhaps Brutus you could indicate which report. I do not remember any member of this gov’t or the other side outlining corruption from the auditor general.

Please civil servants talk and documents fall off the back of trucks, so the civil servants who belong to the Dees would get that info and evidence out the party, so where is it? So the issues of documents removed does not hold water, for civil servants who are shocked or bias would ensure they have a copy, and leak it, and not after the election either. if the level of corruption wa sso awful, so rampant, so off the chart. Look at the alledged leaks coming out about the Dees. Leaks do not wait until after an election. Wheel and come again.

18. @Bajan Truth,

The 2009 report of the Auditor-General is here:

Click to access Auditor%20General%20Report%202009.pdf

The Auditor-General reported that 41 vehicles left the Port without payment of relevant duties – this from a sample of 67 vehicles selected from the period 2007-2009. But you are right, the word corruption is not used here.

Another example – the Auditor-General says that cabinet selected several firms as joint venture partners to build houses during the period 2003 to 2008. (Note – CABINET selected the firms). The report says that “The Audit Office was however unable to obtain the specific criteria used in the selection of these firms. The due diligence on their capacities was not conducted, and it was later discovered that some developers lacked the financial capabilities to proceed with the project as mandated by the Cabinet.”

“One developer signed an agreement in 2003 with the Corporation to
    provide 40 low-income properties at Lower Burney, St. Michael. No clear
    basis existed for this selection, as there was no evidence the developer
    had a track record in house construction.”

With reference to the allocation of house lots by the NHC, the report says:

“Overall, there did not seem to be any consistent manner in the allocation
    of lots since the rationale for their distribution could not be determined.
    The length of time an application was made did not appear to significantly
    impact on one’s chances of obtaining a housing solution. On some
    occasions it was on the recommendations of parliamentary
    representatives of the areas, while on other occasions it was based on
    allocations of the marketing department or the Board.”

But you are right, Bajan Truth, I searched the entire report and the word “corruption” does not appear even once. I would check the reports of prior years but I suspect it will be the same.

19. @Bajan Truth ‘No doubt you can charge them with corruption, based on your model.’

Your slip is showing. I never once used the word ‘corruption’ in my post above.

I used the words ‘right to claim incompetence, mismanagement, recklessness’, but in your eagerness to find some way of getting at my post, you fabricated a word that I never used.

I actually did say ‘but short of chasing shadows etc. etc., it will not be easy for them to prove other than mismanagement and recklessness.’

Thus, clarifying that chasing anything other than the clear and evident waste and incompetence, there is nothing else accessible.

Reality is, that the waste and incompetence is clear and there is no getting away from the reality, that the sole responsibility for such and any reports, explanations lies with that former administration.

Anything less is an insult to the electorate who entrusted the operations of the country to them.

Then again, maybe I am just setting the standards too high and expect too much, as you seem to infer.

Although I suspect not, as your attempt to appear independent and altruistic has imploded.

Responsibility, is the hallmarks of leaders. If one cannot stand by ones actions and results, then one does not deserve to represent the people, in Parliament.

But, I done talk, I already know your next post will yet again try to deflect responsibility to any other body, than the previous administration, where such in reality lies squarely at their feet.

20. What I find amazing is that the current government is overseeing $1500m of increased debt over just two years, with nothing to show for it, except for jobs for the boys, but their only response to this is that there were cost overruns on the Prison where something was built for $288m and the ABC highway which added $165m of debt. Do the math as the Americans say. Imagine the avoidable, corrupted, cost over-runs were 50%, that would mean that the excuse for $1500m of increased public debt is that we spent $220m more than we should have done……..Did someone skip math at common entrance?

I am not justifying the Prison, ABC highway or anything else. My point is the scale of that, whatever that was, is modest compared to a cost over-run in the jobs for the boys department. Repeating the election mantra of 2008 does not make it less so.

It seems to me we should concentrate on doing two things: (1) taking people to court for fraud and corruption where it existed and (2) pushing ourselves back to a fiscally sustainable position.

But the Government has a third option. Repeat, over and over again, about waste from the previous lot while we head for a crash.

If anybody had told me two years ago that Barbados, a country that has never defaulted on its debt in history, a country that has stuck to the Golden Rule of government financing of limiting current expenditure to current revenue, over every six month period for the past 40 years, who elected a Government which rightly promised fiscal probity and integrity legislation, would now have consistently flouted the Golden Rule and faces a second downgrade of our international credit standing/rating, despite a 15% upward revision to our GDP, I would say they were smoking something…….. With all respect to my Jamaican friends, we are running headlong to Jamaica as we stand, with our backs to the future, squabbling about who did what five years ago.

21. Year ago , they was a theory circulating in the heads of some men form a particular part of this Island that every 60years or so Barbados would Have A Riot

They theory was Base on the years of Occurrence in the Pass

1816 1876 1937

the next one was Theoretically due in the 1990s

some had argued That the 1991 union Demonstrations and the degree of very civil

disquiet could be interpret as that manifestation.

I am now to wonder if that conclusion was wrong

Next Year will mark 20 years on and 74 years on for the last riot

a variances of 14 pus years

I am wondering if thing were to get 1991 and more if we as a people would

considered a national unity government or fresh Election as an option

I am worried about the average $30 million dollars a month Loan cost to pay government bills
    ( that is the $182 million for the first 6 months of 2010 divide by 6)

I am worried about all this talk about junk status if the rating agent down grade us and what will it really do to us as a nation

I am worrying about the most dread event most fear back in 91

devaluation of our dollar

I dont like this wait and see because form what I have waited and seen ,

it has not produce much improvement in Unemployment or deficit reduction

I know where all the new ideas can come form

and where the data can be found to help turn things around

I am holding it though to see just if this government can figure it out

It not hard to find as we all know where it is

I will give this posting a couple of days

Although I support the other side ( BLP)

ITS BECOMING MORE AND MORE CLEAR TO ME THAT WE AS A NATION WILL

GO DOWN TOGETHER IF SOLUTIONS ARE NOT PRESENTED SOON

THIS MY LAND TOO

22. @ Crusoe

But, I done talk, I already know your next post will yet again try to deflect responsibility to any other body, than the previous administration, where such in reality lies squarely at their feet.
    =================================

Perfectly correct you did not mention the word corruption. Accept my apologies. If you can find in my postings where I put the blame on others instead of where it should be , let me know. My beef is with people in general drawing conclusions before facts; oft repeated claims and basing an opinion on it which they peddle to others and then get vex when you do not follow it. When you point out the flaws in the argument, they need to label your politics. I make no secret of my intention to vote BLp next time. That however does not automatically translate into, blind, partisan, or yardfowl. I presume that people vote, and as the choice is B/D, I assume you and everyone else put an X somewhere. I merely put forward why I cannot draw the same conclusions you do because I look at as many facts as I can get; and in the absence of those facts, I cannot make the leap to a pre-chosen conclusion.

Look at your argument – case in point: My wife dies, I live in the house with her, the police are investigating, I am suspected. They do not bring the weapon, link me with the weapon, but they charge me with murder and then tell me I must prove I am innocent. Injustice and ignorance. How do you prove you did not steal money, bring somebody to say I did not see any BLP persons stealing money. How would you prove it. Would BLP bring any explanation or information that would implicate them, or are you prepared to accept their word. I am not. The burden of proof is on the accuser, and if you did not pull it out of thin air, then there is evidence that led you to make the charge. BRING THE BLASTED EVIDENCE. The only thing you can charge the BLP is neglect of their responsibility,to give AN ACCOUNT OF STEWARDSHIP. do I want them to account, they bloody well must, especially if they want to get votes.

In some issues BLP explained and it was ignored by some people. In some cases they did not. The HH PR campaign claims sticking in people’s minds so it did not matter what they said. Case in point prison, based solely on quote of costs as US or BDS. Explained it was an error in currency. One head of dep’t that toured the prison said to us, it is the most modern state of the art facility; I went on net to check the cost of such – only two prisons on the net reported at that time, one a facility just 2000 sq ft more than Dodds at a cost of 150m US. I asked the PS was the prison a cost overrun. Emphatic NO, ‘we got what we asked for and it came in on budget.’ SATISFIED ME . On what basis then are others claiming cost overrun – imagination, fear, mischief. They persist to this day. You really think I will base a voting choice on the lies and exaggerations that I have come to discover on things said by people and certain people at that. That may suit you and others. I am not nose-led. I think for myself and I try to always use facts.

I still read jackasses trying to characterise the last 14 years as a mess and a waste, and nothing done to diversify the economy. Are there questions to be asked, yes. Are there projects that require investigation, yes. Are there errors that need correcting, yes. On a balance of positives and negatives, the positives far outweigh the negatives. I do not have time for those jokers who politically masturbate themselves without regard for facts. You will not convince the majority of bajans like myself, that the last 14 years were bad. We enjoyed a more secure and prosperous life. We know the difference between competent and incompetent gov’t. We do not like arrogance and you do not want it entrenched, and bought into time for a change. Those who bought into corruption charges, backing back now. NO EVIDENCE NO LOCK UP. What amazes me is that people who wish to project themselves as objective, intelligent are not at all upset with being lied to and manipulated. I am waiting to hear their views on the latest – Pickering, and late rif marilyn come up with facts – about Lashley and housing.

@ Conrad

Please do not make the mistake that some bloggers here are interested in examining this critically. They cling to myths and mirages. HH despises bajan intelligence so, that last week I saw three or four Ministers on television one night in large shirtjac shirts to trigger Barrow associations. I almost kmwl (kill myself with laugh) when I first saw Thompson in his Barrow imitation – large white shirt jac with the glasses and protuding tummy,last year. While imitation is the sincerest form of flattery; to imitate the trivial without the substance is insulting to Bajans. Barrow would say to this lot , depart from me I never knew you.

23. @Bajan Truth,

Fair enough, your latest argument is balanced and lest we forget, a country always needs detractors, thus to balance the decisions and create discussion. Well done.

@All…Re Austerity,

Here is one example of the need for austerity and ensuring our own viability in agriculture, from the Financial Times, incidentally indicating an inflationary effect, even if only temporary…word to the wise.

FROM THE FT -Rise in wheat prices fastest since 1973
    By Javier Blas in London and Isabel Gorst in Moscow

Published: August 2 2010 19:19 | Last updated: August 2 2010 19:19

Wheat prices have seen the biggest one-month jump in more than three decades on the back of a severe drought in Russia, prompting warnings by the food industry of rising prices for flour-related products such as bread and biscuits.

Food executives are also warning about surging prices for feeding and malting barley, which could push higher the retail cost of products from poultry to beer.

EDITOR’S CHOICE
    Weather woes spark fears for wheat – Aug-02.Lex: Wheat – Aug-02.View of the Day: Tin likely to hit new high – Aug-02.Chocolatier sees cocoa prices staying high – Jul-29.India storage woes add to strain on wheat – Jul-28.Tin surges nearly 9.5% – Jul-23..European wheat prices jumped 8 per cent on Monday to €211 a tonne, the highest in two years. Wheat prices have risen nearly 50 per cent since late June. Crop failures and a price rally have revived memories of the 2007-08 global food crisis, which saw the cost of agricultural commodities from corn to rice surge to record highs and food riots in countries from Haiti to Bangladesh.

24. @Bajan Truth ”In some issues BLP explained and it was ignored by some people. In some cases they did not. The HH PR campaign claims sticking in people’s minds ……On what basis then are others claiming cost overrun – imagination, fear, mischief. They persist to this day”.

The very reason that suspicions persist to this day are fairly simple, FOI and Transparency or lack thereof.

That is what the citizens hav been telling both parties for the past fours years, to no avail.

Without information and communication, fear and suspicion, whether justified or not so, will flourish, a basic concept.

For myself, as a citizen, I demand the presentaiton and publicaiton of significant decisions and significant spending.

Generally the Government does not have to publish every little thing it does, but all detailed informaiton for major projects should be available at GIS for the perusal of all Barbadians.

I do not accept that such would be too much to ask. The informaiton is there somewhere, should be disclosed.

This is the crux of the issue and any party that gets this wrong will suffer, as undoubtedly the previous administration is still suffering and will continue to do so, from this.

Remember, Richie Haynes said that perception is sometimes greater than reality (I stand corrected, but believe that it was that gentleman, apologies to him if not).

There are many issues to address, but one must be careful to understand the issues, for some criticisms are very valid.

Do not shoot the messenger.

25. Can we learn from the new British government when it comes to deficit reduction?

Follow the link.