BP Oil Spill Surpasses Exxon Valdez

Submitted by Austin

Click on image to view live underwater feed

Someone better check out the safety of oil industries, production and transport in the Caribbean region: before it’s too late.

Today many news outlets are covering the success of the US space program with focus on the shuttle. Ironically I find it absolutely amazing that we can fly too and from outer space, yet we can’t plug a hole in de ground (noting the oil spill off the US coast).

Just for one minute imagine how we in the Caribbean region would be impacted if a similar thing occurred off our shores.  Our tourism and fishing industries would be crippled if not destroyed, not to mention the money we don’t have for clean up efforts.
As a region we better check out any coast line oil production and transport, noting how close in proximity many Caribbean nations are relatively speaking.

With all BP’s record profits in recent years clearly not enough was put into ensuring safe and environmentally friendly innovation and research. BP has become to the environment what firms like Goldman Sachs was to the financial crisis,  “Too big to fail” has been extended to “Too rich to be held accountable”.

147 responses to “BP Oil Spill Surpasses Exxon Valdez

1. I trust BP would do the right thing for all concerned. But this is a massive undertaking which does not only include the USA but some of the carribbean islands as well. Now unless The federal govrnment would shoulder some of these problems for BP, .i see no way Bp can do it alone. Maybe great Britian would partner along with the USA in some of the responsibility,

2. @ GP

I think that you are wrong.

Most persons appreciate your perspective of eschatology. But you need to realize that for most, it is very difficult to contextualize the concepts of Revelations.

How do you say to persons whose lives revolve 100% around the very things that are now at risk of being lost or destroyed, that such levels of destruction and chaos is now imminent?

This is why Bush Tea was more focused on explaining the overall BBE concept, plan and design.

The truth is that in the current world situation and the dismal outlook, even the most pragmatic among us (like our friend Not Saved) must now be contemplating the fragility of their positions and wondering if the BBE plan should not have engaged their attention all along….

In short GP, why not just talk your talk, while understanding that it may be disturbing to those who, having built their lives 100% on earthly things, cannot now afford to contemplate your pronouncements……

…of course there are also persons like the bushman -who can be a bit of a pest by asking questions to which there are no easy answers….

You should be man enough to deal wisely with all these types GP

3. @whoever

To my thinking Revelation is a that of the persons dreams over an extended period of years. these writings reminds me of dream like thoughts and rewritten without an explanation expect to those among us who think of them as the begining of the end times..

4. @ ac
    “Maybe great Britian would partner along with the USA in some of the responsibility…”
    *************************************************************************************************
    You laughing at us right ac??!!

Hello ???!!! You are aware that the USA is broke are you not???!!! Do you know how much money they ALREADY owe to other countries?
    Do you know what it cost to do Iraq and Afghanistan?

ac, right now the USA can’t buy a coke unless China lends them the money……

Why you think Obama rush and said to BP “this is your mess – you clean it up…?”

Britain is also broke. …. the inevitable result of years of warring and socialism where persons who produced nothing were encouraged to live in luxury at the expense of the state (the few who actually produced and the resources that they stole from the new world over the centuries)…. now the chickens have come home to roost…

In Summary – If the USA and England have to clean us the Gulf it will be oily for decades….

5. @ ac
    To my thinking Revelation is a that of the persons dreams over an extended period of years…..
    ************************************************************************************************
    Unfortunately your ‘thinking’ is not particularly relevant to the reality of Revelations sweetheart… so why not focus on thinking of the bushman….

6. @Bush Tea

Tell a man you broke and he will leave you alone. American has just forked up$400million dollars in foreign aid for Palestian. America is broke good line for those who wish to believe it.
    Don’t worry Britian would find the money even if the have to sell off some of their buillion . They are not going to compromise the friendship with the USA. Have you ever heard of Fort Knox or watch a documentary!, Broke what!

7. @BT,

“Bush Tea is really disappointed that it is taking my partners MME and ‘Not Saved’ so long to come out like real men, and admit that the bushman was right from the very beginning.”

I do hate to keep you waiting. LOL

What exactly would like me to admit?

8. Micro Mock Engineer

LOL… but look how BT and GP gone an open the seventh seal jus so… wha happen… couldn’t wait for the first six?

Calm down BT… it is very likely that the relief well will be off target on the first few attempts, and that “BP will come back and announce a delay in the relief well due to a miscalculation or other error – causing them to be off target”… in fact it would be an extremely remarkable feat of engineering if they hit target on the first attempt… but it is clever of you to introduce this as something you could later use as ‘special insight’ into a conspiracy LOL

On a secondary note, I wonder how many people remember that an oil spill 8 times the size of Exxon Valdez (and a little more than what has been spilled in the Gulf so far) occurred just a few miles off the coast of Barbados in July 1979. If only we had the internet and CNN back then… BT and GP would have sounded the seventh trumpet by now. 🙂

9. MME,

You beat me to it about the oil spill right next door !

10. Georgie Porgie

Micro Mock Engineer // June 16, 2010 at 12:49 AM

LOL… but look how BT and GP gone an open the seventh seal jus so… wha happen… couldn’t wait for the first six?

=========================================
    MME I rejoice that you are at least acquainted with the seals. This is much more than the average BS spewer on BU knows. I am sure, however, that you are only here waxing poetically and that you know that we are not at all sugesting that any of the seals have yet been opened. But there are some interesting similarities.

Be good my dear man

11. Georgie Porgie

Bush Tea // June 15, 2010 at 10:54 PM

I think that by now you know that “ I talk my talk while understanding that it may be disturbing to those who, having built their lives 100% on earthly things, cannot now afford to contemplate my pronouncements……”

I think you know too that I was just engaging in some sarcasm

Whereas, I know that no seals are yet broken, and whereas I know that the good Lord does not need any practice runs, the current inability to clean up the oil spill by the Americans, and the recent crippling of commerce via air for almost a week coupled to the banking collapse in 2008 are very interesting parallels in my view.

They all reveal that man is not quite in control as he thinks he is. It also tells me that the good Lord can use “natural” occurrences as some folk call them to do his bidding.

I must confess that I am enjoying watching the maguffies of this world squirm in thier high seats of “power”. especially dbama What a twit!

12. @Bush Tea

Warning Revelation 22 vs !8 and that includes all who addd to revelation. Take heed for the punishment would be severe. Interpretation included for mankind is self serving and only finds gratification when their egos are in control.

13. Slim Pickens the US oil tycoon is reported to have said he believes BP will stop the leak by mid September. He went on to say Obama should be working with BP to solve the problem and when the cap is successful then try to look at the other issues.

14. Watching BP’s CEO being questioned by the Commerce Senate SUB*-Committee is classic capitalist DRAMA*…

It brings me back to OLLIE* NORTH in the IRAN-CONTRA Affair where I believe the most powerful statement in the world was coined – “I HAVE NO RECOLLECTION OF”…

Tony Hayward is clearly doing an OLLIE NORTH* – and you have to smile at these jokers as they gesticulate with frustration given that they want to make you and I think they are so powerful but in the face of “NAKED, UNBRIDLED CAPITALIST EVIL” – they are powerless to even get a straight answer!!!

In the end, MONEY* talks…

Say what you want!!!

15. It goes to show how annoyed the Americans get when you do not toe the line with them. I commend Mr Hayward for keeping his cool and his mouth shut. As Mr Hayward pointed out he is involved in a host of other investigations,and to come and spill his guts before the US Senate and the whole word, is just not British.
    What amused me is when one Senator implied that BP had come into their land and more or less ran roughshod over the American people, or words to that effect. I supposed that Geronimo and Sitting Bull would have echoed those same words200 years ago.

16. So Mr. Hayward goes sailing with his son and america heaps fire and brimstone on his head. Obama on the same day plays golf with his buddies and very few littleisaid about it. Mr Hayward is not the owner of BP and he deserves to have aleast one day off after 61 days of constant bombardment by the press. Wasn’t he supposed to have given up The Ceo position away.

17. Georgie Porgie

Hurray ac! You have done it!
    You have actually made some sense in your post above

You have done above that by the rok-et scientist!

If Obama can attend pop concets and play golf why cant the Bp man sail for a day?

18. Georgie Porgie

Either 1 tyhe South African bowling up and down
    2 the wicket at Warner Park is a “road” for trute as Gatle said
    3 or the fellas applied them selves for a change
    Hurray to Nash and Chanders!

19. BP playing dirty tricks . Tell the CEo to take the day of . Then call the media to rat on him. .

20. @GP

owh ole ur yu? 2 or 102

21. Georgie Porgie

I notice that the FUGITIVE is bck on tv.
    That fascinated us as youths when tv first came to Bim in the early 60’s

22. @GP

Since i am no mathematician. I”ll say 102.

23. Micro Mock Engineer

David… if you liked that video, you’ll love this one…

http://www.thedailyshow.com/watch/wed-june-16-2010/an-energy-independent-future

LOL

24. Question to the experts here on this ‘Super Mega Disaster’ in the Gulf.

Does anyone know that there IS a ‘Black out’ on the established media, i.e., CNN, FOX, etc on really telling the truth on this Super Mega Crisis?

The depth that BP drilled on this well, is more like between 25-30 thousand feet! Never before has anyone EVER attempted drilling at this depth, apart from Russia, who did it on land, not in the sea.

And, BTW, the pressure is more like 20-70,000 psi here in the Gulf, that IS WHY they CANNOT let the truth out, hence a black out on the media.

The bottom line on this FIASCO, is, that they do NOT have any known way of stoping this MEGA MESS, other then, a nuclear device, which carries tremendous, untold other consequences, beyond our imigination.

Where did I get this info from? Sources that know the truth! Which is not, and at this point in time, cannot be told to the public!

25. Straight talk

At last Zoe has happened upon a pertinent point that is unreported in the MSM.

The “spill” is not the fault of the failed BOP which all the world is concentrated upon, but a defective well casing, maybe miles below that.

This “well” kept secret of defective piping will eventually have to be addressed if the rupture miles below the sea floor is to be repaired.

But unfortunately that would take an admission by the MMS they allowed a potentially fatal decision to be made.

26. @MME

Got that link in the mailbox a few days back and was thinking about using it in an upcoming piece…lol.